We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice for the Lao kitchen”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #12 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
“Top choice for the Lao kitchen”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice riverview restaurant with great food and a friendly staff. Have been there twice and had a good experience there altogether. If you want to try Lao food, this is the place to go. Not expensive, while the food, service and ambiance are really nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,588
    731
    258
    95
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A group of us had dinner here one and we could not fault the place. The food was delicious traditional Lao food, the beer great and the atmosphere great. The staff and service were also great. I'd definitely eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woorim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a diferent level of dining experience compared to most of the places we went. This place would not be out of place in any western city, while still having the Laos taste approach and price. The taster plate was a great way to try a range of foods. Staff were so helpful, they explained how the food was made and even how to use spoons and forks correctly in Laos - and the art of eating with your fingers. The whole experience was so good and still Laos. Be careful, we went back a few days after the first time as a treat and it was closed on a Sunday night. There is another Tamarind in Luang Prabang on the Mekong, it was okay, but it's not this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We're always so delighted to hear that people have enjoyed what we have to offer, so thanks for your lovely review. We're a family run restaurant, so we do close on Sundays for a well needed break! It's a shame we missed your return. Tamarind Tree on the Mekong river has only fairly recently opened. It's no relation to us at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A fine introduction to Lao foods”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A recent recommendation in Canada's national newspaper, plus a high ranking from Trip Advisor, brought us here for lunch. It was our introduction to Lao cooking, and an opportunity to sample foods which were new to us, such as tamarind, dried water buffalo, water weed with sesame seeds, sugar apple etc.. Explanations were patiently provided, in a most pleasant setting. A great start to our time in Laos!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We're really gratified each time we're told that we've given someone a terrific introduction to Lao food, as that's our main goal. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant near the river”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had dinner here last month and it was very good. It uses only local products so everything is fresh. We had the "sampler" which had lots of different items and certainly plenty of food. It is across the road from the river but the street is not too busy at night. We sat on the terrace . No AC but the fans made it very comfortable. They also have a cooking school . We would certainly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing