We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
saudi arabia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Mekong Riverview Hotel is a five-star boutique property located in Luang Prabang, Laos, and serendipitously situated at the confluence of the Mekong and Khan rivers, We spent five nights in a junior suite, river view. Our suite was spacious and beautifully appointed-the bouquets of fresh roses in the living area and in the bathroom were a lovely surprise! We had a veranda with a stunning river view, a plush king-size bed, sofa, two arm chairs, coffee table, desk, closet with plenty of hangers, two robes, air conditioning, ceiling fan, coffee/tea set up and a mini-bar stocked with water & soft drinks (included in the room price).

Across the street is the Mekong Riverview Terrace restaurant which overlooks the Nam (river) Khan and a bamboo bridge. If you get down to breakfast early enough (7-7:30am), you may see young monks crossing the bridge to go to school. The breakfast buffet will leave you well-sated so that you will not go hungry while on your morning forays in and around Luang Prabang.

The Mekong Riverview is a ten-minute leisurely stroll to two great restaurants-Tamarind and Rosella Fusion. Another restaurant we really enjoyed was the Blue Lagoon-eclectic menu and impeccable service. And if you need a mid-morning or afternoon snack, stop at the French bakery for a pastry and a drink. If you're a chocolate lover (and I am), indulge yourself and have a pain au chocolat...magnifique!

It's a twenty-minute walk to the backpacker area which has some great shops with authentic Lao handicrafts-Kop Noi and Ma Te' Sai are my two favorites. The Aussie Sports Bar is right across the street from both shops-my husband enjoyed a couple of tall, cold Beer Lao's while I shopped! The night market is a twenty-minute walk as well.. I love night markets but they're generally filled with touristy stuff and Luang Prabang's is no exception. This is NOT the place to find authentic Lao goods as many of the night market treasures are Thai and Chinese imports. But it's fun to walk around, enjoying the sights.

Sorry, I digressed-back to the Mekong Riverview Hotel. As I said in the beginning of my review, it's a five-star property. But, due to Mr. Urban (owner/manager) and his friendly, highly-capable staff, we had a ten-star experience! They were thoughtful, caring and made us feel more like family than guests, which I think is the hallmark of a great hotel experience. One of the staff, lovely Mr. Vee, is even a mind-reader! He had booked us a car to go to the waterfall. I was walking into the Reception area to request two towels to take with us and I ran into Mr. Vee, coming out with two towels and two bottles of water! And our first morning, when we overslept, Mr. Vee immediately dropped what he was doing and gave us a ride in the hotel's Club Car (golf cart) so that we wouldn't miss the monks' morning alms procession.

Another really nice touch was Mr. Urban's wine gathering at the Terrace restaurant. He hosts 2-3 gatherings each week and invites his guests to have some wine and meet each other. We met some wonderful people from Singapore, Yangon, AND the American ambassador to Laos and his lovely wife!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a junior suite, river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertflower54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
429
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Will definitely stay here again. Location fabulous! Mr. Urban, owner, friendly and knows all the right things needed in a hotel: fresh roses in bedroom and bathroom; toilet and sinks/shower separate rooms; hairdryer beside full length mirror not in bathroom; robes, slippers, laundry service; beds with remote controls to put up head and feet!; free transportation to and from airport; sprays room for insects while we are out for dinner; free drinks in fridge (water and soda); free bikes; free rides in golf cart to town; breakfast unlimited orders from menu; and wine party bi-weekly so guests can meet each other! Really what more do you want?

Room Tip: All rooms are great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank work2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the airport pick-up, welcome drink and full review of sights along with a free map upon arrival.....this hotel sets itself apart from the usual. The owner, Urban hosted us to a glass of wine and conversation on the first night. The rooms are all well appointed with lots of comforts and beautiful rosewood furnishings. Fantastic location with a view of the Mekong River. Free bicycles for touring this lovely town. We have traveled a lot and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Breakfast is set in the restaurant just across the small road in front of the hotel, right on the river. What a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Without repeating the other praise lavished on this hotel my wife and I recently had the most wonderful time here.
It's position is unrivaled, the staff fantastic and the owner Urban friendly and attentive.
This must be one of the most laid back places in the world and the perfect destination for any stressed out individual wishing to unwind.
Sitting at the riverside restaurant at any time of day whether for breakfast, afternoon drinks or dinner was a pure joy.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to know where to start extolling the virtues of this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted as we poured out of our dusty minivan by several of the hotel staff. They addressed us by name. We were welcomed in the lobby and given a full briefing of the hotel and the town before being shown our lovely room.

The property is new and designed in French colonial style. The rooms are of generous size with a patio or balcony with characteristic overhanging roof. Every detail has been thought of. There are electric beds with adjustable upper and lower parts. There's a large bar fridge-style minibar with complimentary soft drinks and water. The safe is oversized. The air con is quiet and effective along with a ceiling fan. They will spray the room for mosquitoes at bedtime but they were never a big problem.

The room lighting is consistent with Asian/colonial style in that it consists of wall sconces and ceiling pot lamps. Our room had no table lighting and as such was a little severe. But it is true to local tradition.

The toilet room has a hand spray and a wall-mounted urinal. Both extremely handy. The bathroom has a large walk in shower stall but no tub. There are two vanities and more towel bars, shelves and hooks than anyone could possibly need. There was more than ample storage space in the room and the bathroom.

The hotel internet is particularly slow. We found that to be the case throughout Laos. However this was the slowest. I suspect there may not be much that can be done about it.

Breakfast is served in the most beautiful space in LP. The hotel dining room is on the riverbank, across the road from the hotel, in what can only be described as a tropical garden. The buffet was comprehensive and eggs, crepes and Asian dishes could be ordered à la carte. All in all a great way to start your day. And, having dined here for a couple of evening meals, I can say that it is one of the finest dining rooms in town.

The hotel owner, Urban, is present seemingly all the time. No request is too great. He made you feel like his houseguest. We will miss his daily breakfast visits and chats. His staff are as welcoming as he. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

They have golf carts with which they will take guests anywhere in town. And they provide complimentary airport transfers.

I checked out rooms in a couple of other, more expensive properties and neither of them showed the same attention to detail or comfort.

This is a unique property in a unique location. Don't miss it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Almost 30 years of frequent business travel in several parts of the world has given me the experience of many hotels. Let me get directly say that Mekong Riverview Hotel is a gem, no, a diamond! Location on the river, the surroundings and the atmosphere is like in a dream. Add to this the care that has gone into all the little important details and the great hospitality.
For example, at breakfast there are several kinds of tea bags, loose tea and ready-brewed tea in addition to coffee. For this large heated tea mugs and hot milk. Unfortunately, this is rare in many hotels.
The hotel was so pleasant that I had little time to explore Luang Prabang, therefore
I will return soon, then together with my wife.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenArne1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved everything about the Mekong Riverview. The owner was overseas so we did not meet him. For that reason, I am writing this review. I would like him to know that from our arrival to our departure we were impressed with the proactive helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff.
We also stayed in another 'equivalent' hotel in Luang Prabang so have something to which we can compare the Mekong Riverview and I would say that on all counts the Mekong Riverview is superior.
Why? Well firstly the location is unbeatable. The view from the restaurant/breakfast area is of the confluence of the rivers and you could easily sit and watch the activities on the river all day. The highlight was watching the monks walking across the bamboo bridge each evening at sunset.
We chose an upstairs river facing room in the new building so that we could enjoy that view of the river over drinks at night from our very comfortable, and reasonably private balcony. The room was lovely, decorated with flair. The fresh long stemmed roses on the table added to to the warm homely feel.
The bed is worth a mention...supremely comfortable. Legs tired after walking around..just lie down and adjust the bottom of the bed to raise your legs up. Or raise up the back so you can sit up in bed. Just flat was fine for me though.
Walking into the night markets or to the many close by restaurants is easy and pleasant and takes maybe 10 minutes. But a few times we took advantage of the free golf cart to take us to the night market and then walked back. Just being lazy really :-) Everything is included, breakfast (excellent choices and great coffee), airport transfers, bikes if you want them, wifi, afternoon cake, soft drinks in the minibar...it feels generous.

If you like your holiday experience hermetically sealed from the local sights and sounds, stay at one of the more 'resort style' places. At the Mekong Riverview, with the balcony doors shut it's pretty quiet but if you open them up you may hear roosters in the morning, you will hear laughter and bicycle bells as people go by (we watched a wedding parade one morning), and you will hear the scooters when you have the balcony doors open during the day (but it gets really quiet at night), and you might hear distant chanting of the monks at certain hours. We loved all that. I only wish we could have stayed longer than 3 nights. We will next time.

To the owner, I'm sorry we did not meet you to say this in person but congratulations on your excellent staff who made our last 3 days in Laos an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: River facing and upstairs is my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyesopenarmswide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
702 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing