We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely”

Dyen Sabai Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dyen Sabai offers Lao typical food. From November to August, we offer breakfast. We also have a nice selection of desert (foreigner sweet.. sorry the Laotians don't eat that much sweet!!) We also, have happy hour from noon to 7 pm, 2 cocktails for the price of one, on selected cocktails. You can reach us with a bamboo bridge (in dry season) (there is a fee for the bamboo bridge of 5,000 kips from 8 am to 8 pm, after this the bamboo bridge is free). We also do free boat from noon to closing when the bamboo bridge is not there (rainy season only)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tried different restaurants everyday during our 4 days in Luang Prabang, and Dyen Sabai probably get the highest mark overall. Lovely setting by the NamKhan river. We crossed the river using the small traditional boat for a late lunch fiesta. Only three couples were there when we arrived so we got the place for ourselves. Delicious local Lao food. We tried the Mok fish, mushroom laarb and apple-cinnamon-mint smoothies. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jigrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    376
    86
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oasis in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We walked across the bridge just out for a walk and came upon this bar, scenic beautiful seating, you have your own personal hut/balcony friendly staff, cool place to kick back, wifi included, food smelled good but we only indulged in shakes, the chocolate mint shake is intense, lots of fresh mint! The trip back across the river was by boat which was a balance challenge, i would dread to think how anyone with a few too many drinks on them would cope!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“It's the getting there”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I visited just before the rainy season started full on, the bamboo bridge is great, the steps on the town side give an indication of what's to come and the path on the other side of the river can be tricky when wet.
The restaurant itself is a lovely place to sit, the Lao fondue is good but far too much for one, the way they bring the hot coals is not a job I'd want.
There are books and toys available to while away a pleasant afternoon or just sit and watch the river flow by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great views and food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I highly recommend this restaurant... it is fun, great location you have to walk over the bamboo bridge, amazing view. It's away from the touristy part of LP across the river.
The staff here is so friendly, and all of their dishes are incredible, definitely try the Sinbad (a kind of fondue) and the service is superb.. Worth the effort .
If you go during the day, there are plenty of board games to keep you distracted for a while!
Definitely a place to visit, when you're in Luang Prabang.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quirky yet Romantic”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This restaurant was not crowded when we visited. on first glance the menu seemed limited. We chose to have a "set" and were pleasantly surprised by the amount, flavours and variety of food we received. We will definitely return here on our next visit. Crossing the river via a local boat was fun and safe, if a bit of an uphill walk once reaching the other side. Should not be a problem unless you have mobility issues.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherryblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyen Sabai Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dyen Sabai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing