We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manichan Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$82
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
381
103
28
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
103
28
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroommorning marketother guestshomemade jamsgreat hostscommunal tableexchange storiesyogurtshare experiencesguest housea great place to meetfree teacrepesfelt like homefood marketthe location is perfectmeet other travellers
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 533 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Really nice place to stay; rooms are clean and nicely decorated, bed is comfortable and the owner, Peter, is a friendly and helpful host. The freshly prepared breakfast in the courtyard with other guests is a fun way to start the day. Location is very convienient; Royal Palace and night market just around the corner, as is a local market.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frangipanime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

On arrival in LP we quickly became a little disappointed with the accommodation. After a noisy first night in town we discovered Manichan Guesthouse and luckily for us they had a vacancy.

The rooms were immaculate, beds soft and importantly very clean and fresh bathroom.

Peter prepared breakfast for us each morning which gave us a wonderful start to the day and the free tea and coffee was always on offer.

We would certainly stay at Manichan again.

We have some pics, maps and stories of our trip to Laos and Manichan Guesthouse here... www.bobandjanette.com that may also help.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobnJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Oh - how I miss Manichan Guesthouse! I stayed there for six nights in December 2009, with a two night break in between to Nong Khiaw. You know it must be great, when I was so excited to return after my trip to Nong Khiaw. The sublime breakfast is served in the courtyard, and this fosters a lovely community spirit between the guests (definitely opt for the additional $3 breakfast!). I'm travelling alone, and Peter and Manichan invited me to join their family for Christmas dinner (an amazing Vietnamese hot pot feast).

Be sure to make reservations in advance because they are typically full and turn away dozens of walk-ins on a daily basis.

I know Peter doesn't read these reviews, but if he does please give your kids, Diana and David, a big hug!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneXuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We have just stayed 1 night on 25 Dec 09 at this cosy guesthouse (wanted to stay longer but the guesthouse was full). This is a cosy guesthouse as it has a courtyard outside the rooms for guests to interact with each other and also with the owners (with 2 cute kids).

The double room with attached shower costs US$20 per night and you will need to pay US$3 for American breakfast (if you wish) and add US$5 if you need aircon (which was not needed in Dec since the temperature was cool). The guesthouse provides free tea and cofee. The room we stayed was on the ground floor and was a bit noisy in the morning when the locals and guests woke up (but this is the same issue when you stay in other guesthouses near the city center) since the windows was left open to allow cool air to come into the room).

Although it is not located right in the center of the city (near the palace museum and phu si hill), it is just a short 5 min walk away. So location is not an issue at all. You will be expected to pay much more when you stay nearer to the center.

In short, with US$20 for a double room per night, it is excellent in value.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank email2bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Peter & Linda, a Belgian-Lao couple have built a beautiful guesthouse in the heart of Luang Prabang's Old Town, just steps from the colorful morning market and 3 short blocks from the Royal Palace Museum. Each room is tastefully appointed in pleasing peach & terracotta colors, with artwork by local artisans. Rooms are immaculately clean, with stylish, modern bathroom fixtures and plenty of hot water. I took a room with private bath for one week, and ended up staying for two.

Peter & Linda are warm hosts who treat you like a friend. They are always at hand to answer questions, get you oriented, and offer suggestions on things to do and see. It's those personal touches that create an unforgettable experience.

While guests can opt out of breakfast and eat elsewhere, I highly recommend adding this to your stay. Peter, a former chef, makes delicious omelets, 3 varieties of in-season homemade jams, homemade yoghurt, and always provides warm baguettes fresh from the local bakery. Coffee, teas, and bottled water is included and available all day long.

Manichan is one of those rare places that provides a bit of luxury at a budget price. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ultrapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews