We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Easy place to start.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value and Easy place to start.”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Spent 2 nights in the F Block which was quiet and the rooms were huge there. The Asian selection for breakfast was of good standard and the western style scrambled eggs were just right. I think it is from the same kitchen as the BLVD restaurant in the same compound. The hotel location is good to start exploring Luang Prabang, which is right behind JOMA cafe and around the corner from the post office, near the cross junction of the tourist office and the Hmong market. However I question the need to board up the windows in the bathroom and bedroom, a Bright room is better than dark. The staff were friendly and helpful in pointing out the sights of LP. They also have internet PCs and dongles for the laptops in the lobby which will shut by midnight. The front desk also has a fridge stocked with coke and Beer Lao. Just in case. Overall, a good place to start exploring Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    136
    71
    22
    11
See reviews for
26
49
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bermagui, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is very centrally located and close to the river, markets and restaurants. The rooms were dark and very small. The bathroom was small, cramped and not very clean, and the towels were very thin/threadbare. The included breakfast had a very limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. To be positive the day spa massage was one of the best we had in our month long trip in Indochina. We moved to another hotel after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Adirondack Tri-Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

The pluses are that this hotel is very centrally located and had free wifi in the lobby and 2 computers for general use. On first blush, it looks great, but it has problems. Due to a leak in the room above which couldn't be readily fixed, we stayed in two different rooms during our 3 nights here. There were plumbing issues in both (leaks and only intermittent hot water), the safes didn't work in either, and both had a moldy odor probably due to water damage which was evident around the windows. Others in a group reported the same problems. Apparently there was only a limited number of towels since we had to wait until late afternoon for them to be replaced. The included breakfast was the worst served in the nine hotels we stayed at during our tour - limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. You can do better!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LCLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Luang Prabang is a lovely town and this hotel was a great place to chill for a few days. We paid 360000 kip/night (around 28 pounds/night) for a massive room, with a huge comfy bed, a bathtub and several showers! The room was gorgeously decorated, with a kettle and coffee-making facilities, a fridge, air-con and a fan and was really clean. We stayed in a room in block F towards the back of the hotel which was very quiet and peaceful. This place comes thoroughly recomended - in the UK you would pay 128 pounds/night!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpirit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

What is going for this hotel is the location, clean rooms and free wifi. For the price, I would recommend to look elsewhere. I stayed at another accommodation which was $6 more and they provided free bikes, location along the river and a much better selection of food for breakfast. After the first breakfast here, it is worth walking somewhere else for a good grub.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The new Daraphet Villa is a typical wooden style hotel that you see a lot of in Lunag Prabang. It is clean and comfortable but don't get too excited about the breakfasts. They were adequate but nothing special. However the hotel is very well situated and close to the night market and main temples. Also make sure you get up early (be out by 6.00am) to see the monks collect food and alms in their begging bowls. Bananas and sticky rice can be bought just at the end of the street

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We unfortunately booked five nights in advance via Agoda at this hotel and couldn't cancel.

We booked once of the standard rooms. It was filthy, cobwebs everywhere, bugs in the beg and had dirty sheets. Also the lampshade was cellotaped to the frame and hanging off. When we pointed this out to the staff they just shrugged their shoulders and acted like we were the problem.

There is no space in the room except for the bed, no closet and the shower is right beside the toilet. The rooms make Japanese hotel rooms look massive.

It's a shame really because outside it's beautiful and it could be nice if they had bigger cleaner rooms.

This place is more like a $10 hostel. It's so overpriced even by Western standards.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#27 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel

Property: MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Hua Xieng, Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos (Formerly New Daraphet Villa)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official UNESCO protected site and built in authentic traditional Lao style, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel is located right in the middle of the city. Featuring one of the best rooms in the area, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel adds a twist to boutique hotels with its spread of fauna, as well as a generously spaced balcony terrace. Be awed with the view of the Mekong River nearby as we pamper you with our Lao Hospitality and a selection of fine foods at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Daraphet Villa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing