We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay.”
Review of Thatsaphone Villa

Thatsaphone Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thatsaphone Villa
Ranked #110 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay.”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Thatsaphone Villa was clean and quiet (there is some construction next door, but it's not intrusive). The staff did their job and the breakfast was good. Luang Prabang is beautiful, if sedate to the point of anesthesia. Thatsaphone Villa doesn't disturb this numbing tranquility.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jartrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were surprised at the cost of staying in Luang Prabang, but found Thatsaphone a good option. It is basic, shower rooms small, but it is clean, comfortable and a good location in town. Staff were pleasant, don't speak much English, but one is an Arsenal supporter, so that is ok. There is a building site next door, but they didn't start work too early. We stayed a couple of nights and then came back for a night after our trip to Northern Laos.

Room Tip: If there is still a building site next door, get a room downstairs on the side away from the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were looking to spend between $30-40/night on a room in Luang Prabang, and I'm so glad we chose Thatsaphone. We paid $30/night in March 2011, and were completely satisfied. However, it should be said that if you're expecting super luxurious, 5-star service and details, you'd be disappointed. If you're an easy-going traveler who wants a place with a little character, a friendly welcome and some nice comforts, this place is ideal. As much as I enjoyed the air con, comfy beds with nice linens and friendly staff, the real knockout aspect for me was the location - down a tiny, quiet lane shaded with greenery and bougainvillea and other flowers. At one end of the lane is Th. Sisavangvong, the main drag in this part of town, and at the other is a wat with the most beautiful gardens in LPB. The leisurely stroll down from the wat to the hotel was a blissful part of each day.

Room Tip: See if you can arrange a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingmarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked for three nights but left after the first night. We paid $40 for a small upstairs bedroom. It was cleanish but very tatty. The bed was good. The main problem was the bathroom and plumbing. This hotel had the smallest en-suite i've ever seen. It was dingy and had many un-cleanable surfaces. The sit-out area needed a clean but it made little differance as it faced a noisy building site. Breakfast was OK and staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were a walk-in booking in the wet season, and the rates were very reasonable - $15 for the room - nice, comfy, mosquito nets, air-con. Perfect location in the middle of everything, but very quiet at night. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms upstairs that opens onto the nice verandah. I think they pricing is all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I think we paid $40 per night for this guesthouse. You get a lot less for your money in Louang Prabang than elsewhere in Asia, so I can't complain too much. Rooms just felt a bit crummy. We had a room on the ground floor and we were very disappointed with it. The staff were friendly, although keys to the rooms are kept in the reception on a wall that anyone can pass by so we did not feel completely safe here

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The guesthouse, an attractive traditional building, is in a perfect location in a quiet leafy lane off the main street of the old town. A good night's sleep is guaranteed. Some bedrooms are very small indeed, and the bathrooms are badly finished with homemade plumbing. There are other signs of inattention to detail: some lights dont work properly, and shutters dont close well. But, unless you are very picky, it is quite easy to forget these lapses and enjoy this guesthouse for its truly restful character.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Joy Guesthouse
Joy Guesthouse
#103 of 264 in Luang Prabang
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#59 of 264 in Luang Prabang
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#50 of 264 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatsaphone Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatsaphone Villa

Property: Thatsaphone Villa
Address: Ban Choumkong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatsaphone Villa is a fresh, new guest house in Luang Prapang, one of the prettiest and relaxing cities in South East Asia. Opened in 2008, we welcome guests from around the world with a traditional Laos smile and hospitality. Your pleasure is also our pleasure. We know that you will have an enjoyable stay at our well-furnished guest house. Thatsaphone Villa is owned and managed by a young Lao team and is perfectly situated in the city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thatsaphone Villa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing