We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for elegance”
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokdee Residence
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for elegance”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Quiet place; on the main street but away from the busy tourist part. Nice view of a gorgeous little wat from the front balcony. It was great to see the procession of monks early in the morning. But if you want to sleep the whole morning then the early morning procession might be a bit of a bother.
Staff is friendly. The rooms are small a bit packed with things but comfortable. Elegant and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishansamaddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
39
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place is very quiet so if that's what you are looking for, you've found it. The owner doubled as a tour guide to the Pak Ou caves, hmong village and Kuang Si Falls. He was very knowledgeable and found a great place for lunch that only the locals knew about.

The rooms were fairly large and very clean. I had a little problem with the shower door so the floor got wet every time I used it. They advertised WIFI but it never worked. There are plenty of cheap internet cafes nearby so it wasn't any big deal. The teak floors were beautiful.

The breakfast could have been a little more filling considering the activities I engaged in but it was adequate. What more than made up for the breakfast was the delicious coffee. I bought a kilo of it but was unable to duplicate the creamy texture when I got home.

All in all, I would recommend this place to others but if you book here, do it on line. I didn't and paid an extra $7 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee Residence. Thank you also for your helpful feedback about the things you did not enjoy. Safe travels and thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August 2010 whilst travelling through Loas, before moving onto Vang Vieng. Paid approx $10 for a twin room - comfortable with air conditioning. Good value and great location.

Staff not very friendly, but "a rooms a room" - there is free wifi, but be prepared to search around for it!

Recommend the evening market in Louang Prabang which was fantastic for good and food :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We were very disappointed with the Sokdee Residence as the reviews we had read were good.
On arrival we noticed the bathroom was unclean, there was a brown splatter on the wall which looked like blood. On reporting this I was told that the cleaner had gone home and that this would be dealt with the following day.- which was not unreasonable. However, it never was dealt with and we stayed for a week. The shower itself had a leak which was cobbled together with a piece of insulating tape.
To say the place was dirty would be an exaggeration, more a case of 'uncared for'. For instance, there is one table between the single beds. The previous room occupants had put the twin beds together and the table removed to a corner. As there was only one reading light we had to rearrange the beds and table ourselves, in so doing it was obvious the floor was dusty and had been cleaned around. On our last day the room wasn't serviced at all.
Breakfast is basic and fine. One morning we were the second occupants at a table which had egg yolk and food left behind. This was 'wiped' with a piece of towel hanging up on the side wall.
The duvets were not in fact duvets but childrens sleeping bags in duvet covers, strange and not to be expected in a hotel.
It seems to be a family run business but they appeared distant, disinterested and, frankly, unfriendly. The only time any interest was taken was when there seemed to be an opportunity to make money. We asked how much they would charge for a private car to the Plain of Jars. They asked for $300 but we got the same deal in town for $200.
The business owns the adjacent Guest House and the impression we had was that both are being treated in the same way. It seems to us that to charge hotel prices for the Residence they should clean the place up, do some maintainance work and care for the guests in a professional manner
These shortcomings are a great shame as the location is great and the basics are there for it to be a lovely place.
There is a lot of competition for tourist trade in Luang Prabang and there is other good accommodation in the same road - so if I was you I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Owner at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for your helpful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The new elegant-looking hotel is on a quiet small street close to the river. The owner was friendly and helpful. Restaurants, coffee shops and the night market are all a short walk away. The temples are a bit further away, but you can rent a bicycle to get around.

The hotel has 2 stories and my room is downstairs. The room is really nice and comfy with air cond, hot shower and flat screen tv. It's also got a good and free wifi connection.

There is a great riverside restaurant not too far away, which I went to almost every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed in 3 different rooms because they'd booked groups and we'd appeared unexpected. The $50 rooms were very nice (ground floor was better than 2nd floor), but the $20 rooms in the back were very comfortable and quieter. Hot water, wireless, good breakfasts, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed in Lotus Villa for one night, the room was small and bathroom is open and no privacy. We moved down one block to Sokdee Hotel for the next 3 nights. This is a five months old new hotel, with all hardwood floor and stairs structure, big room with modern bathroom and balcony. The price includes breakfast and free wifi internet; they even have 24 hours front desk services. The Manager Mr Yen is a native Laos, who spoke perfect English and was very helpful with our trip need. The massage place and restaurant are next door and the hotel arranged for us; it is very cheap and tasty. The hotel is very close to all the sites. We are so happy that we found this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimbubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Residence, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sokdee. Thank you for your review and please know that you are welcome here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#43 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Property: Sokdee Residence
Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the beautiful surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing