We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Over-rated.”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the Manichan Guesthouse for 3 nights based on reviews on trip advisor. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The room had ac, was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean. The breakfast included an omelette, juice and coffee, nothing terribly exciting but adequate. We asked for some laundry to be done and when we received these back the clothes were still extremely damp which was very disappointing. The service was ok however for a guesthouse we did not feel very welcome overall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmacaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    102
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
56
190
141
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had an upstairs air-con room with insect screens and shutters on the windows. The room was spacious, the bed large and comfortable with beautifully laundered bed linen. Peter and his wife were very friendly and helpful and the house well maintained and very clean.

The breakfasts were superb and the highlight of our day. Talking with other travellers at the large breakfast table was great, There were smaller tables also if you wanted privacy. We loved the location within a block of the river, wats and the local food market.

It is a value for money guesthouse and I would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hittingtheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We found Guesthouse Manichan by chance and were so pleased to stay there. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the garden terrace is lovely, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is great and the rates are affordable. Above all, the hosts, Peter and Linda, are the most wonderful and extraordinary people, with a warm heart. Despite having to deal with an unexpected funeral, they were still smiling, graceful, helpful and positive. I will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChamaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had two rooms here and really enjoyed our stay. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the a/c worked really well, which was important to us. One of our daughters had traveler's tummy and Peter gave us some good meds for her. The courtyard was great for meeting other guests and the breakfast was fantastic (one of the best of our trip). We loved Luang Prabang, largely because our stay at Manichan was so nice. Thanks, Peter!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangesInAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Lovely rooms; feels like a boutique hotel, but for $12/night. Comfortable beds and powerful air-conditioning. Make sure you eat their breakfast; it's easily the best we've had in Asia!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubail
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Manichan Guesthouse has a great location, just steps away from the market and to the action in Luang Prabang; nevertheless, it is quiet, and the a/c works like a charm. The guest house had a nice mix of overnight backpacker types and multi-day family visitors which allowed us to get to know some of them and the family as well. They do a good job will local foods for breakfast and the room was cleaned well daily too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry-tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

It's located on walking distance of the hotspots in Luang Prabang. The rooms are clean and nice to sleep in. It has a European standard! Peter is always around to help you plan your trip or awnsering questions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#32 of 69 in Luang Prabang
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 261 in Luang Prabang
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Property: Manichan Guesthouse
Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing