We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had breakfast in the morning and after chatting to Troy, were excited by the prospect of seeing local traditional dress and enjoying a cold beer to finish the day. They didn't disappoint; the show was great and interesting, Peter even took me to an ATM on his bike so my MasterCard would work, we made some amazing friends, the break dancing troupe were phenomenal and the food was great - Especially the smoked meat they prepare themselves. One of our favourite nights on our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sneans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review of hive. We are so glad you enjoyed our food and entertainment. It was our pleasure helping you out with the ride to the ATM. We always like to take care of our customers. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hive Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of a recommendation from our tour guide. It was very unique. The fashion show was really cute and it was great to see all of the different types of clothing from the different regions of Laos. The hip-hop dance show was great, too. Some of those boys are really talented. We ordered food and drinks while we were there and everything was really good. I stumped the bartender and asked for one of his specialty drinks without alcohol and the result was pretty good. Overall I would definitely recommend this place for a unique dining/show experience in Luang Prabang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taddds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your great review of hive. We are really proud of the shows and service we offer our customers. I had a great chuckle regarding your comment about stumping our bartender. We don't get those requests often at hive, but I am happy we were able to figure out a solution that was tasty. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a wonderful night in March at this restaurant. We were welcomed warmly on arrival and then pleasantly surprised by the energy of the performers in this free show. The many traditional costumes were outstanding and the models moved to the great music in sync and looked happy to be there ! The dancing group to follow were high energy and skilled .
We enjoyed a great smoked chicken pizza and smoked pork roll.
Please do yourself a favour and go along when visiting Luang Prabang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you Anne for your TA review of hive! So happy that you enjoyed our entertainment and food, and we hope that you come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This bar & restaurant has it all; nice drinks, great food, good ambience and friendly staff.
On top of this already great package they host a free (donations are appreciated to keep the show free!) ethnic fashion show from Tuesdays through Saturdays at 7pm, followed by a hiphop show. When in Luang Prabang, DON'T MISS THIS PLACE!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micky_XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thanks Micky! Very glad you enjoyed your time at hive! Hope to see you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped off at this interesting bar one afternoon in mid Feb. Music was good and there was a nice breeze on the patio. Inside seemed fairly cool as well for a warm day in L B. We had very quick and friendly service soon after we set down on the front patio. There is a very nice and comfortable back courtyard as well. We ordered a late light lunch that was quite good as well. I had a chicken dish and my son enjoyed a fish dish that he ordered. Our waiter was cheerful and friendly and seem to enjoy practicing his English skills with us. There is a couple of large shady trees in the front patio that kept us cool while we enjoyed the good food, cheerful waiter and the cold beer Lao! Prices were fairly inexpensive and we had a good time while here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of hive. The hot season is certainly getting upon us, but we were glad you found hive to be a nice place to cool down. We hope you come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing