We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mekong Riverview Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sokdee Residence(Luang Prabang)
$14
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
739
136
19
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
136
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish ownerurban paulssonswedish bedsmekong rivergolf buggyadjustable bedswine receptionin townelectric cartremote controlfree soft drinkskhan riversrivers meetjunior suitehotel ownerother guestsrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 901 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was my second time to Luang Prabang. The first time was around 10 years ago and the Mekong River Hotel was not around then, nor for that matter most of the other hotels in Luang Prabang.

This hotel is a bit on the expensive side for those on a budget, but in this bracket of hotels very good value for the money. The rooms are elegantly decorated, the staff charming, knowledgeable and very helpful. The owner (whose name Urban stands in total contradiction to the serenity of Luang Prabang) is a charming Swede who sold his hotel there to set up shop here.

yes, I really enjoyed this hotel and will be booking a room in May for my dad and his wife who I am pushing to visit this lovely little city.

one tip; Their restaurant is very good, especially the location. Located across the road above the Mekong River, the restaurant is very charming (in the dry season; not sure what they do in the rainy season). Anyway, I enjoyed a good dinner there, excellent breakfasts, as well as an afternoon glass of wine just hanging out there in paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the hotel that I chose while surfing the internet for my trip with friends. The Mekong Riverview hotel’s rates are a bit pricy than what I expected but I still pushed through with the booking in the hopes of getting to be blown away when we get to Luang Prabang. Good sleep quality. The hotel is easy to spot because it is just along the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Mekong Riverview is a small but perfectly formed. The hotelier background of the Swedish owner shines through in his attention to the tiniest detail. The property is immaculate, the staff are delightful and the hotel restaurant sitting above the rivers offers a panoramic view unequalled in any hotel in the town.

Breakfast is included in the admittedly quite high roomrate and is abundant. It includes not only home baked perfect baguettes and croissants, a lovely legacy of French colonial times, jams and conserves, fresh fruit and juice, stunning Lao coffee or local tea but also the option of an extensive cooked repast. I tended to go for the Lao brekkie complete with chillies as I'm a bit of a chili addict.

I highly recommend busting your budget to enjoy being spoiled by this gorgeous, tranquil property and it's superb and helpful staff who are only too happy to drop what they are doing to ferry guests around the town in their Eco friendly electric buggies. A complementary car meets guests at the airport upon request.
Worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor (second floor for Americans) room with balcony. Beautiful, tranquil view of the confluence of the 2 rivers and distant hills. The ground floor rooms are close to the road which is tiny and not busy but light sleepers may hear the occasional scooter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quinn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

With a friend's strong recommendation, we splurged and booked a room overlooking the Mekong for 4 nights in February. I don't think our stay could have been much better.

The only negatives were a relatively weak wi-fi signal in our room and a confusing arrangement of light switches.

The positive features are numerous. The hotel is relatively new (2007), both tastefully designed and well-appointed. Our room had a king bed with an unusually comfortable mattress with dual controls to adjust the elevation of the head and feet. The room safe is big enough to hold several laptop computers and purses; items in the mini-refrigerator were free The toilet was in a separate room from the shower and vanity.

The restaurant is located across the street from the hotel and overlooks the convergence of the Kan Khan and Mekong rivers, probably the best view in all of Luang Prabang. Breakfast, included in our room fee, was simple but satisfying. The pancakes (crepes) with fruit and honey were delicious as was the Lao coffee and hotel-made, ginger tea. A leisurely breakfast while watching the mist rise off the rivers is a wonderful way to start the day.

The owner, Urban Paulsson, greets all guests individually and does his utmost to insure his guests feel welcome. Friday evening, he invited all of the guests to the restaurant for a free wine tasting which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The staff is friendly and helpful, the location is quiet, the ambiance is wonderful. They also have a well-designed web site.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street face the river and provide a very nice view. The second floor rooms have a nice balcony with an even better view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

There is a reason that this hotel rates so highly on Trip Advisor. From the fantastic location overlooking the rivers and the beautifully furnished rooms to the friendly staff and lovely breakfast setting, it is very hard to fault this hotel. We stayed in a second floor side view suite and found it perfect for a family of three. Plenty of space including a generous verandah. The hotel is also excellent value for money: the room charge includes airport transfers, a great breakfast, daily bottled water and soft drinks and buggy rides into town as required. The friendly reception staff will also organise boat trips and help with tour bookings etc. The cafe where breakfast is served (overlooking the rivers) also serves delicious meals at lunch and dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ByronQuartet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews