We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Change of Pace, Beautiful hotel.”
Review of Amantaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amantaka
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Wonderful Change of Pace, Beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

After saying good buy Vientaine, Luang Prabang was an excellent top off to a very pleasant place Hotel Amantaka. Sightseeing was like a diamond in the rough. Definitely built and maintained according to high Western standards, this hotel was one of nicest one in our Laos trip. If you're taking a junk cruise along Mekong river you will see it by side.
Three night in Luang Prabang was not enough to us when staying at one of the best hotels in the town. If you can afford a bit of luxury this is the only place to stay. The food was great, and the hotel amenity was modern. The swimming pool is an excellent backup. The restaurant served up some wonderful meals too. A marvelous end to a wonderful vacation with travel to Laos.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kphric50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    25
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
76
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in June for our 25th wedding anniversary - Khan Pool suite. Very peaceful, great grounds, especially as there are only 24 rooms, but very convenient for the town. Wonderful room and great service. The special Laotian dinner for our anniversary was superb. If you stay, go on the half day boat trip on the Mekong River in one of the Aman boats. They have adapted a boat that can accommodate 30+ tourists to have a sofa area, a day bed and a dining area and, in our case, just two passengers (the maximum would be 10). It is a private hire so you so not share with strangers. Tourists in other boats were taking photographs of it. Very special indeed.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5StarHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Large, beautiful/luxurious rooms, superb service, great restaurant, in excellent location. But at an extremely high price!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed in Suite 24, the Khan Suite with a private pool. It’s the same suite that was featured in the Condé Nast Traveller review. At the time of my stay, there were only 4 guests and 120 staff working. The service was impeccable, staffs are always there when you need them but never too intrusive. The library is the best area to relax while they serve you afternoon tea. The rooms are simple, spacious, yet functional. The property is located near a busy junction nearby the town and night market but once you are in the compound of Amantaka, it’s like a world of its own with light traditional music played by a group of locals. This is the only hotel in town that has an equipped fitness center with Bose sound system.

The staff really went all the way to fulfill our bizarre request, to setup a home theater system by the pool. We want to watch our favorite DVD while dipping in the pool during midnight! However, they do not serve popcorn and did not offer any alternative snacks :( . While the food in the restaurant is not top notch in Luang Prabang, their service is the best by far.

The only annoyance is that the property is right under the flight path and the property lacked the view of the mighty Mekong River. Despite some shortcomings, I think Amantaka has lived up to the Aman Experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a local rate, they might give a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tx5794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel and this is our second time at this place over the past 2 years. The manager Gary runs a tight show and and the great management style shows in how well the staff anticipate your needs and take care of them. The chef is spectacular and was able to handle our vegan diet requirements with aplomb. We stayed in suite 11 which is spacious and well decorated. We feel that this hotel is so well run that we will stay here every time we visit Luang Prabang. Gary and Fillippe and the staff, thank you all for making our trip and stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Upon arrival at the Luang Prabang airport, we were met by the wonderful driver from Amantaka and arrived at the hotel in minutes. We were met by the general manager (nice gentleman-can't recall his name) given a welcome drink and presented us with our itinerary. We felt immediately at home, and were then shown our gorgeous pool suite! Awesome. Shortly after, we participated in a Baci ceremony, which I highly recommend. We also were taken on the Mekong river tour which was unforgettable,gave rice to the passing monks in the morning, and they also arranged a trip to the waterfalls with an amazing picnic. We also had a lovely Lao massage at the spa there. The food was great, the drinks were great, the staff was great. I would love to go back. I fell in love with Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohbear48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Delivering on the essential elements of Aman philosophy, peace, tranquility and privacy coupled with unpretentious top-notch service, Amantaka delivered on every front except perhaps the location (no views) and boring minibar selection.

Staff seem to have sorted out the small issues mentioned in previous reviews and were of utmost competence. Worthy of special mention is the room service which was of consistent high standard. Also while you’re there make sure you arrange to view the exquisite platinum-palladium collection of photographs by the renowned artist and religious historian Hans Georg Berger.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramezani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amantaka

Property: Amantaka
Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a large garden estate, Amantaka is housed in graceful French colonial buildings in the UNESCO protected town of Luang Prabang. Airy and elegant throughout, the décor and furnishings reflect the town's French colonial history. Situated just south of Phousi Hill, the resort is within strolling distance of the boutiques, bakeries and restaurants lining the town's main street. The fabled night market, the picturesque banks of the Mekong River and the former Royal Palace are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing