We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasting menu is a must”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #14 of 208 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Tasting menu is a must do, it gives you a good idea of Laosian food. Make sure to make a reservation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrazT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks! Our set menu is designed to take you through a range of dishes and give an insight into local tastes. So glad that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,664 of 2,749 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Tamarind offers many local food options, but there is really nothing special about it. The owner intervenes into everything happening at the place, and not always in the nice way... We felt the place is exploiting the position it doesn't necessarily deserve. There are many great restaurants around with the same or better food and much better attitude to customers.

1  Thank Trippple_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

At Tamarind, we understand that like any restaurant, we won't please every customer every time. But we are puzzled by your odd statement that we are "exploiting a position we don't deserve". We are a family business, working hard to fulfil a specific aim: to introduce those visitors who are interested to learn, to the local cuisine, with demonstrations and explanations of local dishes. We are busy, mainly because our restaurant has been recommended by people who have eaten there. We certainly don't advertise or pay agents to fill our tables.
We're sorry you did not like the attentions of our manager. He has been asked to talk to all our customers to ensure that they are happy with their food and service.
When running an honest business is criticised as exploitation, it gives little opportunity for us to work out what we could do to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we made reservations and went for dinner the following day. I was disappointed with the very limited menu, the above average prices and the below average portions. I left the place still hungry! It's an average place, but definitely not worth the wait. There are far better options for dinner in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrownGuuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'll start by commenting on Birdslake comment below. I was stood right behind them when this happened. The maitre'd was neither arrogant or dismissive. He simply apologised and explained that the area they were sitting in was part of the restaurant and not a bar area and that all tables were booked, then directed them to various bars that they could have a drink in. By the way he is Dutch not American and we found him extremely pleasant and very friendly. Sometimes you need to make an effort and talk to people politely and you get the same response back.

Ok now the food. Wow. Highlight of the dining experience in Luang Prabang. If you are only here for one night, see if you can prearrange a booking before you get here. The food served here is not to be missed if you can help it. Can. Thoroughly recommend the Laos Feast option - it's a culinary experience you cannot get anywhere else in LP. Each course and ingredients is explained beforehand and the staff will answer any questions you have on the preparation of the food.

All the staff here are very friendly and helpful. The tips are also shared amongst everyone working here - including the kitchen staff. Simply put your tip in the box on the counter. Can't recommend this place any more highly. If we get a chance to come back this will be first stop. Loved it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigs_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and for your appreciation of our food. We do enjoy watching guests learn about Lao cuisine and traditions in company with other visitors to Luang Prabang.
When reading reviews on TripAdvisor it's true one only hears one side of the story. Thanks for pointing that out. We are doing our best to help visitors experience and understand the intriguing cuisine and customs of Luang Prabang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A group of four of us had dinner in Tamarind last week. We struggle to make a reservation as it is a very popular place. I saw many people turn up and get turned away so resevations are essential. We tried both tasting plates which were more than enough for four people to share. The local chilli paste that comes with one dish was the best i've tasted, you can buy some to take away. The total price for all four of us came to a lot less than
I expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing