We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Best in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

There can be little doubt that the reviews are right - this is a top choice for this charming town.

Firstly, the hotel has a sensational location - on the banks of the Mekong right next to the most significant temple in Luang Prabang. It's close enough to shops, restaurants, markets etc, but not right in the middle of them. You are well away from the more recent expansion of hotels to the south.

Secondly, the physical condition of the hotel is excellent. It is recently constructed with large rooms, teak floors and balconies, hot water and plumbing that works and very comfortable beds.

Thirdly, the hotel is very professionally run, with a European owner and manager and very well trained Lao staff. I understand that many of them were formerly monks at Wat Xiengtong - this must be where they get their charm and grace from.

There are lots of little bonuses such as free bicycles, free wifi and good advice on restaurants, shops and sightseeing.

With only seven rooms (expanding soon to a massive 14) you'll be lucky to get in. Book well in advance.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank academytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    114
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
426
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We spent 3 nights in this hotel either side of visiting friends in Vietnam. We'd appreciated having local knowledge when with our friends and then found that we received a very similar service at the Mekong Riverview hotel - courtesy of Daniel (the manager) and the other excellent staff. The recommendations were spot on and hence we had a fantastic time in Luang Prabang and didn't want to leave. in addition to the local knowledge, we were also particularly impressed with all the little touches that made our stay so much easier and special - the airport transfer, the complimentary soft drinks in the minibar, the boat trip, the electric golf buggy that took us where ever we wanted to go in the town and the comprehensive guide to LP in our rooms. It was also our friend's 30th birthday whilst we were there and the hotel couldn't have done more to make the day memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed four nights here, went up-river for two days and decided to come back to the same place for another two nights! The staff are great and the owner and manager make a real effort to get to know the guests and help arrange local trips and tours. The free use of bicycles to get around town make for a great way to see the local sites at a relaxed pace. The rooms are very comfortable and have great views of the river.
Highly recommended - if our travels take us back to Laos, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPeteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We just spent a fantastic weekend at this hotel. As stated in other reviews, the hotel itself is very nice and very comfortable. The real benefit is the manager, Daniel, who helped us in every possible way with tours, etc. He made sure that we had a memorable time in Luang Prabang-our thanks to him!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rundle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller from ni
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Was it perfect. Pretty close.
The staff and manager are very welcoming and helpful. The transfers to and from the hotel were on time. Daniel warned us not to go to the airport too early and he was right because about 7 minutes after arriving we were checked in and waiting to go. The airport is very small.

We tried all the restaurants recommended by Daniel and they were excellent except L'Elephant which is run by an unpleasant french manager/owner? and which served the only "fast food" we got on our trip maybe the only microwave in Luang prabang!

We did the cooking course at Tum TUM Cheung? because we ate there 3 times it was so good. We were the only 2 on the course and it was very thorough, well presented and the Chef Linda was excellent. The day started with a trip to the market on the far side of LP not the one close to the main tourist street in LP. We went round all the stalls and the various herbs and foods were pointed out and it was explained what was used and when. We only saw one other group of tourists there who we reckoned were also on a cookery course.

Breakfast is served in the hotel reception area or you can eat at the table outside your room (we were on the first floor). Fresh juice, good coffee plus freshly cooked omelettes etc and pancakes. Excellent.

The room was excellent, good linen, free soft drinks and water in the fridge and a quality bathroom. The beds were 2 singles with electric adjustment (up and down top and bottom etc.). They were very very comfortable.

The only bad thing was the toilet which was in a separate closet in the wall at the end of my bed. I am 6'3" and when you closed the door it was up against your knees. Not uncomfortable, worse than the worst legroom on the world's cheapest airline.

We stayed for 5 nights and at the start my wife wondered what we would do but at the end of our stay we had lots still to do and I genuinely did not wish to leave. Maybe that is why Vientiane was such a disappointment. I would recommend anyone to skip Vientiane and stay longer at LP.

LP is quite dozy and that grows on you. Walking along the roads with little worry about traffic is most pleasant. I would probably not like LP during its high season when the hotels and restaurants are full. LP was not what I had been expected in many ways but it was certainly different and definitely laidback (with the exception of the loud and foul mouthed English group we had the misfortune to be seated next to one night).

The main street is on both sides a string of bars, craft shops, cafes, restaurants and travel agencies. Tourism is a big deal here. There is nothing undiscovered about LP but it does have its own charm which is found in the people, the side streets, markets and temples.

The monks have the patience of saints. One morning we sat near a temple and watched a never ending stream of visitors arriving, snapping the monks and wandering on. As a photographer I didn't bother.

On our last morning we did go out to see the alms giving in a quiet back street and we were approached by several women who tried to sell us food to give to the monks. In my desire to keep a respectful distance and out of the way I backed into the entrance to a house. Unfortunately it was the house of a dog who was up to that moment lying in the middle of the road in the path of the monks. He saw me and decided to express his opinion that I should move. So all in all I still managed to upset the alms giving and created a minor disturbance causing the younger monks to look back to see what was happening. An embarassing moment, until the dog like the monks just ignored me again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripinfoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My wife, two sons (18 & 16) and I wanted a relaxing yet intersting break in S.E. Asia on our way back to the UK after 2 weeks visiting friends and family in Australia. Our flight came through Bangkok so we considered Thailand but thought the seaside resorts wouldn't be at their best in the rainy season. Having settled on Laos, which was something of a wild card as we knew very little about the country, we decided to spend the entire 7 days we had before flying home in one spot - Luang Prabang. We were concerned that 7 days would be too long in one small place but needn't have worried.
I found Mekong River View Hotel on Trip Advisor and emailed the manager, Daniel, to enquire about availability and to ask what there was to do in and around Luang Prabang. Daniel responded promptly to this and all my subsequent emails, providing lots of good advice including tips on transiting Bangkok. He also allayed our concerns about visiting Laos in the rainy season - in retrospect, probably the best time to go!
On arrival my wife and I were allocated a first floor room and our sons one on the ground floor. Both were very attractive and made good use of local timber in both their construction and furnishings. Daniel immediately offered to arrange any excursions we wished to take and provided us with a variety of brochures to peruse. He also advised us to chat with the hotel staff, many of whom had been novice monks and knew much about Luang Prabang and the do's and dont's of interacting with the monks.
We managed to fill our 7 days easily. We walked round Luang Prabang on three days and really only scratched the surface of this fascinating and (as yet) unspolit place. A trip to the Kouang Si waterfalls took the better part of a day. We spent a night away at the Lao Spirit resort - again arranged for us by Daniel, where we rode on Indian Elephants, kayaked down the Nam Khan river and visited the Tad Se waterfalls. Another day was spent on a Mekong river trip (£15 for our own large riverboat for the day) visiting local craft villages and temples.
Luang Prabang, its architecture, markets and setting is a must for the serious traveller. Laos is a fascinating country with a complex history which Daniel and the staff of the hotel are very keen to relate to guests.
We were surprised at the number of hotels in Luang Prabang but very pleased with our choice. A mini-bus awaited us on arrival at the airport and delivered us back there at the end of our stay. In the 7 intervening days nothing was too much trouble for Daniel and the staff. Breakfast was available from 07:00 until 10:00, which allowed our teenage sons to lie in. Bicycles were available on request and made for very easy access to all parts of the town. Our bedroom fridges were kept well stocked with complimentary cold drinks - a welcome treat after sightseeing in the heat. In the evening the staff all vied with each other to recommend restaurants and drive us there in the hotel golf buggy.
The hotel benefits from probably the best position in town: overlooking as it does, the confluence of the Mekong and Nam Khan. It was fascinating to just sit on our balcony and watch the ever changing riverscape and we lost count of the number of tourists who walked past and commented on how good the location was.
Daniel was keen to get our feedback after a week at the Mekong River View and we pointed out, by way of a balanced report, that we would have liked to have had a simple snack/drinks menu so as to be able to spend the odd lunch time sitting on our balcony. He liked this idea and hopefully it won't be long before other guests are able to benefit from this service.
To summarise: a clean, comfortable, well managed hotel in a unique position and with the added benefit of enthusiastic staff who know the town and are an absolute joy to stay with if you take the trouble to get to know them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rijid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The perfect place from which to look gently around and about Luang Prabang. It is slightly out of the centre, right on the river, which means it is quiet, and has an amaxing outlook, and surrounded by wats, which gives it even more calm. The rooms are spotless, very comfortable, and impeccably kept. The balcony (each is private) is the perfect place from which to watch the river roll (and the occasional monk amble) by. The staff are all charming and helpful; the manager is full of useful and tasteful advice about how and where to get a little more out of the town than perhaps one otherwise might. Breakfast is absolutely fine, prepared freshly in the house next door. In short, it is a soothing place in which to take advantage of another soothing place; and if there is better to be found elsewhere in the town, it was not at all obvious where it might be.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cautious_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing