We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sok Dee Guesthouse”
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sokdee Residence
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sok Dee Guesthouse”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This review is for Sok Dee Guesthouse not Sok Dee Residence.
The associated guesthouse was one of the best places we have stayed in. It cost 100,00KIP, which was a bargain considering how big our room was and how nice it was. Floor and walls covered in beautiful dark timber, it felt v.luxuorious. A word of caution tho, the bedrooms great, but bathroom was basic and a bit run down.
No breakfast was included but this guesthouse was about 2 min walk from the Mekong which has lots of places to eat. The best ever omlette can be found at "Big Tree Cafe", this place was literally amazing!!! Altough a short walk from most sites this guesthouse was tucked down a tiny lane which meant that it was very quiet and peaceful.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask the lady on reception for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodwinsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
40
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Read about this guesthouse on trip advisor and after looking at prices online figured it was better to arrive unannounced. This turned out well as the rooms were online at $32-45US which we negotiated down to $24US (200,000 Kip). We stayed 5 nights.

We stayed in an upper level room. The room was quite nice with timber floors, a comfy bed and good bathroom. The balcony was nice to chill out on as the afternoon rains came down.

Located just around the corner (2 min walk) from the main drag which is full of great restaurants (eat at "The Pizza" and "coconut garden"!!).

The only negative we had was the wifi is very unreliable. They have two networks, one for each building (old and new), the new one was hopeless and the old one had very week signal so it would take a laos lifetime to load. If you need reliable web....don't come to Laos hahaha!!

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokolbinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Quiet place; on the main street but away from the busy tourist part. Nice view of a gorgeous little wat from the front balcony. It was great to see the procession of monks early in the morning. But if you want to sleep the whole morning then the early morning procession might be a bit of a bother.
Staff is friendly. The rooms are small a bit packed with things but comfortable. Elegant and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishansamaddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place is very quiet so if that's what you are looking for, you've found it. The owner doubled as a tour guide to the Pak Ou caves, hmong village and Kuang Si Falls. He was very knowledgeable and found a great place for lunch that only the locals knew about.

The rooms were fairly large and very clean. I had a little problem with the shower door so the floor got wet every time I used it. They advertised WIFI but it never worked. There are plenty of cheap internet cafes nearby so it wasn't any big deal. The teak floors were beautiful.

The breakfast could have been a little more filling considering the activities I engaged in but it was adequate. What more than made up for the breakfast was the delicious coffee. I bought a kilo of it but was unable to duplicate the creamy texture when I got home.

All in all, I would recommend this place to others but if you book here, do it on line. I didn't and paid an extra $7 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August 2010 whilst travelling through Loas, before moving onto Vang Vieng. Paid approx $10 for a twin room - comfortable with air conditioning. Good value and great location.

Staff not very friendly, but "a rooms a room" - there is free wifi, but be prepared to search around for it!

Recommend the evening market in Louang Prabang which was fantastic for good and food :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were very disappointed with the Sokdee Residence as the reviews we had read were good.
On arrival we noticed the bathroom was unclean, there was a brown splatter on the wall which looked like blood. On reporting this I was told that the cleaner had gone home and that this would be dealt with the following day.- which was not unreasonable. However, it never was dealt with and we stayed for a week. The shower itself had a leak which was cobbled together with a piece of insulating tape.
To say the place was dirty would be an exaggeration, more a case of 'uncared for'. For instance, there is one table between the single beds. The previous room occupants had put the twin beds together and the table removed to a corner. As there was only one reading light we had to rearrange the beds and table ourselves, in so doing it was obvious the floor was dusty and had been cleaned around. On our last day the room wasn't serviced at all.
Breakfast is basic and fine. One morning we were the second occupants at a table which had egg yolk and food left behind. This was 'wiped' with a piece of towel hanging up on the side wall.
The duvets were not in fact duvets but childrens sleeping bags in duvet covers, strange and not to be expected in a hotel.
It seems to be a family run business but they appeared distant, disinterested and, frankly, unfriendly. The only time any interest was taken was when there seemed to be an opportunity to make money. We asked how much they would charge for a private car to the Plain of Jars. They asked for $300 but we got the same deal in town for $200.
The business owns the adjacent Guest House and the impression we had was that both are being treated in the same way. It seems to us that to charge hotel prices for the Residence they should clean the place up, do some maintainance work and care for the guests in a professional manner
These shortcomings are a great shame as the location is great and the basics are there for it to be a lovely place.
There is a lot of competition for tourist trade in Luang Prabang and there is other good accommodation in the same road - so if I was you I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Owner at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 25, 2017
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The new elegant-looking hotel is on a quiet small street close to the river. The owner was friendly and helpful. Restaurants, coffee shops and the night market are all a short walk away. The temples are a bit further away, but you can rent a bicycle to get around.

The hotel has 2 stories and my room is downstairs. The room is really nice and comfy with air cond, hot shower and flat screen tv. It's also got a good and free wifi connection.

There is a great riverside restaurant not too far away, which I went to almost every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#42 of 69 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 69 in Luang Prabang
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Property: Sokdee Residence
Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the beautiful surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing