We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local treat”

Tamnak Lao Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 259 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 25, 2015

We went to this place for lunch were very happy. Beer is very reasonable and I had local tamarind drink which was very refreshing. My husband had local Lao curry and sticky rice and really enjoyed. It's very reasonable by western standard but on expensive side for Laos

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Kalindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2015

It's really difficult to chose a restaurant but we were very happy with our choice. The food was served hot and the portions were a good size. I had a spicy fish stew and prawn fried rice and my husband had deep fried bamboo shoots stuffed with pork and chicken fried rice. We both had a small beer. We paid in dollars as we didn't have any kip and it came to $22 which we thought was good value. The service was friendly and efficient and whilst it wasn't very busy there were a few other diners. As previously stated it is opposite the Villa Santi which looks very pretty at night.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

After 4 days of trying disappointing Lao food at restaurants like Khaiphaen and Lao Lao Garden, we were finally saved by an excellent recommendation from a fellow traveller. She was an American Lao on a same tour as us.

The Mok Ba (steamed fish in coconut sauce wrapped in banana leaves) was very good and tasted like the Otak you would find in Malaysia. The fried rice and fried noodles were to die for; so good that it had my friend sweeping it directly from plate to mouth.

Thank you Tamnak Lao for saving the integrity of Lao cuisine.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank WawaAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015

We decided that we should eat some good Lao food at a cooking school restaurant. The food was very average. This was our first day in Lao and we didn't realise at that time that Lao cuisine is nothing to write home about.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2015

A wide choice of local dishes to choose from in a nice environment. Food was good but not spectacular. Best tables on the.verandah across from the gorgeous Villa Santi, which is beautifully lit at night.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamnak Lao Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamnak Lao Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing