We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked for three nights, stayed for seven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manichan Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“booked for three nights, stayed for seven”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As soon as I made it up the bank from the boat landing in town and started wandering around trying to get my bearings, I knew Luang Prabang was a place I'd need to spend more than just the three nights I'd booked for. And walking into Manichan's solidified that feeling.

Peter has everything organized so that it takes two minutes to get checked in, there's a map on your bed letting you know where, and when I asked about staying another night, he was able to accommodate me. Then i met some wonderful people at the table in the courtyard, and we started to make travel plans, and one thing lead to another and me staying two more nights in a different room, being invited to join Peter, the kids, and two other women who had volunteered at the school there, to join them to a trip out to Kuang Si falls.

The breakfast looked awesome although I was a late riser just about every day, and didn't partake in it. But i was treated to Manichan's fabulous cooking for dinner, and it was just excellent.

When I arrived at Manichan, I was trying to figure some things out about nearing the end of my year-long round the world adventure, and was looking for a place to stay put for a while and consider my options. Manichan's welcoming atmosphere and great guests along with the family's hospitality, and little Jack [cutest little puppy ever] just added to the overall charm of Luang Prabang. The map that awaits you on your bed lists a bunch of activities that you can either rush through, or tackle a day at a time. There are "regulars" who stay there for several days/weeks at a time on work or volunteer trips, so you get a bit more insight into the things around town. The breakfast table is a great place to meet people and exchange stories over wonderful food.

The staff is simply wonderful, friendly, and make the effort to try to understand what you need, if you can't find Peter or Manichan. The kids are friendly and watch out for them in a game of uno or they might kick your butt. I'm not a dog person, but little Jack totally won me over with his antics and by the end of the seven nights there we were friends. He's still being trained, but he's such a cute bundle of fur and playing with him was great fun.

In the past year, I've stayed at many places, and very few of them have made me feel so at home. Manichan made it very difficult to move on from Luang Prabang.

Other than the great overall experience, a few particulars about the guest house:
Stayed in Room 4 which is a double off the courtyard, with it's own bathroom. Was concerned about noise, but didn't even hear the guests from the breakfast table. Moved to a room upstairs when I overstayed - i think it was room 9 - with the shared bath. It's a corner room and the balcony is just in front of it. loved the breeze from the windows, and there aren't too many people sharing the bathroom to make it an issue. Beds are comfortable. Wifi is pretty decent. It's nice to have the computer terminal for guests to work off as well. Lots of advice offered for things to do, and also tours available on how to do them. You can choose to use the A/C or not and you're not charged if you don't use it. I like the "honor system" bar wherever they have it - shows that the owner trusts the guests, and it's just a nice gesture.

I thought the location was perfect. Walking distance to the night market, and really to most of town - the end of the peninsula is a leisurely 20 minutes. I walked all over town, and it's close enough to come back for a siesta before going out for dinner or drinks. Just off the Mekong street. Close to the morning market. And you can roll out of bed and down the slope to the Mekong to watch the neighbors and the monks participate in the tak bat, and away from the tourists that flood the main street.

Room Tip: Room 9 upstairs corner has two sets of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    102
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
56
190
141
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros: 3 min walking to the night market, one minute to the water, clean rooms, awesome breakfast - fresh fruit, yoghurt , granola, eggs, crepes and coffee, computer with internet for free use, nice outdoor area to sit and fully stocked "honest fridge" (take drinks and write down what you took and pay at the end)
Cons: a bit expensive for its value, rooms were a bit small

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Manichan Guesthouse was a welcome relief after shuttling between inns, overnight trains and the chaotic Hanoi. My travelling partner chose the place based on the list of the 2013 Travellers' Choice Award. Stayed at the ground floor twin room with attached bathroom for two nights. The room was clean, complete with basic amenities, save that the bathroom floor was a bit sticky and the water pressure a bit low as a guest has pointed out. Well, not a major problem altogether--the cozy setting of the place made the guests instantly feel at home. I wish I had more time to laze around and read a book on the swing at the courtyard.
Worth a mention was the really wonderful breakfast spread, had the most delicious toast and homemade yoghurt. Read a lot about the amazing omelette they served and I must say that it didn't disappoint. The guesthhouse also provides excellent laundry service, the clean laundry is usually returned to the guest on the same day folded nicely in a basket.
The guesthouse has a curfew hour at 10pm but guests are allowed to use the common area after the curfew hours. Peter is accommodating and funny. When I asked to borrow a hairdryer, he answered, "We don't use a hairdryer here, go out cycling and feel the wind in your hair". Point taken, inconvenient grooming habits prevent one from really enjoying the nature during a holiday! But he was extremely helpful and went out all the way in his silk pajamas and a torchlight to help me locate my missing laundry on the last night of my stay. Turned out that the pair of shorts I was looking for was still wet and hanging behind the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soonchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We (couple in early 30s) stayed at Manichan for 8 (!) days. We can safely say this was our favourite accomodation in our entire trip in SEA. There are multiple reasons for this.

First of all, the location is excellent. Close to the morning market, night market, museum and many other sights. Some previous guests commented about noise coming from the morning market, roosters, other guests chatting in the garden, etc, but this didn't bother us, even though we stayed in room 2 next to the breakfast table.

Secondly, Peter, Manichan and their kids are lovely, as are the staff. We spent the most time with Peter. He is a funny, helpful and just an all-round lovely guy.

But what sets Manichan apart from other guesthouses is that everyone there creates a family atmosphere, and as a result, it attracts great guests. We met so many great people at the communal table in the garden! And we really felt we became part of a family during our stay here. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LotteBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manichanguesthouse, Manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Lotte, your review almost made me cry... you were also one of those memorable guests. Thanks, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Manichan Guesthouse is a perfect sized guesthouse, in a great location for both getting sleep at night and exploring by day. The rooms are modest and clean, and have everything you need, and the central outdoor communal area has nice big tables to retire at, write journals or skype family, and free tea/coffee/water, which was a nice surprise. The morning breakfasts are yummy, and are a good way to meet people, particularly if you're a solo traveller, and Peter (as a qualified chef) also provides excellent tips for eating around Luang Prabang (Delilah's was our favourite). Peter is a lovely, quiet, reserved guy who just lets you have your holiday in peace, not trying to get involved in your life or upsell you any tours or anything, but he also knows a lot about the area and is really resourceful should you ask a question. We also found a common passion in Jazz music and spent hours chatting about it and sharing music so I really enjoyed meeting him! Primarily I'd recommend this guesthouse to those travelling as a group, or couple, who want a relaxed base to stay a few days among a range of ages. This isn't a party hostel by any means!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are set around the communal area, which if its busy and noisy you might not be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelleMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odawara-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room is very clean but water pressure in bathroom is little bit low.
The owner and his wife are helpful and their children are so cute! Check the information paper written by owner,it's very useful,more useful than my guiedbook!
And location is perfect. It's easy to walk to everywhere.Night market is just 2 minuites walk. It's safe if you are solo female traveller like me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmn0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

All that i can say is that everything is perfect. Was there for 4 nights in a single room with fan and shared bathroom next to the balcony. Bed is comfy, bathroom is clean, wifi is working very well. Breakfast in option is amazing and the best i had from my travellings in Asia so far. Coffee, tea and water available for free. Patio where we take breakfast is cosy and nice to chill out during the day. Location is ideal to go anywhere, Peternext to the main street and nigjt market. Peter, the owner, lives here with his family and is helpful for every request. I loved my stay here, felt like home. I wish i could have stayed longer and definitely recommend this GH to anyone coming to Luang Pabang.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneburgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 260 in Luang Prabang
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 260 in Luang Prabang
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manichan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Property: Manichan Guesthouse
Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing