We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, questionable bathrooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
Ranked #189 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location, questionable bathrooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the x3 capsule dorm area of the guesthouse. The price is good for the money conscious backpacker, as long as you don't mind 1 toilet and 1 very small waste basket for 8 people. The shower areas didn't have a hook for the hose, so the nozzle head just lays on the floor. Also, the staff aren't overly friendly or helpful.

However, the beds are big and comfortable for bunk beds, and each bunk has it's own outlet, making it easy to charge your electronics. The guesthouse is in a good location, close to the baguette stalls, night market, Phu Si and the Mekong. There is also a nice cafe (Joma), post office and mini mart just up the street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
4
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

From the first moment I loved this guesthouse. The street looks very nice, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the dorms are very good and cozy. Beds are pretty big, airco + 3 fans on the room. Good place to meet people.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stay in the Xayana guesthouses (both X3 and the Xayana) everytime I'm based in Luang Prabang, and it's always a good experience. The beds are clean and comfortable. Outside each of the guesthouses, there's enough space to hangout and meet the other guests. Good value for money, and great place to meet people from around the world.

The staff are also friendly and helpful. Great way to meet locals and get more familiar with the ins and outs of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aildrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a double room for USD 12 a night. Pay at the counter if you can (it's USD 18 a night if you book through Agoda). The room was clean and tidy with hot showers and free wifi. 3 min walk from the night market. 2 min from the Mekong. It's true there's usually no one at the reception but you can go at the guesthouse across the street, which is a premium guesthouse run by the same staff. Probably the best value on Hoxieng street.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aymeric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

There is no staff during night time, no phone numbers where to contact in urgent cases, wifi turned off, their regular phone number not answering. Also there is no female dorms.

Now this is a problem when your 6 male room mates return to the dorm room one by one in the night, between 2-3 am, some of them accompanied with ladies. They start a party in the room and soon there are three couples (six people) having sex in the dorm room!! A disgusting experience!

I had no other option than grab my belongings and go to look for an other place to stay in the middle of the night.

Also the hostel rooms are not in so good shape, the bathrooms are molded and smelly.

I give two stars, because next day I got a refund, after some arguments with the staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FemmeFalafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend spent a night in a dormitory at this guesthouse. When we asked for the key for the dormitory we were told that as there were eight guests in that room, it wasn't possible to have keys. We went to bed at 11pm that night. At 5:30am I woke with a start to find a man hovering over me in my bed. He seemed to be reaching over me to what I later realised must have been my i-phone next to my pillow. When I screamed he ran off. I discussed the incident with the Manager the next morning. He listened well and apologised and offered us a secure room for the same price as the dorm. However, when I asked him to notify the police, he wasn't prepared to do so. He explained that there should have been front of house security keeping an eye on who was entering the guesthouse but that this clearly hadn't happened. I went myself to the police and had the incident recorded. I have a description of the intruder. I felt that the police man was not taking much notice. My advice would be to be careful if choosing to stay in this guesthouse, particularly in a dorm room. The Manager mentioned increasing security but I can't confirm whether this happened as we left right away.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank edwina2000w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked online for 3 nights with a deposit already paid. When we arrived they tried to make us pay more including the deposit. It took a VERY long time explaining to them. Once it was settled they treated us very badly for the duration of our stay. However, we decided to stay a couple more nights to save on moving our luggage while we had day trips booked. We booked two extra nights and paid in dollars. Everything was settled, no problems. Then 30 mins later they approach us with our dollars and said that we underpaid by 12p. Yes TWELVE PENCE. We gave them 12p but they refused it. We only had large amounts of Kip notes which they wouldn't accept either because they didn't have change. We explained to them that it wasn't our mistake it was there's and we had already been given a receipt with a RED STAP staying PAID. They refused to reason with us so we were forced to leave. All they did during this mistake of there's was chuckle and laugh. It was extremely rude and very inconvenient as we had a trek booked the next day picking us up from that hostel. I would NOT recommend staying here. We then discovered that on the same road there was a much nicer hostel which was HALF the price. I don't recommend coming here. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irritatedCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
#16 of 135 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#69 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
Nocknoy Lanexang Guesthouse
#78 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#23 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse

Property: MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
Address: Ban Hua Xieng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xayana Guesthouse is a Lao‐style Villa built on a UNESCO protected site, and in accordance with strict guidelines of an authentic heritage‐preserved building. Conveniently located just 3 minutes from the Mekong River, the night food bazaar, the Luang Prabang Night market, and the main road, Xayana Guesthouse is the best value guesthouse for all your travel needs in Luang Prabang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xayana Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing