We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aman - the leader of the pack”
Review of Amantaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amantaka
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Laos was our latest adventure with Aman. Once again what stands out from the competition is their vision. Laos is essentially still a backpacker location, but the commitment Aman has to truly special places is second to none. Converting the old hospital into this amazing hotel which is so peaceful, tasteful and inviting. The food was really good as well and I always think this is a challenge in a relatively remote location. The staff are friendly and well trained and it reminds me of the commitment of this company to develop people, it is truly inspirational. I have no complaints other than the local Laos airline could introduce a direct flight from Singapore on a daily basis which would make it easier and more appealing to visit the country, however I don't think the airport has the infrastructure to deal with this yet. The Chinese are funding a second runway and possibly we will see flight schedules change as a result. Assuming it was easier to travel there, I would definitely visit again. Gary the GM really made an effort with the guests. The boutique on the property was better than I have seen at some of the other Aman properties. if I had to suggest an improvement is being a little more active on the "itinerary" for the guest like they do in Cambodia. Also thought it was strange that breakfast is not included in the price. The spa was exceptional and we made two trips to the spa over a three day stay - well worth it. Overall a memorable stay - beautiful rooms, exceptional service and an interesting city. We particularly enjoy the boat trip (with the day bed), however the caves are not very impressive, but the trip back at sunset was amazing. Aman provides the experience, cares about developing people and makes you feel so at home - seems simple, but most hotels don't achieve success in all categories. Having been to Cambodia and Laos, I would suggest that you combine the two, it makes the flight situation more manageable.

Room Tip: All are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ionise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a stay. An old hospital converted to a luxury hotel in the center of town. Amazing service, fabulous suite. Our suite had a private pool, warmed in the evenings due to the cool temperature outside. A welcome animist ceremony by one of the former Prince. Superb food at every meal, fantastic picnic organised in a private villa rented by the hotel in a hill village. A Lao cooking class on a rice plantation. Small details everywhere like a fresh flower on top of the toilet paper dispenser, fresh products from the spa in the bathroom, fresh fruit juices in the minibar, replenished everyday. Perfect French croissants, full of butter, for breakfast. Free bicycles to roam around town and a boutique managed by a Japanese designer. Nowhere else can we find such a luxury in Laos.

Room Tip: Suites 24 and 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 for 3 nights, 4 days... Got an upgraded room with swimming pool...
Beautiful awesome spacious room with Bose system to play my awesome beats...
Gym was great to see (after coming from Amansara which did not have a gym) and there were plenty of equipments to choose from (both cardio and free weights and machines)... spa was delightful... Ron the Spa Manager was great, Chittima, the Resident Manager was also very nice and helpful at the boutique... Gary the General Manager was also very pleasant... Did a couple of activities including the Baci Ceremony which was cool... went to check out the Pak Ou Caves, Kuang Si Waterfalls and stopped by the Bear Sanctuary and got a one on one personal tour of one of the main caretakers of the Sanctuary. She even let me inside the Bear Playground and helped her hide food around the playground for the bears to eat (of course the bears where inside the cage during this time.. lol)... The private Amantaka boat (modified pimped out little motor boat) was fun to ride and I had my own private butler with food and wine served (you get to pick white or red)... I had a private tour guide walking around Luang Prabang visiting temples, climbed the Poussey Hill where you get to see a 360 degree view of Luang Prabang and the Mekong and Khan Rivers... It was a great experience... The restaurant in Amantaka was provided impeccable service.. The Aman family communicate with each other and each Aman resort I visited knew that I like my mini refrigerator stocked with Diet coke and Johnnie Walker is my choice of poison (alcohol)... I had a wonderful time in this resort and Luang Prabang in general and would love to come back there one day...

Room Tip: Non peak seasons, you usually get a room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSanico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My second stay at Amantaka, and once again, a wonderful experience. The property is one of a kind in Luang Prabang, with spacious and well tended lovely grounds, huge, immaculate suites, great activities, an outstanding gym and spa. This place has all the Aman hallmarks - you come home to an oasis of calm. Gary (the GM) is the most professional I have seen and his team are equally accommodating. The food has stepped up a notch since my last visit, with delicious Lao cuisine and some well executed Western dishes. I also feel this has one of the best Spas in South East Asia. I travelled with my 82 year old Mum, who I knew would love Luang Prabang. She certainly did - she had tears in her eyes as we took off in the plane bound for Bangkok. Yes, the city entranced her, but I know that Amantaka truly left it's mark on her. Everyone there treated her so very well. I certainly left a very happy man. Very special memories will stay with us a lifetime.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

A perfect place to relax. Elegant and luxerious with a quiet athmosphere. You have your own pool. Close to the center of the city where you find both the food market and the tourist market.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsbeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The property is new, I understand this and it is bound to have teething problems. But Aman, if you know you are going to have start up problems, then have an introductory rate or include some extras so guests can forgive the small issues. When a guest is paying full price - $1,000 a night - 3 times more than its closest 5 star competitor - then we expect full service.

The resort is beautiful, stunning, and the rooms are faultless. However, it was just the small things that wasn't polished, service was slow and we had to come looking for them to order drinks.

Overall the resort didn't really show the authentic laos spirit, it was a bit lost in the old hospital compound, which still feels more like a hospital and less a luxury resort.

Everything was lovely, but for the greedy bill at the end of the stay - breakfast was additional at around $60 a day - when you are paying so much per night, shouldn't the extras like laundry and breakfast be included. Breakfast was average standard, coffee was cold, croissants were manufactured etc. Has hard financial times got aman greedy?

As a lover of Aman, this property left me disappointed. Come on Aman, you can do better than this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank louisecocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Luang Prabang itself is a wonderful town, and Amantaka is a beautiful, tranquil oasis to retire to after a day of exploring.

Service is full of nice touches like cool drinks and snacks set out in the afternoon, and local musicians playing traditional music at meal times (food was excellent, too, particularly the Laos menu). Often cool drinks etc were offered without us having to ask. We were given champagne and roses for our honeymoon. Absolutely loved the decor, our suite was immaculate.

Would highly recommend any of the day trips on offer, on all three we booked they went above and beyond to make it special. This is not a cheap place to stay, but we felt it was worth it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloise_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Azerai Luang Prabang
Azerai Luang Prabang
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $904 - $2,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a large garden estate, Amantaka is housed in graceful French colonial buildings in the UNESCO protected town of Luang Prabang. Airy and elegant throughout, the décor and furnishings reflect the town's French colonial history. Situated just south of Phousi Hill, the resort is within strolling distance of the boutiques, bakeries and restaurants lining the town's main street. The fabled night market, the picturesque banks of the Mekong River and the former Royal Palace are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing