We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely hotel with high valuable personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark, Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very lovely hotel with high valuable personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights with our two kids girls and we experienced a very beuatiful and stylish hotel and an extremely good peronal service from the swedish owner and his swedish GM. The service was excellent from the pick-up at the airport, the personal check-inn with introduction to Luang Prabang, glas of wine with the owner, free bicycles and help to organize transportation. Very quit and nice location with riverview and just 5 minuttes from the central street. The room was huge enough for extra bed for the girls and the bed is the best in Laos. Thank you for a very nice stay and good luck with the further development of your hotel, we will recommend your place with the personal touch and service which is so hard to find in Asia.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    110
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
104
413
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

I stayed at the Mekong Riverview for 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The rooms, while not very spacious at first look (I was staying in a small upper room), are tastefully furnished and very comfortable. Good bed, free soft drinks in the fridge and excellent breakfasts! The staff spoke good English and were very gracious. Urban the owner, and Daniel the manager are very professional and very pleasant on a personal level; they suggested and organized trips, which all went very smoothly. The map Daniel hands you when you arrive is very useful, and makes you feel right at home.
The best thing about the hotel though is the view. It is stunning! Luang Prabang is a lovely town and so wonderful to relax in.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We just loved this hotel. It is situated in a perfect location overlooking the river in the quiet end of town. The room was tastefully furnished and with complementary soft drinks and a lovely verandah where you could sit and take in the sights and sounds of Luang Prabang. The golf cart was an added bonus to take you into town when ever you wanted. The owner greeted all new guests by inviting them to join him for a glass of wine in the evening. All the staff were well trained, polite and friendly and couldn't do enough to help you. We loved it so much we hope to go back again next year and stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Mekong Riverview Hotel in early January. First of all, we LOVED Luang Prabang. It is unlike any place I have have been -- a charming, low-key town with beautiful french architecture, stunning Wats, lots of monks draped in orange walking around and 2 rivers. The Mekong Riverview Hotel was an excellent place to stay. The location is ideal - close enough to the center of town so you can walk everywhere but removed enough so that road noise is not an issue. And the hotel has fabulous views of the Mekong River. In addition to its location, the service at the hotel is flawless. The owner of the hotel, a man from Sweden, was present and went out of his way to greet his guests and invite them to have a glass of wine with him one evening. We asked him how he ended up in Luang Prabang....an interesting story too long to tell here. The rest of the staff was extremely polite and helpful. The hotel has its own golf cart (it may be the only one in town) and the staff will take you anywhere you want to go in town -- this is great if your feet are tired from a long day of walking.

The drawbacks to the hotel are few and not significant enough to put a damper on your stay. First, the toilets are in a space so tiny that if you have long legs I'm not sure that you could even close the door. We stayed in a first floor room and it was a bit dark. But we spent a lot of the time we were at the hotel on the small patio outside our room looking at the life along the Mekong so we were hardly in the room except to shower and sleep.
There is no restaurant at the hotel which again is not a big deal since there are many good restaurants throughtout the town. The hotel does serve breakfast in the front room.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying at the Riverview. While there are nice hotels with pools (in town hotel do not have pools) outside of town, being able to walk everywhere really adds to the experience -- we were able to take off to visit a shop, coffee house or just go for a walk anytime we felt like it. We also road bikes (the hotel provides them) around town which was great. Luang Prabang is best experienced on foot or bike so, in my opinion, staying at an in town hotel is the way to go. And the Riverview's location and service make it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We booked the Mekong Riverview Hotel last summer after reading the reviews posted on Tripadvisor.

Before we left, we had a medical enquiry which may have needed local attention...I contacted the hotel and Daniel responded immediately. He contacted local doctors and the hospital and got back to us with everything we needed.

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the hotel and needn't elaborate on the great breakfasts, pleasant stroll into town, free bikes, excellent service - all of which have been mentioned in other posts.

We had an 'incident'!!! with a hired motorcycle during our stay. Once again, Daniel came to our rescue - giving up an entire afternoon to sort us out!! The rest of the staff were also very helpful and considerate at that time.

We definitely recommend this hotel and thank the staff for all their kindness

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Very nice location with balcony view on a local river going into the Mekong (end of peninsula).
Lots of complimentary services: car transfer from airport, bikes to wander in the city, book full of recommendations on responsible tourism, possible activities and more, city map completed by hand with points of interests, recommended restaurants, very nice staff and manager, great breakfast...which help compensate the high price. Ask for the best room if you book enough in advance. Price is still high compared to the room comfort though.
PS: while in Luang Prabang visit Big Brother Mouse !!! (books and English classes for local children)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luluarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We tried several hotels in Luang Prabang, but this is by far the nicest, cleanest and friendliest hotel the city has to offer. The view at the mekong river is unbeatable and many tourists come near the hotel just to enjoy the location the hotel has. The rooms are very tastfully decorated in wood (traditional, local combined with modern design). The beds are sooooo relaxing (and that's what holidays are for...).
The bath/shower-room is big, but the separate toilet-room is very small.
The breakfast is a delight - there's a buffet and in addition you can order warm specialities - as many as you like.
They plan in 2010 to build a new breakfast-area - even closer at the river on a terrace overlooking the mekong river. This will be fantastic.
They have WLAN and in case you forgot your computer, they can give you a laptop for some hours for free.
The owner invites the guests to a glass wine the first day - there we got all the local informations and background about the city and what's going on.
The hotel staff is the friendliest we ever met in Laos! They are all locals and some had before been monks for years and can tell you all about culture, buddhism and the city Luang Prabang. They all speak English very well, with a good pronunciation.
We booked over them our 2-day-boatdrive down the mekong to Thailand - it was perfect and they know the good tour-operators.
It's true, that the price for Luang Prabang is high - but it's really worth it !!! You always get, what you paid for...
The next time we are in Luang Prabang, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing