We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to improve”
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sokdee Residence
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots to improve”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Sokdee Residence as a premise is quite good. The rooms are decent, clean and its centrally located on a nice humble and quite street.

What so bad about it is the people managing it. Service is poor, no smiles and warmth, and it seems that as if you're at their mercy once you checked in. And its also apparent from the way they maintain the premises. Several items are in need of a good repair. In our case it was the shower door, the broken shower floor, cabinet door etc etc.

We had 5 nights in LP but only stayed 2 nights after they banged on our doors (not a polite knock mind you but a serious banging at 9am in the morning) just to confirm whether we would want to extend our stay. Naturally, that's a sign of their poor service and poorly trained staff, so we left and easily found better guesthouse elsewhere.

We paid US$50 per night ... and they don't even provide free hot water and tea/coffee making facility like most guesthouse do.

Room Tip: Balcony room facing the main road allows good view of the morning alms giving to the monks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Footsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
40
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The room was big, and it has nice wooden walls, but the bathrooms was pretty horrible and the window net was badly tapped up when we arrived and we had to re do it when we got there. The over head fan was wobbling ominously, it looked a little bit like it might fall out of the ceiling on us so we didn't use it. Our room was out outside of the main building down some shabby concrete steps which wasn't great. They let us use the computer for free which was good, but the staff didn't seem to care about anything once you had checked in. We stayed for one night then left and found lots of much better accommodation just out of town on Phomathat round which is a much nicer, less touristy area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have just returned from here, and had a very bad experience. I took a shower and as i did the wash basin fell to the floor and smashed to bits cutting my foot badly. If things had been handeled differently I wouldn't be writing this now, but my partner ran to get help and the owner came to the room and didn't even bother to ask if I was ok, just demanded money for the sink! He was very rude, we said we would leave and he demanded money for the sink and for the night that we had not even had. It was very lucky that i was in the shower when it happened. If I had been stood next to it, it would have probably cut my foot off. He should have appologised to me and given us another room but instead demanded money and said if we didn't pay he would call the police. I said that would be a good idea, and at that point he threw us out. A very bad man and a dangerous place.

Elaine.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank eelaine245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Sok Dee Residence as part of our honeymoon over Christmas 2011. The residence is only about a 5 minute walk into the main street and is a relative new place with nice wooden furniture and a great balcony.

However, due to the unfriendly service and the uncared for state of the rooms we found the residence very over priced for the $60US a night we paid for them. The staff spoke limited English and barely acknowledged us during our stay- not even a smile. The room service needed improving as there was mould growing in the bathroom. In particular, the shower curtain had spots of mould growing on it, there was mould on the edge of the shower basin, soap scum at the back of the hand basin, the toilet seat and towell rail were broken and the drain of the shower basin was blocked with old hair. The next day we asked if they would clean the bathroom, however the mould and hair remained throughout our stay.

The services they were meant to provide us were not explained to us upon arrival- when we asked for a map, their response was that we had to go to a travel agent in town where we had to pay for it. The breakfast they provided us was nice and fresh, however we felt that we were intruding for even asking for breakfast and were interrupting them.

The area was also fairly noisey - we were woken up in the middle of the night by drums playing and there was a lot of construction noise through out the day and in the mornings.

The residence has the potential to be a nice place to stay, however we felt the staff needed to put a lot more care into the quality of the service and the state of cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Brook, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

There is Sok Dee Residence and very nearby Sok Dee Guesthouse. We stayed in the guesthouse. At $15 per night we found the fully wood panelled rooms (walls, ceiling, floor) and on-suite bathroom excellent value for money. Nearby hotels had rooms at $40-$50.

The place is right on the peninsula of Luang Prabang and about 80m from the bank of the Mekong. An ideal place to be based in the town. We stayed five nights - loved the place. The manager, while at first site seeming a bit abrupt, proved to be very helpful.

Monks at local monesteries pounding on drums at 0400 did not cause a lot of loss of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This review is for Sok Dee Guesthouse not Sok Dee Residence.
The associated guesthouse was one of the best places we have stayed in. It cost 100,00KIP, which was a bargain considering how big our room was and how nice it was. Floor and walls covered in beautiful dark timber, it felt v.luxuorious. A word of caution tho, the bedrooms great, but bathroom was basic and a bit run down.
No breakfast was included but this guesthouse was about 2 min walk from the Mekong which has lots of places to eat. The best ever omlette can be found at "Big Tree Cafe", this place was literally amazing!!! Altough a short walk from most sites this guesthouse was tucked down a tiny lane which meant that it was very quiet and peaceful.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask the lady on reception for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodwinsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Read about this guesthouse on trip advisor and after looking at prices online figured it was better to arrive unannounced. This turned out well as the rooms were online at $32-45US which we negotiated down to $24US (200,000 Kip). We stayed 5 nights.

We stayed in an upper level room. The room was quite nice with timber floors, a comfy bed and good bathroom. The balcony was nice to chill out on as the afternoon rains came down.

Located just around the corner (2 min walk) from the main drag which is full of great restaurants (eat at "The Pizza" and "coconut garden"!!).

The only negative we had was the wifi is very unreliable. They have two networks, one for each building (old and new), the new one was hopeless and the old one had very week signal so it would take a laos lifetime to load. If you need reliable web....don't come to Laos hahaha!!

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokolbinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#37 of 69 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#39 of 69 in Luang Prabang
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#42 of 69 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Property: Sokdee Residence
Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the beautiful surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing