We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepy place during the day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Sleepy place during the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped in here twice. On our first visit, we stuck our heads in the door and the two staff members were asleep on the couches. We looked for a menu, staff members didn't wake up, so we headed out. The second time we came by, things were a bit better. We sat outside and tried to use their wifi. They don't seem to have their own network but piggy-back on a guesthouse across the street (the Merry). We ordered the tomato soup (very tasty) and a sesame chips with various dips (very good). Some of the staff seemed more interested in their computers than in taking care of guests. Not sure if it's a livelier place in the evenings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_Pair_of_OWLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of hive. We are glad you enjoyed our food. Breakfast, and evenings when our ETHNIK Fashion Show and Hip Hop Show are running are definitely our busiest times.
Sometimes some of our staff do take a nap after the morning rush especially after we serve them a big lunch, but there is always someone on duty to help customers. It may have been that the on duty staff was working in the back helping in the kitchen at the time when you arrived on first day.
As far as I know none of our serving staff own laptops, but the hip hop crew often hang out during the day downloading music, and videos that they use for practice and during their shows at night. It would be easy to confuse them with our regular staff as they are also Lao.
We do have a business relationship with Merry hotel across the street and share their wifi connection. Guests that stay at that hotel are given breakfast at hive as part of their accommodation. Hope this clears things up, and you get a chance to come back in the evening to see our free shows and enjoy our food once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ravenshoe, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Epic Owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you get the chance to meet Troy or Chris you'll understand, they are the easiest and friendly folk I've met, great food and if you time it right you'll get to see the fashion show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Ahhh Mike! Your comment really put a smile on our faces. It was really great meeting you and spending time at hive with you and your family! We love friendly and personable customers like yourselves. Best of luck in the future and safe travels. We are welcome back anytime and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast but great smoked chicken pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everyone else was raving about the pulled port sandwich but wow - the pizza is amazing. It is one of the best pizzas I have ever had. Try the smoked chicken pizza. They use their barbecue sauce. I wondered about that but it was delicious. The 'Ultimate' breakfast will fill you up for the whole day. The double smoked bacon is awesome. They open up at 7 so if you are an early bird, this is the place to go. In the evening, there is local entertainment made up of the hip hop boys and the university students who do the fashion shop. This bar helped with the operation on the little Moon Bear at the Bear Rescue by donating their CO2 canisters. So while it is a great place to party and the food is awesome they are also helping the local community.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ganeshWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review of hive. We love hearing from our fellow Canadian travelers. Our new breakfast offerings have really taken off recently now that the hungry travelers have got wind of our large portions and of course our in house smoked bacon. And yes, odd as it sounds ... our smoked chicken pizza with our homemade BBQ sauce is one of our top sellers. Even a surprise to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ethnik Show - a must to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to the Hive Bar on Tuesday, predominantly to see the "Ethnik Show - A Museum on Stage". It was presented using local students modeling the traditional clothes of many of the ethnic minority groups of Laos. It was a very professional show, well executed, colorful and wonderful fabrics. A must to see if in Luang Prabang. It was followed by a troupe of local lads doing hip hop dancing. Very entertaining, energetic and worth the watch. The BBQ pork meal was delicious. A great night out. Thanks to all involved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Koutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks you for your review. We are all happy you enjoyed the shows, food and fun at hive. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great evening show and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We came here to check out to Fashion and Hip Hop show and we had a great time. Ended up meeting Troy, one of the owners, who invited us to his table with a great group. Let's just say, Beer Lao on tap and shots of Lao Lao make a great night!!

We had to return for breakfast the next day to try the smoked bacon. Absolutely delicious!!! Thanks for a great last night in Luang Prabang.

Your fellow Canucks - Cindy and Katie

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for your review Katie and Cindy. It was great having you at hive. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing