We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lao Hospitality at its Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This review is quiet late but I have to write it to share our wonderful experience at Guesthouse Manichan. We booked two rooms directly on their website and and Peter, the owner, confirmed our booking by e-mail. He gave us valuable information about Luang Prabang even before our arrival in Luang Prabang. The property is located near the National Mueum and the Mekong River. The rooms are new and clean, they have A/C and fan rooms. We stayed at Rooms ! & 2 which are both comfortable and well designed. Although they didn't serve buffet breakfast the serving came in big portions so it is adequate and filling. I like the cereals and the youghurt. Eggs are cooked according to your preference (sunny side up, scrambled, or omelette). Peter and wife, Manichan, treated guests like family members - you can feel their sincerity and the warmth of their friendship. The couples are willing to go out of their way to assist and please their guests. They arranged a half day elephant tour for us, and also our transportation to Vang Vieng. Peter even went to the market to buy me some cereals since I didn't have time to do it myself. With the price we paid for the rooms and the exellent customer service we got we really enjoyed our time in Luang Prabang and Guesthouse Manichan is definitely a big factor for this.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor are near the dining area and garden, Wi-Fi is strong compared to rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 526 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

The best part about Manichan Guesthouse is the hospitality. Peter was very friendly and helpful, always up for chatting or offering recommendations for our time in Luang Prabang and Laos in general. The courtyard makes for a very communal atmosphere, so we enjoyed eating breakfast with other guests and meeting travelers from around the world. Breakfast was tasty - fresh croissants, yogurt, granola, fruit, eggs. The location is convenient and on a quiet street. We were half a block from the riverfront and close to the night market, but removed enough to have some peace. The room was comfortable - nothing extraordinary, but definitely comfortable. But what really made the stay was how much we felt at home. Also, Jack the puppy was endlessly adorable.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level near the courtyard, so we got some noise in the morning when others were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast which was served on a large table outside - a great space to meet other guests and chat! Peter helped us organise fantastic trips to the elephant village, Xiang Si and Tad Sae waterfalls. The location is great, with just a short walk to the main street. We got up early one morning (5.30am) to find a bustling early morning market just up the road! Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

For positives, the place is very clean, food is great and almost all the staff was very friendly and helpful. One negative is the male owner was rude to me since I first arrived.

My flight arrived early and I waited a bit but their driver who was supposed to pick me up wasn’t there and I didn’t know how long it was going to be. So I took anther taxi with a couple to get to the guesthouse and when I arrived he was disappointed and said, “You should have waited, now I have to pay the driver”, not knowing how long it may take and I was alone at the airport in a country I’ve never been in before.

Then I felt I was just inconveniencing him by asking basic questions like where the bathroom was. He was only half polite to me when he was trying to sell me one of the tours.

But all of the other staff are wonderful and it was overall a comfortable place. But I ended up changing guesthouses because I didn’t need the attitude.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

As senior citizens with mid-range budget, my wife & I recently visited Luang Prabang, Laos and stayed at Guesthouse Manichan. The accommodation was just what we were looking for. Very conveniently situated near to the Mekong river and the Main Street, visiting any part of the city was pretty easy. Friendly and courteous staff of the Guest House, clean and comfortable rooms with pleasant environs made our stay deeply satisfying. The owner , Peter and his wife, Manichan were like our extended family members - they were such gracious hosts ! We would strongly recommend travellers like us to stay at Manichan and enjoy sights of Tourist interest in and around the city

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhijit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Luang Prabang and this guesthouse was very much a part of this great experience.

We stayed for 3 nights. Made a reservation through email and got response from Peter quite quickly. The location is great. Right in the center of the old town, you can do pretty much anything on foot. We had a bit of trouble finding it though, since it's tucked away in a quiet little street, but if you prepare a little you shouldn't have that much trouble.

The service is very good as well. Peter and Manichan are very friendly and helpful as well as the ladies who work in the kitchen and keep the place clean. On checkin you will receive a map and some tips on things to in and around the town.

The rooms have everything you need (a nice bed and an AC/fan) and are clean. We had a room with a communal bathroom, which is good and clean, though the water pressure is a bit low.

The breakfast is also very good, with a lot of options. The breakfast area is basically a big table where everyone sits, which is great because you will meet your fellow guests and share stories and tips. Also a great place to meet people to share taxi's and boats with to the attractions that are a little far from town.

Also the free tea, coffee and water is a nice little perk.

Enjoyed our stay here massively and would definately stay here again should we return to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

For a guesthouse, manichan's is one of the friendliest places I have stayed. It really is like visiting family. I love the family breakfast table under the thatched awning and the great conversations and helpful hints. Manichan herself was always there to help and make suggestions about things to do, even walking us down to the river for lunch and ensuring the staff knew what we wanted. The food is fresh and tasty. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The bathroom is basic, but the water is hot and sufficient towels are provided. We had an absolutely delightful stay and would return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Twomarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 272 in Luang Prabang
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 272 in Luang Prabang
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#11 of 272 in Luang Prabang
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 272 in Luang Prabang
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 272 in Luang Prabang
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $31 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing