We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting Overlooking the Mekong River, Decent food”
Review of Cafe Mekong Fish

Cafe Mekong Fish
Ranked #69 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Setting Overlooking the Mekong River, Decent food”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I Have eaten Here many times over many Visits and always found it to be good food for the price. the Croque Monsieur is great for a hearty Breakfast.The rest of their Breakfasts are good to. I really like the view from the Balconies of the riverside. Lao Food is decent as is the western food. Staff is good too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Once again, wonderful food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We ate at Mekong Fish when we visited Luang Prabang last year. The food was excellent again.
This time we took a school group of 10 people and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. My fish in white wine sauce was magnificent and my wife had chicken with basil and peanuts and thoroughly enjoyed every bite.
I had decided to sample a variety of Luang Prabang pork sausages during this trip and can say without hesitation that those at Mekong Fish are the best.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice view on the mekong river at sunset”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I liked the cafe mekong fish a lot. Especially for the tranquility it offers when you go there on sunset an see the boats passing by on lazy Mekong river. However of course, bring your lotion to avoid being bitten by mosquitos at that time of the day.
Food was good, depending on the day there seemed to be a slight variety in quality (different cook on different days).
Prices are ok, usual for Luang Prabang, very expensive if you consider the country overall.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rukola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Fish by the River”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Situated above the river, the food was good as was the view. The service was O.K. Recomended.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best Meal we have had on our trip”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The owner of our hotel recommended Mekong Fish as having consistently excellent meals. This recommendation didn't do it justice.
Our meal was by far and away the best we have had in over 3 weeks travelling in bangkok, Beijing, Hanoi, Kuala Lumpur and Luang Prabang.
Our dishes consisted of Lao Pork Sausage which was delicious, Chicken and cashew which my wife loved and Fish fillet in white wine sauce which was superb. We can't wait to go back and will eat all of our future meals there.
If we had been served food of this quality in Melbourne we would have been delighted and at this price - ecstatic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mekong Fish also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Cafe Mekong Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing