We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I really can't add much to the reviews praising this hotel. The little touches, from the wonderful welcome you get at the airport to the homemade cake in the afternoons to the stunning breakfasts outside watching the mists list off the Mekong, and the monks crossing the bamboo footbridge below you whilst you drink your coffee! 'However, it's the staff (and owner) that really make this place.

Room Tip: I had a superior double room upstairs which was wonderful and spacious, apart from the fact that whe...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Mekong Riverview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 815 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I had a twin room.

The outstanding parts of this hotel extends from the personal touch of the owner.

The service here is perfect, there is nothing they won't do if they can do it for you and even then, they'll try without complaint.

The owner is a real amazing character who really cares for the hotel as more than just a business.

Unique parts extend from the free soft drinks (free flow), free chaffeur service everywhere, and the complimentary wine to meet other guests and the owner!

Every detail in this hotel is cared for and it is by far, the ABSOLUTE best hotel I have ever been in. The fans imported from ChiangMai due to their unique design and efficiency, the beds which are the most comfortable beds are shipped all the way from Sweden and the wine sourced by the owner himself.

There will be no regrets staying in this hotel but even the troublesome doors in my room do not make me to begin questioning the quality of this beautiful hotel with an amazing location!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Stan Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My experience from working as a tour guide made me be at a different places in the entire country. Every morning at the breakfast with a stunning view of the two rivers confluences and lovely green garden, You will see Mr.Urban with his smile to welcome and greet you. as the hotel slogan" Personal touch"
Hotel is located in the peak of the UNESCO sites, rooms are very nice and cleaned with the view of the Mekong river from balcony.
There is always snack, tea and coffee in which you could help your serve your self at the lobby lounge.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. however, i recommend you it's better to get upper floor room, because y...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lao Horizons Tr... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

...This is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in, and we travel a lot. From the warm and friendly greeting at the airport, Noi's (the manager) great introduction to Luang Prabang complete with excellent free Hobo map on arrival, the cheerful helpful attitude of all the staff without exception - to the important details such as very fluffy white towels, great beds, perfect showers - all the ingredients of a proper boutique hotel.

We enjoyed lounging on our balcony watching the Mekong drift by, strolling round the interesting streets and admiring the old colonial architecture and of course the wonderful Wats...it's the quiet season so no crowds to compete with either. Noi arranged outings for us to a waterfall, a river cruise and recommended restaurants which were all excellent. We also enjoyed proper english tea and home made cakes in the afternoons - all complimentary. This is a hotel which pays attention to everything...I cannot recomend it highly enough. We will be back...

Room Tip: first floor front overlooking river
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nice-Nous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I adored magical, languid Luang Prabang (go during the low season when there aren't a lot of tourists!), and I loved this hotel! We stayed for six nights, and it's truly perfect in every way. The rooms are spotlessly clean and they've paid so much attention to detail (comfy cloth bathrobes and slippers, paper covering the drinking glasses so they don't collect dirt, a huge safety box that can hold lots of your valuables, incredibly comfy Swedish beds, overhead fans on your private porch to keep you cool as you lounge, free bicycles to use, reception will drop you off anywhere on the peninsula for free, free airport transfers, all taxes included in rate, free delicious breakfast with a stunning view of the Mekong River). The staff was lovely and helpful, and location at the tip of the peninsula ideal. Stay at this wonderful hotel and enjoy beautiful LP - my favorite stop in SE Asia!

Room Tip: Choose one of the Junior Suite Riverviews on the second floor (huge, great view of river, above the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciam2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 nights stay at the Mekong Riverview Hotel. As this little hotel is situated on the end of the peninsula where the Nam Khan River flows into the great Mekong River, the views from our hotel balcony are absolutely beautiful. While the location is a little off the main streets of Luang Prabang, the hotel provides golf carts which will take you anywhere within the old city area. Besides, the core area of Luang Prabang isn't very large (about 1.2km long and 400m across), so it is possible to walk to most places. Breakfast, a combination of american style and asian dishes, is served at the hotel's cafe overlooking the river. The service of the hotel staff was excellent. They were friendly, helpful and informative. Our departure flight was very early, before the cafe opens, so the staff arranged for sandwiches and yoghurt as take away for us. The only two downsides to our stay was the bed and the wifi. As it was an adjustable bed, it squeaked when you move around, and soft mattress didn't help. The wifi wasn't very stable. On our last day, we couldn't connect to it at all.
One point to note, do read the hotel information booklet in the room. It has lots of information on things to do and the culture of Laos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RubinaGan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Hotel location a the end of the peninsula that ends in the confluence of the Mekong River and Nam Khan. It is perfectly located for the view alone and a short walk, bike or golf cart trip away from all that Luang Prabang has to offer. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive, albeit this kind person was to be found throughout the township. The area is a very welcome step back to a more laid back and friendly time, sortof like Thailand was in some places 30 years ago. The complementary breakfast menu was both varied and excellent as was everything else we sampled on their menu. Our bedroom was on the first floor overlooking the river, nicely sized, well appointed with a great bathroom. Unfortunately the timber floor squeaked whenever walked upon which detracted from what was otherwise a lovely room. The beds were also a bit soft for our tastes but may suit others. The electric adjustment on them was a novelty, great for reading or TV watching if that's your thing. I have only given a three star rating as I believe it was only average value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 68 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $113 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing