We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, good service and great food”
Review of Lao Lao Garden!

Lao Lao Garden!
Ranked #51 of 212 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We open every day from 8 am to 11.30 pm
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice restaurant with lots of private little areas for couples or families. Its nicely lit and the food and service is really very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 490 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice restaurant with good prices. It has a policy to double it`s staff tips, so tip well.

i recommend the place for lunch, dinner or just a beer.

lots os cocktails and 2-for-1's.

reaaly good lao food.

Thank chi22ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved this place - good food, very chilled, and lovely atmosphere - perfect for our slightly noisy little ones. Pad Thai worth a mention. No food poisoning in 4 visits for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KLBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited Lao Lao garden on our last night in Laos. This was a HUGE mistake. The service was lacking and one of the dishes we ordered was forgotten. We 'enjoyed' a papaya salad, a chicken curry, buffalo stew and finished with mango and sticky rice. The menu actually states that there is no need to worry as the kitchen prepares all food using western hygiene standards. At 4 o'clock the next morning, we discovered that this was blatantly untrue. Hubby and I proceeded to be violently unwell for the next 24 hours which included an 10 hour journey and two flights before we reached our next location. It was mortifying and not an experience we ever want to repeat. Beware - visit this restaurant at your peril!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JulesJREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLG2005, Manager at Lao Lao Garden!, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sorry you were ill during your holiday.

However, your accusation that this restaurant is specifically to blame is probably unfounded and you should post the same warning about every place at which you ate, drank, visited and stayed during your travels, especially during the week prior to your illness. It could be as simple as buying a fruit shake or snack from a street vendor or drinking from a glass in your hotel.

The following is from the CDC website…
Travelers' diarrhea (TD) is the most common illness affecting travelers. Each year between 20%-50% of international travelers, an estimated 10 million persons, develop diarrhea. The onset of TD usually occurs within the first week of travel but may occur at any time while traveling, and even after returning home. The most important determinant of risk is the traveler's destination. High-risk destinations are the developing countries of Latin America, Africa, the Middle East, and Asia.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Since 2005, Lao Lao Garden has remained the most popular venue in Luang Prabang, serving hundreds of meals daily, so the food is unquestionably purchased and served fresh. It was voted the #1 thing to do in Luang Prabang and the #2 budget restaurant in Asia by the readers of Lonely Planet Travel Guide. If people were getting sick, this would not be possible.

Lao Lao Garden is one of only a few remaining Lao-owned and operated businesses in town and the last Lao-style Restaurant, bar and beergarden in the UNESCO world heritage zone. Its theme is “Simply Lao,” because it is in Laos, not Europe. There is a Western consultant to teach basic expected standards and the Lao owner has a degree in tourism and studied restaurant management in Thailand.

Travelers who want to experience something really different, have an openness and sense of humor about dealing with other cultures and languages and want an authentic taste of local life will be quite happy at Lao Lao Garden. It is also one of only a few places in town that still has locals as customers.

Lastly, and sadly, readers of reviews on this website need to realize, especially in Luang Prabang, that it is being extremely manipulated by unscrupulous businesses. It is far from “unbiased” as it claims to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We picked Lao Lao Garden for our last dinner in Luang Prabang because they reportedly had excellent vegetarian food - including a tofu laap (the national dish). Their menu states that they take care to wash all of their veggies in safe water and use hygenic methods of cooking.
Indeed the garden setting is lovely, and the menu offered a wide vegetarian selection.
The service left much to be desired. I ordered white wine and was asked five times if I wanted "white" or "red". Each time I said "white" & pointed to various things on the table that were colored white (ashtray, napkins, napkin holder). They brought me red wine & insisted "this is what you ordered". Eventually they told me the white wine was "finished" & I should drink red instead (likely because they couldn't put the red wine back into the box it came out of). I shook my head "no" (and kept my "fire" at bay) and within five minutes I did receive white wine.
The meal tasted fine. However, about five hours later we were both overcome with a terrible bout of illness that lasted all night & into the morning. I'm sure it was food poisoning - likely caused by bad tofu or kitchen staff who did not wash their hands after using the toilet.
Beware bad hygiene or spoiled food at Lao Lao Garden! Avoid!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Monkeyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLG2005, Manager at Lao Lao Garden!, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sorry you were ill during your holiday.

However, your accusation that this restaurant is specifically to blame is probably unfounded and you should post the same warning about every place at which you ate, drank, visited and stayed during your travels, especially during the week prior to your illness. It could be as simple as buying a fruit shake or snack from a street vendor or drinking from an unclean glass in your hotel.

The following is from the CDC website…
Travelers' diarrhea (TD) is the most common illness affecting travelers. Each year between 20%-50% of international travelers, an estimated 10 million persons, develop diarrhea. The onset of TD usually occurs within the first week of travel but may occur at any time while traveling, and even after returning home. The most important determinant of risk is the traveler's destination. High-risk destinations are the developing countries of Latin America, Africa, the Middle East, and Asia.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Since 2005, Lao Lao Garden has remained the most popular venue in Luang Prabang, serving hundreds of meals daily, so the food is unquestionably purchased and served fresh. It was voted the #1 thing to do in Luang Prabang and the #2 budget restaurant in Asia by the readers of Lonely Planet Travel Guide. If people were getting sick, this would not be possible.

Lao Lao Garden is one of only a few remaining Lao-owned and operated businesses in town and the last Lao-style Restaurant, bar and beergarden in the UNESCO world heritage zone. Its theme is “Simply Lao,” because it is in Laos, not Europe. There is a Western consultant to teach basic expected standards and the Lao owner has a degree in tourism and studied restaurant management in Thailand.

Travelers who want to experience something really different, have an openness and sense of humor about dealing with other cultures and languages and want an authentic taste of local life will be quite happy at Lao Lao Garden. It is also one of only a few places in town that still has locals as customers.

Lastly, and sadly, readers of reviews on this website need to realize, especially in Luang Prabang, that it is being extremely manipulated by unscrupulous businesses. It is far from “unbiased” as it claims to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Lao Garden! also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Lao Lao Garden!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing