We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hideout”

Dyen Sabai Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dyen Sabai offers Lao typical food. From November to August, we offer breakfast. We also have a nice selection of desert (foreigner sweet.. sorry the Laotians don't eat that much sweet!!) We also, have happy hour from noon to 7 pm, 2 cocktails for the price of one, on selected cocktails. You can reach us with a bamboo bridge (in dry season) (there is a fee for the bamboo bridge of 5,000 kips from 8 am to 8 pm, after this the bamboo bridge is free). We also do free boat from noon to closing when the bamboo bridge is not there (rainy season only)
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely hideout”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stumbled upon this place by accident when I saw a rather obscure sign with its name on the other side of the river. I had to cross the bridge, pay my 5000 Kips to get across by the way, but it was worth all of that. :D A lovely enclave tucked along the Nam Khan river, among the trees and foliage. They serve a wonderful spread of vegetarian dishes. Do try the Veg platter if you are here... I'm still reeling from the out of the urban-jungle experience this place exudes... :D

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Salienturges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    376
    86
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great food for across the Bamboo bridge”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are OK with crossing the bamboo bridge by night, illuminated by a fiber-light strip this is a terrific place to eat. Very mellow setting overlooking the Nam Khan river with friendly staff only too happy to chat with the guests. The whole Mekong fish is worth it alone. Decent wines, not particularly expensive and they take credit cards. Very nice to get away from all the places in town for the evening.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, fun with kids”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has a great view of the Khang river and the bamboo bridge with monks crossing regularly. In a romantic little hut we had a lounge table sitting on pillows on the floor. The Lao fondue is very tasty and good fun to do with kids. One portion served us (couple + 3 small kids) well.
Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Fjcvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good experience, not so sure the food is worth rating highly”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Considering you cross the river by boat or bridge and enter a garden setting away from the hustle of town centre, it's worth trying.
Though the food wasn't special, service is by part time students, setting doesn't inspire... I would choose Cafe Toui in the town any day. Because it's got a dedicated staff to serving fresh, quality and consciously prepared food that will inspire you to keep coming back.
Not a commercial enterprise trying to get the tourist dollar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to eat if you are on the rive droite or fancy a trip across the bridge.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We had the chicken fondue (no cheese) which is a cook yourself affair. They bring you the meat, veg, noodles and a miso type soup which you cook on a metal dome over heated coals. Everything mixes with the soup in the troughed rim. As in Vientiane the wine is not cheap.

It's located on path down to the bamboo bridge and they take mastercard for anything above 200k kip after 3% fee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyen Sabai Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dyen Sabai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing