We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant-great ribs and sausage”
Review of Pha Khao Lao

Pha Khao Lao
Ranked #46 of 238 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $2 - $6
Description: Peaceful, with great views of the oldest temple in Luang Prabang. You can watch the world go by in the front, or enjoy the beauty of nature in our private garden. We serve traditional Lao soup, along with our own special menu of grilled meat dishes and our fresh, organic green salads.
Restaurant details
Description: Peaceful, with great views of the oldest temple in Luang Prabang. You can watch the world go by in the front, or enjoy the beauty of nature in our private garden. We serve traditional Lao soup, along with our own special menu of grilled meat dishes and our fresh, organic green salads.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

This little restaurant is right down the street from my hostel, I stopped in here for dinner, had the rib plate which was delicious! Nice atmosphere, small and cozy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CFEIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry B, Owner at Pha Khao Lao, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Hi CFEIII,

Thanks for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us. Our ribs menu is new and proving to be quite popular so it is especially nice to hear that our guests are enjoying it!

Kind regards

Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2018

When we just arrived in Luang Prabang in the middle of April we just walked by and decided to get some lunch in the beautiful back terrace of the restaurant. We loved the fried rice and yellow curry with a fresh mango shake - the shakes were outstanding! Since our first day we came back every day and enjoyed the nice atmosphere. Besides the food and drinks, KK, Harry and her sweet daughter Emily were amazing hosts who took very good care of us :)
Whenever we will be back in Luang Prabang, we'll come back for sure!

Greetings from Anni & Victor from Germany!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry B, Owner at Pha Khao Lao, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hi Anni & Victor,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it :) we pride ourselves on making particularly flavorsome fruit shakes so it is really great to hear that you enjoyed yours, (as well as the food of course).

You guys are always welcome at Pha Khao Lao and I hope you do come back sometime.
.

Best of luck on your future adventures,

Harry & KK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing! They have music, amazing food and the staff are friendly and extremely positive. Loved the atmosphere and the price is very reasonable for the quality of food they produce. Highly recommend to any travelers/locals. Also it's a perfect starting point for the night, right next to utopia bar and many more!

Thank jesse j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry B, Owner at Pha Khao Lao, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi jessie j,

Thanks for your praise :) It was really great having you guys here and so happy that you had a great time.

Kind regards

Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

If you need a place with reliable wifi, great coffee, and wonderful service; this is the perfect place. My partner and I had a bit of work to do during our holiday, and after looking for a place that was open a bit later, we stumbled upon Pha Khao Lao. The owners were kind enough to point out the garden as a potential workspace, and they couldn't have been more correct—it was a lovely spot to work and take in the beautiful scenery. We would gladly venture back here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kvochoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry B, Owner at Pha Khao Lao, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Hi kvochoska,

Very happy you enjoyed your time with us and our garden! Really pleased that you could get some work done in peace and quiet and I wish you all the best for your trip to Vang Vieng.

Kind regards

Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

주인 부부로 추정되는 영어를 잘 말하시는 여성분과 영어권에서 온 백인 남성분이 운영하는 곳으로 의사소통이 잘되었음.
(단, 일반 직원은 영어를 거의 못함)

적당한 가격에 맛있는 음식을 먹었음.
=========
The madame uses english very fruently and husband looks from english spoken country.

My son has allergy to gluten, dairy and nuts. We have to make sure about the ingredient of food and she explained everything what we needed.

Foods are tasty with good price.

I suggests this place.

Thank DaeheeP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry B, Owner at Pha Khao Lao, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Hi Daehee P, thanks for writing your review :)

You are indeed correct that I am from the UK and my wife puts me to shame with her many languages! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and you are always welcome back again if you are ever in Luang Prabang again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pha Khao Lao also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Pha Khao Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing