We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant for the food and the experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #14 of 200 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for the food and the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I ate here one night and really enjoyed it. I had the vegetarian dipping and the tofu laap. The staff were very informative and showed how to make rice balls to dip in the sauces. I also had the spicy fruit plate which was by far the best selection of fruits I've had so far. The bill including tea and wine was about $15. Very good value and recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,513
    696
    244
    90
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic_ a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

You have to have a reservation. It is that good. We had to wait 2 days to get in, and that was only for lunch. It is on the small river side. It is worth the effort. The pumpkin soup as well as the baby bamboo shoot soup was the best we had in Laos. The service was great. We had 7 different dishes and every one were 5 star. Please take the time to check it out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,086 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,456 helpful votes
“Amazing food, nice manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tip: cheap sticky rice baskets in the Tamarind's shop.
Pros: delicious food, very fresh, great service, nice decor.
During our 3 days stay we've been 4 times in Tamarind. We also tried the Rosella Fusion restaurant but the quality was very poor (very average food).
Some of my fav dishes in Tamarind: 5 bites sampler with sticky rice, dessert samples (to share), buffalo BBQ and meat skewers. I also enjoyed the dipping tasting menu as appetizer and the fish in banana leaves.
The iced teas are delicious and very refreshing.
The manager, Rudy, is very nice and helpful.
I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for an introduction to Lao cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, but a bit pricey..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food here is just amazing and truly worth the visit. Not only will you get a taste of true Laos tastes, but reading the information on the menu is a great way to learn about the cuisine in Laos and it also has a bit of tourist information as well. Get here early or make a reservation, if you show up with one around 6:30 or 7 you may just be out of luck as that's when most tables are already reserved. The food is not expensive by all western standards, but considering you can score a full meal in the Luang Prabang night market for 10,000 kip..this place is comparably more expensive - but it's worth it! Give it a try!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RevealingWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT - a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The manager, Rudy, is the sweetest guy ever. He took care of us! Make a reservation in advance. Expect to spend about 30 or 40 USD. Get the "Set Dinner" .. Worth trying and experiencing Laotian food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your Tamarind experience, Rachel. Our Set Dinner IS a bit of a splurge, at $15 a head for four courses sampling twelve different dishes and a beer or wine. But ordering directly from the menu usually means a more modest average of less than $10 a head, including drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing