We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bathrooms quite dirty and hotel lacks good management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Shayada Guest House
Ranked #121 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bathrooms quite dirty and hotel lacks good management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Although this hotel has potential and some good features (friendly staff, ample size rooms, good breakfast) its positives are outweighed by the lack of management and some basic features that a good hotel room should have. The bathroom in our room had a shower and a toilet with no division so the entire bathroom floor would got soaked every morning making it dirty and slippery. No bathmat was provided until we requested one from the staff. Our friends (who paid extra for the 'deluxe room' had a partition between the shower and the bathroom but the shower curtain was extremely dirty and full of mold. Also, some of the bedrooms have a nice balcony but they overlook an unkempt patio which could easily be fixed up. The sheets and towels were old and threadbare and in the reception there is not even a business card of the hotel with its address in order to give the taxi driver directions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We used this lovely hotel as a base for a week's stay in Luang Prabang, leaving to go out on trekking and kayaking trips.

The rooms were very nice. Large comfy beds, good bathroom and most have balcony. For $20 we had a really nice room.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - though the late night staff could not speak english that well (but smiled a lot!!).

Would strongly recommend it to anyone staying in Luang Prabang for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramzi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel is really clean, had very friendly staff, and free internet access in lobby. The location was perfect--right by great little restaurants up the street and across from a huge temple. The room was clean, with hot showers and air conditioning. What really made this hotel was its staff... Especially its night manager, who speaks English, Thai, and is teaching himself Chinese. Very impressive! We had a great stay and absolutely loved Prabang, where we did many different treks and found the countryside beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

we paid $30usd for our room here and the room itself is large and well decorated - huge bed and nice bathroom, but very dark- even with windows open and lights on, huge balcony, but then if you're in a room facing the road the noise is really loud (i slept fine with ear plugs however). the location is a bit annoying, you're a few mins walk from the bar area or town, but its about 10-12 mins walk to the main streets and restaurants - not so good when its raining!
there is one very sweet girl on reception that speaks very good english and is so happy and accomdating so service is excellent, but if i were to go to luang prabang again i would stay somewhere closer to town.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracemyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Very nicely decorated rooms but also very dark. One girl on the front desk spoke very good English and seemed very nice. Roadside rooms have a nice balcony overlooking the main road but this made it very noisy in the morning with motorbikes zooming past, and at night a bar was playing loud music right next door. Hot water was very hit or miss but I suspect this is just what happens in most of Laos. They charge $5 US per person for an average breakfast, you are better off going next 2 houses down to a small restaurant for a $3-4 US breakfast. Rooms are cleaned very well and 2 bottles of water left in your room every day. Overall nice place but probably better available closer to town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprayandwalkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Nice hotel about the equivalent of $12. The one girl there in the morning was very sweet and spoke great English. The other girls did not speak as well but it was never a problem and it was something we had gotten used to after travelling around SE Asia. The rooms are very charming, with nice décor. The patio out back is nice and private with the bamboo fence surrounding the hotel.

Its situated outside the main area of Luang Prabang so its quiet but its only 5-10 min walk. Plus its next to Utopia which is wonderful! The beds are comfortable and it has a hot shower. The bathroom is the typical asian style with the shower and toilet all in the one room but it was spacious. The only thing I didn’t get was the twin rooms were the $12 but a double room was about $20. Also their business card says they have free wifi which at the time they didn't. They had a lan cable that you could plug your laptop into for free or you could borrow their computer. However at night their computer is locked up.

We loved the hospitality. They got our brother a birthday cake without anyone mentioning it was his birthday. Also they got this one guy a little teddy bear after Holland lost the world cup. That was pretty hilarious. Also the place next door has great soup and iced coffee. We ate there every day. They even delivered food in the rain to the hotel, thats their room service.

All in all, we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Paid 100.000 kip for a spotless twin room with a/c and satellite TV. The guesthouse is a beautiful colonial house that looks recently refurbished. Rooms are well furnished and have a small balcony. We stayed in two previous guesthouses before staying in this one (and visited 10 more) and really, this was the best one, considering you get a clean spacious room with a/c, private bathroom and helpful and pleasant staff (and you get two bottles of mineral water daily and the room the room cleaned).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mali House
Mali House
#40 of 257 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#27 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ammata Guest House
Ammata Guest House
#52 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salakphet Guesthouse
Salakphet Guesthouse
#78 of 136 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#69 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramayana Boutique Hotel
Ramayana Boutique Hotel
#49 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shayada Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shayada Guest House

Property: Villa Shayada Guest House
Address: Phommathat Rd. | Ban. Apay, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Shayada Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Shayada Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing