We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nothing too special, but it works”
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sokdee Residence
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We decided to go to this place after being aproached by one of the owners in the bus station (we were coming from Vang Vieng) We had a look at the hotel and altough it was nothing special, we decided to stay there because we didn't want to spend more time searching for a better place. Also the location is perfect, close to the city centre (like 5 mins walking) but far enough to have a nice sleep. Rooms were nothing special either but they worked. The bed was HUGE! Staff was not very nice but we did not have to interact too much with them either, so no big deals.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2009

We decided to stay at Sok Dee Residence after being approached by one of the managers at the bus station arriving from Vang Vieng. Since it is a new residence many people had not heard of Sok Dee Residence and this is one way to find guests. We were very pleased with the location, comfort level and beauty of the rooms, and of course, the price. Since it is slow/rainy season, we could barter a price and were able to get our rooms for below what we expected to pay. The rooms had teak furnishings with flat screen TVs, refrigerators stocked with beverages, a/c, and bathrooms that were stylish. Most amazing was the water pressure and nice, warm water temps in the shower!!!! The best in SE Asia!!! In the morning, you request breakfast and open your french doors to the courtyard where they serve you. It is your basic eggs, bagette, fruit, coffee meal but more than met our needs. Although we did not need any additional tour services, they mentioned several to us that they would arrange--boat ride to the cave, ride to the waterfalls, tuk-tuk service. The monks walk right in front of the hotel on their daily morning alms walk. The managers at the facility spoke good English and were able to converse with us without too many problems. Also, there is high speed internet access if you bring a laptop, but the connectivity speed obviously differs from day to day. The location of the hotel is very close to internet cafes and is just a short walk to the main street/night market area. We would recommend this to anyone visiting the Luang Prabang area. It is across from the Lao Wooden House. PS--they have laundry service there and I paid around a dollar for each pound--again, very convenient and meeting the traveler's needs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rplove5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mariella740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank koli12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 붐바
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lauriane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, General Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phung D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#39 of 71 in Luang Prabang
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rama
Rama
#60 of 71 in Luang Prabang
101 reviews
0 mi away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#44 of 71 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $38 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the beautiful surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing