We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing aman experience”
Review of Amantaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amantaka
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our second Aman property visit and it definitely continues to be our favorite and most indulgent hotel chain. We visited Luang Prabang in the low season and it was nice to not be surrounded by a lot of tourists. Our transfer from the airport to the hotel was seamless, complete with water and cold towels. As we stepped out of the van, the manager and 2 other staff members greeted us by name and welcomed us to the hotel. We got upgraded to a pool suite (#7) and it was larger than our old apartment in NYC. Huge bedroom, large sitting room, separate vanities with sinks in the bathroom and a large pool and patio area in the back. The location of the hotel is super convenient for walking to town. As always, the service was impeccable, and the day trips they offered were pretty unique. We went to the waterfall and bear sanctuary where we were allowed in the bear cages to hide their food. It was pretty incredible. We also took a river boat tour to the caves. The Aman has their own boat which was squeaky clean and had a place to eat and lay down. They served us food and drinks as we cruised down the river. Even the guide remembered that we liked sparkling water from dinner the night before and brought it on the boat for us. We ate both breakfast and dinner there which were all great, especially the Laotian food. They also had really good recommendations for places to eat in town and shops to visit. We did not visit the spa, but it looked very peaceful. Although its definitely pricey, especially for LP, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubiacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Amantaka is perfectly situated for a visit to the beautiful town of Luang Prabang. It is expensive but seriously if you can afford it, then stay here.

The hotel inhabits the Old Colonial French Hospital. The buildings are beautiful, and thoughtfully converted, with considerable attention given to every detail. The grounds are lush, neat and nursed to perfection by a team of gardeners.

I love the 'hardware' of this hotel, it's understated perfection is exceptional but it is the 'software' the, staff and management that really set it apart. Across the board we were greeted with smiles and efficiency, absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The Spa is great and I had the best massage I had ever had.

The restaurant is a lovely open room(s), it hasn't the most extensive menu but it is beautifully cooked and has Western and Laotian options. The breakfasts were excellent.

We had a beautiful room, it was was peaceful, airy, well air conditioned, a great shower and bath and it had a bed that seemed designed to deal with jet-lag.

Overall we stayed for only three nights, I could have stayed for a week, but it was so relaxing and calming it was the perfect way to start a South East Asian holiday. I arrived exhausted from work and travel and left feeling rejuvenated. It is a very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at a Khan Pool Suite (Suite #9) for 3 nights over New Year's. How did the property and service hold up under the avalanche of guests during this period?

First, the arrival experience... After touching down at Luang Prabang Airport, we had to wait for about 10 minutes before the hotel vehicle arrived. No apology was given by the representative for the delay, which was a inexplicable. Also a surprise was the lack of bottled water or cold towels in the vehicle. Mind you, it was a 10 minute drive from the airport to Amantaka, so it wasn't something we particularly missed. But it's definitely something we've come to expect from an Aman.

The Khan Pool Suite was was wonderful and inviting. It's tastefully decorated while being low-key at the same time. If there's one complaint to be had, it's in the layout of the suite - it's a very large suite, mind you, but it feels far less cavernous than it ought to be. While the sitting room (adjacent to the bedroom) is quite spacious, the bedroom feels a bit cramped. The twin sinks, closets and showers are all somewhat segregated, (sort of their own enclaves in a sense), often connected by mini hallways. The courtyard and pool are in the back of the suite with the courtyard having a table, two chairs and two loungers for relaxing. Unfortunately, it was very cold during our time in Luang Prabang, and we never got around to using it as a result.

We had dinner at Amantaka all three evenings we were there - during the holiday season, a compulsory supplementary charge is tacked on to the rate and includes breakfast and choice of lunch and dinner daily. If it wasn't for the supplementary charge, we definitely would not have dined there as often. We stuck mainly to Laotian dishes, although we did try two Western entrees for one of our meals. while there was nothing wrong with the food, we found it rather bland and unimaginative. By comparison, the food in town was great. We had lunch at Tamarind, and everything we had was fresh, full of flavor and very creative. We also checked out a "hole in the wall" noodle shop, which specialized in one noodle soup (which is all it offered!). Especially noteworthy was the dried crispy rice that gets added to the soup - think sizzling rice soup for those of you familiar with Chinese cuisine. It blew away the breakfast noodles on offer at Amantaka, which had far less umami and the noodles were way too soft. Dessert at Amantaka was decent, however. We had sweet sticky rice with mangos on two occasions; it's a great finale to end any meal.

How was the service during this peak period, you ask? Good but far from exemplary. We were rarely greeted by name, and service at the restaurant was not attentive at all and was very, very slow (despite it being less than half full on most nights) - every time we wanted to ask for something, it seemed like forever before the waiter would appear... definitely not the "anticipatory" service that one expects from an Aman resort. At times, we sensed that the staff were under the strain of having to deal with a full house. One example: one our walk back to our suite, we realized we had forgotten to pick up our room key at the front desk (we always leave our keys there when going out), and asked one of the staff nearby if they could go get it for us. After 10 minutes of waiting in the middle of the property grounds, I gave up and trekked back to the lobby, only to find said staff member sitting at the desk. When he made eye contact with me, he didn't flinch - he clearly had completely forgotten about the key request.

While we were not expecting perfection considering the period of our stay, I find it hard to excuse such mishaps, especially when you consider that Aman charges more during peak season (including the compulsory supplementary charge.) Given the wide quality gulf between Amantaka and other properties (including La Residence Phou Vao, which, while though highly rated here on TripAdvisor, is a big step down, property wise), perhaps this is a sign of complacency? I definitely hope not.

In summary, Amantaka is a wonderful property that is slightly marred by mediocre food (which is the case at most Amans we've been to), slow and inattentive service, and some mishaps along the way (making us wait at the airport with no apologies as the most egregious one.) It definitely lacks the polish found at Amanpuri or the Bali Amans.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KI-NRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

There was nobody else staying as it is low season now, the place was totally soulless but as a result we were very well attended to (as there was nobody else around!)
Really great pool, very refreshing and great location but seriously lacking character.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank InspectorCluso2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fifth Aman experience and I'd say the best so far!
Nothing about this place can be criticised from the moment you're met of the aircraft at Luang Prabang Airport, the the moment you leave. As with every Aman I've stayed at, they somehow manage to read your mind as to what will make your stay perfect and to the details they put into your excursions to make sure you get an authentic experience without crowds of other tourists around you! It almost seems like you have the place to yourself.
The food was excellent - at least the Lao food was as we stayed away from the Western varieties! The room was top specification and extremely comfortable.
There is nothing to criticise - can't wait for my next Aman experience!
Thanks....

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect - some are more luxurious than others - we were upgraded to a room with our ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

One of the best hotels in south east asia! We enjoeyd every minute. Amazing service and estetically perfect in every way. Aman is universe made better.

Try riding bikes in Luang Prabang and go on a river cruise in the hotels own nice boat.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restlesshedonist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It all starts at the front desk. A highly trained, professional staff - and a personable front desk manager - greet you when you arrive, all of whom speak fluent English. Whatever your particular needs - have problems with your camera? - staff will lean over backwards to try and take care of any problem you might experience. A beautiful, historic location, the rooms are specious and clean. Conveniently located, it's just a short walk to Luang Prabang's famous Night Market, a block away from the Mekong River. A unique resort. It's worth your time to visit their web site.

Room Tip: Ask to speak to the front desk manager and seek her recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $939 - $1,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a large garden estate, Amantaka is housed in graceful French colonial buildings in the UNESCO protected town of Luang Prabang. Airy and elegant throughout, the décor and furnishings reflect the town's French colonial history. Situated just south of Phousi Hill, the resort is within strolling distance of the boutiques, bakeries and restaurants lining the town's main street. The fabled night market, the picturesque banks of the Mekong River and the former Royal Palace are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing