We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$99
View deal
Priceline
$97
View deal
Agoda.com
$78
View deal
Expedia.com$111
eDreams
Hotels.com$110
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveler rating
894
164
26
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
894
164
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river free bikes tuk tuk confluence peninsula balcony town laos wat xieng banks se
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2015

The Mekong Riverview is a beautiful hotel with care put into every detail.

Despite being located on a road, this little corner of Luang Prabang is very quiet, as there's very little traffic, and what does pass is often electric.

Every room has a verandah, river view and wi-fi, to help wind down after a day exploring the old town.

The owner, Urban, and his staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful. They're always on hand to give you a lift into town in the hotel's electric golf carts, loan you a bike or arrange trips.

The restaurant offers simple but good quality food (their Lao dishes lacked spice, but this is a failing of every restaurant in Luang Prabang), and on the junction of two rivers, is probably the most relaxing restaurant in town.

I'd happily stay here again.

Room tip: Best choice is to get a room on the first floor, as ground floor lacks privacy
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilt153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Having never been to Laos before, I had no idea what to expect, but I found Luang Prabang to be a lovely, sleepy, relaxing little town but still with plenty going on. The Mekong Riverview was the perfect base; right by the Mekong, and a ten minute stroll to the centre. It's got a lovely Colonial feel, with hardwood teak furnishings, massive bed, and lovely shower - only niggle was the toilet, which was quite miniscule! But the welcome was fantastically warm; the staff are genuinely friendly and very happy to help with information and suggestions and owner Urban has a lovely habit of welcoming new guests over drinks at the bar, which makes for some lively conversations!

Breakfast by the river was lovely and atmospheric, and it was a true little gem of a place; would defintely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elyse71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

We were collected at the airport by the hotel which was great. Not having to worry about finding a taxi, not being ripped off, and being taken to the right location. Check-in was very informative with information about the town and the main sights. The room we had fronted the road, with a seating area outside, which many of the rooms do. To get to the restaurant you have to walk along and then cross the road. I don't think the proximity to the road was made clear on the website, but to be fair it's certainly not busy and wasn't a problem. It just reduced the privacy of the seating area outside the room and we were just a little wary because we had a young child with us. The room had tea and coffee and free soft drinks in the mini-bar (but no beer). Breakfast was fine although we had a couple of issues getting our orders correct due to language problems. The fried pineapple and banana with honey was my favourite. The hotel has an electric car that will drop you off in town. We used this several times and found it really useful. In the rooms there are books about the history of Laos and useful information about the main attractions and what to watch out for. Real effort had gone into ensuring that guests get the most out of their stay. The attentiveness and friendliness of the staff (and the owner who we spoke to a couple of times) is what really made this hotel special for us.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Second stay at the hotel and the service and quality remain of a high standard. Rooms and communal areas are clean and well kept. Breakfasts with a view are a great start to the day. The food in the restaurant is consistently good, although fairly limited in choice. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ExSandPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 24, 2015

Mekong riverview hotel is an excellent hotel with individual twin cottages with verandah and spacious rooms. The support staff is very helpful and the restaurant serves good Lao food. It also offers motorbikes for hire.

Date of stay: December 2014
1  Thank jeetcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews