We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hip Hop Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hip Hop Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was surprised to find a legitamate hip-hop dance show in Luang Prabang. There is also a fashion show if your into village cloths.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukeCageBeijng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are very proud of the entertainment shows we offer at hive and to be able to support and sponsor the Lao youths that perform them. The hip hop team – EVOLUTION – that we sponsor are very well known nationally for their great performance arts and acrobatic dance moves – and ranked high in a recent national competition. Just like the students that model our ethnic costumes, we pay the hip hop dance troupe a full days wages for the hour long show that they perform at hive. They are all just like family to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, good company, friendly staff and a great show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I went to The Hive with two other couples, one of whom had been there before. They were greeted with enthusiasm by Peter, the manager, who got us seated in the best outdoor location in the garden area to see the upcoming ethnic fashion show. We ordered drinks and food and waited for the show to begin. The fashion show was an unexpected delight: young and enthusiastic Lao men and women modelling authentic traditional clothing of all the Northern Laos hill tribes to a musical background. After the fashion show an even more lively group of young Lao men performed hip-hop dance moves, and they were great too. My wife and I shared an excellent caesar salad and a smoked chicken pizza. There was no cover charge for either of the two shows and our meal was about $20 with drinks. The Canadian owner of The Hive, Troy, came out and talked with us for a while after the show. All the couples agreed that it had been a great evening out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your evening at hive so much. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks, friendly staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Highly recommended, we met Peter the manager...who seems to be Laotian but has spent somt time in the US and knows how to cater to expats as well as Western Travelers.

Had some of the best drinks in Luang Prabang (make sure to try the Mojitos...they are to die for!)

The pizza was great and the entire staff was pleasant and care free.

More expensive than other places, but worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks Mike for your review of hive. We hope to see you again soon. We will have one of those great Mojitos waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lao
1 review
“The wish Bar for Local Laotian, Foreigner must go & see the only Laotian fasionshow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are Lao. We went to The Hive for celebrate our award winning. As Lao person we are amaze the way that the staff look after us. In general Lao are very shine, lazy and slow, but not hear at Hive. We got our order quickly our beer so cool and nicely prepare with friendly and lot of smile.
As Lao person this is the Bar that we wish to visit as we can see how the foreigner food, drink and service in Luang Prabang. We appreciate how we are, but we also love to learn and develop ourselves to the coming world. We are happy that we have Hive, we can understand the little touch of what the Bar business doing.
We did not know what to expect and were absolutely delighted!
Recommended for all Foreigner if you been travel for a while the best ever burger in town are hear , great drink and the outstanding fashion show provide an excellent overview of traditional fashions of local. It was performed to lively music and was a pleasure to watch...we are so pound that the young Laotians can do Hip Pop dance so well.
Thank you Hive to make our night so special!

Mai, Lath, Amporn, Ki, Boonhom, Mi mi, Kien, Baboo, Nin, Tone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kornkanok s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of hive. We do not see reviews from our local Lao customers very often. We are happy you enjoyed the hive and you and your friends are welcome back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place, beautiful garden, good food and drinks, entertainment. Great night in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to The Hive after seeing a beautiful poster at Kopnoi for an Ethnik fashion show. We did not know what to expect and were absolutely delighted! The fashion show was outstanding and provided an excellent overview of traditional fashions of local tribes. It was performed to lively music and was a pleasure to watch. Normally I wouldn't go to a fashion show but this one appealed to me. When the fashion show was over a really entertaining and energetic hip hop show took place. All this took place on stages viewed from a beautiful outdoor garden. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend The Hive for a fun evening in Luang Prabang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akcjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing