We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good company, friendly staff and a great show”
Review of Hive Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Hive Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I went to The Hive with two other couples, one of whom had been there before. They were greeted with enthusiasm by Peter, the manager, who got us seated in the best outdoor location in the garden area to see the upcoming ethnic fashion show. We ordered drinks and food and waited for the show to begin. The fashion show was an unexpected delight: young and enthusiastic Lao men and women modelling authentic traditional clothing of all the Northern Laos hill tribes to a musical background. After the fashion show an even more lively group of young Lao men performed hip-hop dance moves, and they were great too. My wife and I shared an excellent caesar salad and a smoked chicken pizza. There was no cover charge for either of the two shows and our meal was about $20 with drinks. The Canadian owner of The Hive, Troy, came out and talked with us for a while after the show. All the couples agreed that it had been a great evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your evening at hive so much. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Highly recommended, we met Peter the manager...who seems to be Laotian but has spent somt time in the US and knows how to cater to expats as well as Western Travelers.

Had some of the best drinks in Luang Prabang (make sure to try the Mojitos...they are to die for!)

The pizza was great and the entire staff was pleasant and care free.

More expensive than other places, but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks Mike for your review of hive. We hope to see you again soon. We will have one of those great Mojitos waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are Lao. We went to The Hive for celebrate our award winning. As Lao person we are amaze the way that the staff look after us. In general Lao are very shine, lazy and slow, but not hear at Hive. We got our order quickly our beer so cool and nicely prepare with friendly and lot of smile.
As Lao person this is the Bar that we wish to visit as we can see how the foreigner food, drink and service in Luang Prabang. We appreciate how we are, but we also love to learn and develop ourselves to the coming world. We are happy that we have Hive, we can understand the little touch of what the Bar business doing.
We did not know what to expect and were absolutely delighted!
Recommended for all Foreigner if you been travel for a while the best ever burger in town are hear , great drink and the outstanding fashion show provide an excellent overview of traditional fashions of local. It was performed to lively music and was a pleasure to watch...we are so pound that the young Laotians can do Hip Pop dance so well.
Thank you Hive to make our night so special!

Mai, Lath, Amporn, Ki, Boonhom, Mi mi, Kien, Baboo, Nin, Tone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kornkanok s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristofre, Owner at Hive Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of hive. We do not see reviews from our local Lao customers very often. We are happy you enjoyed the hive and you and your friends are welcome back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to The Hive after seeing a beautiful poster at Kopnoi for an Ethnik fashion show. We did not know what to expect and were absolutely delighted! The fashion show was outstanding and provided an excellent overview of traditional fashions of local tribes. It was performed to lively music and was a pleasure to watch. Normally I wouldn't go to a fashion show but this one appealed to me. When the fashion show was over a really entertaining and energetic hip hop show took place. All this took place on stages viewed from a beautiful outdoor garden. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend The Hive for a fun evening in Luang Prabang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank akcjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

HIVE has improve its quality and I have been to hive any time I am in Laos, this is the 7th times I am returning to Luang Prabang and ofcourse been back to HIVE and it is really nice, They serve a great drinks and great snacks

Thank John Kan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hive Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing