We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day spa - little else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is very centrally located and close to the river, markets and restaurants. The rooms were dark and very small. The bathroom was small, cramped and not very clean, and the towels were very thin/threadbare. The included breakfast had a very limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. To be positive the day spa massage was one of the best we had in our month long trip in Indochina. We moved to another hotel after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

The pluses are that this hotel is very centrally located and had free wifi in the lobby and 2 computers for general use. On first blush, it looks great, but it has problems. Due to a leak in the room above which couldn't be readily fixed, we stayed in two different rooms during our 3 nights here. There were plumbing issues in both (leaks and only intermittent hot water), the safes didn't work in either, and both had a moldy odor probably due to water damage which was evident around the windows. Others in a group reported the same problems. Apparently there was only a limited number of towels since we had to wait until late afternoon for them to be replaced. The included breakfast was the worst served in the nine hotels we stayed at during our tour - limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. You can do better!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
Thank LCLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Luang Prabang is a lovely town and this hotel was a great place to chill for a few days. We paid 360000 kip/night (around 28 pounds/night) for a massive room, with a huge comfy bed, a bathtub and several showers! The room was gorgeously decorated, with a kettle and coffee-making facilities, a fridge, air-con and a fan and was really clean. We stayed in a room in block F towards the back of the hotel which was very quiet and peaceful. This place comes thoroughly recomended - in the UK you would pay 128 pounds/night!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeSpirit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

What is going for this hotel is the location, clean rooms and free wifi. For the price, I would recommend to look elsewhere. I stayed at another accommodation which was $6 more and they provided free bikes, location along the river and a much better selection of food for breakfast. After the first breakfast here, it is worth walking somewhere else for a good grub.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The new Daraphet Villa is a typical wooden style hotel that you see a lot of in Lunag Prabang. It is clean and comfortable but don't get too excited about the breakfasts. They were adequate but nothing special. However the hotel is very well situated and close to the night market and main temples. Also make sure you get up early (be out by 6.00am) to see the monks collect food and alms in their begging bowls. Bananas and sticky rice can be bought just at the end of the street

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We unfortunately booked five nights in advance via Agoda at this hotel and couldn't cancel.

We booked once of the standard rooms. It was filthy, cobwebs everywhere, bugs in the beg and had dirty sheets. Also the lampshade was cellotaped to the frame and hanging off. When we pointed this out to the staff they just shrugged their shoulders and acted like we were the problem.

There is no space in the room except for the bed, no closet and the shower is right beside the toilet. The rooms make Japanese hotel rooms look massive.

It's a shame really because outside it's beautiful and it could be nice if they had bigger cleaner rooms.

This place is more like a $10 hostel. It's so overpriced even by Western standards.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Absolutly great location, great price and very clean and beautiful rooms!!!!
I will stay again in this place next time!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bali03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Philaylack Villa
Philaylack Villa
#25 of 268 in Luang Prabang
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mylaohome Hotel
#93 of 155 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
MyLaoHome Xayana Guesthouse
#191 of 268 in Luang Prabang
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oudomphong Guest House
Oudomphong Guest House
#38 of 268 in Luang Prabang
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Res...
#85 of 155 in Luang Prabang
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somjith Guesthouse
Somjith Guesthouse
#62 of 155 in Luang Prabang
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Hua Xieng, Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos (Formerly New Daraphet Villa)
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $34 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official UNESCO protected site and built in authentic traditional Lao style, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel is located right in the middle of the city. Featuring one of the best rooms in the area, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel adds a twist to boutique hotels with its spread of fauna, as well as a generously spaced balcony terrace. Be awed with the view of the Mekong River nearby as we pamper you with our Lao Hospitality and a selection of fine foods at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Daraphet Villa Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing