We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-Star Amenities, but 5-Star Homely Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Well-located guesthouse - close to the morning and evening markets, and 5 mins walk to the downtown area. Rooms were a good size. They were clean and well-maintained (towels changed every other day unless otherwise requested). Breakfast was generous and we liked the combination of hot (your choice of eggs) and cold (muesli, cereal and home-made jams). The courtyard was a great place to meet other travelers. The onwer arranged for airport transfers and we were picked up at the airport without incident.

Some points of note for improvement: toilets sometimes had a funky smell (probably due to old plumbing problems rather than maintenance issues). Wifi was not available for the 3 out of 4 days we were there. The PC in the house available for Internet access was riddled with plugins and probably spyware. None of us dared to log in with the computer. That was perhaps our biggest bug bear since we were taking an extended weekend off work, and all were counting on Internet access to stay in touch with the office.

Additionally, despite making reservations 3 weeks prior and confirming again 3 days before, our reservations were messed up. The owner's children, while beautiful and adorable, were apt play loudly in the house and courtyard. At 7.30AM. Not a particularly good way to wake up, given the thin walls and our tendency to binge on the cheap Laotian spirits the night before.

The owners of the guesthouse seemed more friendly on email than in person. Nonetheless, a relative of the owner gave us some good recommendations for food places and helped arrange sightseeing trips.

Despite some of the minor shortcomings, will recommend friends in the future since it was still very value-for-money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 505 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the Manichan Guesthouse for 3 nights based on reviews on trip advisor. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The room had ac, was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean. The breakfast included an omelette, juice and coffee, nothing terribly exciting but adequate. We asked for some laundry to be done and when we received these back the clothes were still extremely damp which was very disappointing. The service was ok however for a guesthouse we did not feel very welcome overall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmacaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had an upstairs air-con room with insect screens and shutters on the windows. The room was spacious, the bed large and comfortable with beautifully laundered bed linen. Peter and his wife were very friendly and helpful and the house well maintained and very clean.

The breakfasts were superb and the highlight of our day. Talking with other travellers at the large breakfast table was great, There were smaller tables also if you wanted privacy. We loved the location within a block of the river, wats and the local food market.

It is a value for money guesthouse and I would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hittingtheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We found Guesthouse Manichan by chance and were so pleased to stay there. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the garden terrace is lovely, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is great and the rates are affordable. Above all, the hosts, Peter and Linda, are the most wonderful and extraordinary people, with a warm heart. Despite having to deal with an unexpected funeral, they were still smiling, graceful, helpful and positive. I will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChamaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had two rooms here and really enjoyed our stay. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the a/c worked really well, which was important to us. One of our daughters had traveler's tummy and Peter gave us some good meds for her. The courtyard was great for meeting other guests and the breakfast was fantastic (one of the best of our trip). We loved Luang Prabang, largely because our stay at Manichan was so nice. Thanks, Peter!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangesInAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Lovely rooms; feels like a boutique hotel, but for $12/night. Comfortable beds and powerful air-conditioning. Make sure you eat their breakfast; it's easily the best we've had in Asia!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Manichan Guesthouse has a great location, just steps away from the market and to the action in Luang Prabang; nevertheless, it is quiet, and the a/c works like a charm. The guest house had a nice mix of overnight backpacker types and multi-day family visitors which allowed us to get to know some of them and the family as well. They do a good job will local foods for breakfast and the room was cleaned well daily too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry-tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 268 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 268 in Luang Prabang
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $15 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing