We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for chilling out with a beer”

Utopia Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #22 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Bar, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Come and enjoy relaxing views overlooking the river. We have tropical gardens, river view yoga deck, tiki huts, beach volleyball courts, relaxing thai cushions, sofas, and bar stools. This is a place to come and relax. Enjoy food, drinks, and meet interesting people. Utopia is Zen by Day, Groovy by Night. Every evening we are by far the busiest place in the city. Utopia is a very special and unique place, and our typical customers will come back every day!! Don't wait until your last day to find Utopia.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great spot for chilling out with a beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Such a lovely unique and chilled place down by the river, we just went for a beer and a plate of chips and for that it was perfect. Relaxing lounging around on the numerous cushions strewn all over the floor, and they even invite you to have a snooze if you so desire. Really good place to come and unwind after the 'relative' bustle of the town and sightseeing all day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    480
    159
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yoga, Drinks and a Unique Space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I really liked this place, but have overall mixed impressions. During the day there is yoga, food and drinks to be had in an interesting space with different levels, nooks and crannies and some pretty nice views. Food and service can be a little lackluster though. At night it's a great place to hang (or lounge on the floor) and have a drink with a larger group of friends. It's romantic, but also fairly dark and labyrinthine so if you haven't been there first in the daytime, I can see how it might be a little confusing in the dark.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalec02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
“Great view and volleyball court”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Checked this place out during the day, didn't eat there, just grabbed a few beers and played volleyball. The view from the balcony is pretty sweet. We got kicked off for a yoga session but that was the same time people showed up for volleyball so it worked out. I don't recall the drink prices so I cant comment on that, but overall I enjoyed the place. People seemed to keep to themselves and it was pretty relaxed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LevonB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible service, terrible food, gross atmosphere, secret exchange rate?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

For food, we had the two burgers that were offered. They tasted bland and the flavors were just not right with the ingredients tasting old.

The place with it's no shoes inside makes it super uncomfortable to get from one builsing to the next due to the option of getting feet dirty or stepping on painful rocks.

The service was atrocious, 4 different people needed speaking to before I could even order food - no one had any authority.

It is quite normal to pay the bill with USD (8000kip/usd). When we took the bill, they had short changed us because they only consider one USD as 7500 kip, completely unique to the rest of Laos. The best part was that as a testament to the service, this was only brought to my attention because I had done the math beforehand.

This is the absolute worst place with terrible seating and food that's only better than their service.

Helpful?
3 Thank Stan Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Chilled out place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Visited for a drink and got pleasantly surprised. They were playing videos on a projector (watched the classical Charlie Chaplin boxing game - awesome!) and there were a lot of places to hang out in and even play volleyball. The place just had a nice vibe but I didn't buy anything more than a can of Lipton so I don't know about the service. I would recommend it to all backpackers passing through, seems like this is the place where everybody ends up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank MatiasAndresDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utopia Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Utopia Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing