We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip & Groovy”
Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed March 4, 2014

LPB is not known for night life - and especially not late night - but this spot is nicely kept with cool music. This and the 2 or 3 surrounding bars are the late night spots of LPB - Ooh, 11.30 and it's last orders!

1  Thank DalstonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Glad to hear you had a groovy time at Hive!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hive Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Hive has a wonderful ethnic fashion show that is not to be missed. The models are delightful and their collection of costumes fantastic.
The food was not very good and very overpriced.

Thank JanetL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

There is one thing in this business that is universal – you can never make everyone happy – but we try to do our best. What is a small portion to some is more than adequate for others. What tastes great to some does not taste good for others. We are always on site to try to make our customers happy, and if someone is not happy with their food we are more than happy to bring them something else that they may like. Very unusual, we have received two negative reports from people from Nicaragua this month. While we do try to say hello to all our customers we don’t recall any visitors from Nicaragua. Regardless, it appears that the Nicaraguan palate is either not familiar with southern style smoked BBQ or it just does not agree with them. Regarding our pricing, we do not have a single item on menu that is over $10, and are pricing is very similar to pricing to the same items in nearby bars and restaurants. We do a thorough research on our competition. We do try to keep the budget traveler in mind however, by offering very low priced cocktails. For example, our special Hive Cocktails are approximately $1.50 – one of the best deals in town!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a Thursday evening after reading great reviews about the hip hop and fashion show. The fashion show was decent, exhibiting all traditional garb and the models were all well trained. The hip hop show, however, was a ten minute break dancing exhibit. It felt like false advertising. Furthermore, the food was mediocre, the portion sizes were very small and the prices were too expensive for both the quality and quantity of the meal. Eat somewhere else. Come for the fashion show if you're very interested. Skip the hip hop performance entirely.

Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We actually appreciate all the comments we receive and try to learn from our guests however this is down rite one of the most unusual comments we have had and can't learn a thing from it. First of all, the "traditional garb" the you refer to is one of the finest collections of Laos garments around, and is better than what you would see at the National Museum. We show almost 100 garments from 19 different ethnic groups. The show supports local university students and we receive great comments from industry professionals from New York to France. Second, we are confused how you could feel our dance show was false advertising? On the front of Hive Bar there is a sign that is 4 feet high and 8 feet long that says “acrobatic break dance hip hop show”. The font size is about 12 inches high, and there are pictures of persons break dancing. In other advertising we refer to it as a B-Boy dance show that my dictionary describes as young men involved in hip-hop culture and breakdancing. We are not sure what you expected but our team is a national competitor that receives rave reviews from guests from around the world. Families particularly love it. With regards to your comments that the dance show lasted only 10 minutes, either you saw them warm up before the fashion show or you left during intermission. Now for the over priced food! Not a single item on our menu is over $10.00 and it is not often we hear a customer leave hungry with our 1/3 pound burgers and fries and our monster Mekong rib etc, but I don’t know what you ordered. The price of our meals is typical of restaurants and bars serving western style food in the direct area – we have compared. Yes, you can get a much cheaper vegetarian meal in the market made from left over market produce that was unsellable but we think our product is far better and healthier. I would also like to mention that our shows that run over two hours is free to all our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

On my second visit to luang prabang we stayed two weeks leaving just before xmas. I wanted to go back to hive bar as I had fond memories from two years earlier.

The place still has the feel of a great pub so sit and really relax.

Although we did show up for breakfast twice but there were no staff (?) We often came back in the evening.

The food is quite good but expensive so we only ate there once.

I would return in a heartbeat. Troy takes care of the hive bar, it's a shame the same cannot be said about the lao lao garden.

Thank -Davobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hivebarbacon, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2015

Glad you returned! sorry about that morning service, staff seems to be concentrating on getting things accomplished before the nights begin no excuse just the way it is, I've been working on that. we aim for high quality food, service (i know, need more day effort lol) and entertainment but really it doesn't come cheap, but we are still able to deliver the best BBQ ribs in Laos for about 10 dollars, thats not bad! Thanks for your positive comments, we are glad you enjoyed Hive bar, from me and the staff.
Troy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We popped in for lunch so maybe we were at the wrong time of day.
Service was non existent, I had to walk around finding staff to a) get a drink b) order food and c) pay the bill. Surprised we didn't cook the meal.
I ordered a pizza, which was quite pricey, it was smaller than a frozen bite size pizza from Asda but it did taste good; the spare ribs were average at best.
Night time may be better but not for a day time meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We did have your partners review removed from TripAdvisor as it violated TripAdvisor rules and contained incredibly untruthful information that we documented to TripAdvisor. As a result it is not clear whether or not you similar review also contains false information. Our busiest time is definitely in the evening, however, our staff are typically still quite attentive during the day. If there aren’t any customers in the bar, they may be busy doing other duties such as prepping for the evening etc. We do apologize if the service was not up to our normal standards, and we did discuss daytime service with our staff in recent meetings. Regarding our pizzas, the prices range from $5 to $9. They are 10 inches across which in our minds does not fall into the “bite size” category that you indicated. They are made from fresh, hand rolled dough, imported 100% mozzarella cheeses (not sub-standard “pizza cheese”), baked in our wood oven, and if you ordered one of our meat containing pizzas you would have received various in house smoked meats such as our famous bacon. It appears that you liked the taste even though you gave us only one star. Last I checked Asda bite size pizzas don’t even come close to ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing