We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$248
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$64
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
$73
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sala Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$61
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
739
136
19
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
136
19
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswedish ownerurban paulssonswedish bedsmekong rivergolf buggyadjustable bedswine receptionin townelectric cartremote controlfree soft drinkskhan riversrivers meetjunior suitehotel ownerother guestsrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 901 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our stay at the Mekong Riverview was too short. It is an excellent quiet hotel within 5 minutes walking of the old town. The best temple is next door. The view across the Mekong river is lovely. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. The service was excellent and the restaurant deserves to be better known. The hotel is a new building but built in the colonial French style in keeiping with its surroundings. In our view, this must be the best place to stay in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have river views, but, ask for one on the first floor - the view is better
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Joyce50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star walled and self-contained property where you don’t have to interact with the city at the end of the day try one of the big resorts; if you are looking for a 5 star location, 5 star hospitality and 5 star cleanliness – stay here!

The Mekong Riverview is perfect if you want to see the sights of the town on foot without the need for tuk-tuks nor bikes. The hotel is literally next door to the Wat Xieng Thong which is one of the crown jewels of the city and is within easy walking distance of the rest of the town including the morning market and Mt. Phousi.

The owner, Urban, could been seen personally greeting new guests in the lobby and making the rounds on the breakfast patio overlooking the Mekong River. Urban has probably had the very same conversations about the town hundreds, or even thousands of times, yet he is never too busy to stop to talk to you. Bravo Urban!

This hotel provides a small refrigerator in the room which is stocked with complimentary water and sodas. All guests are also given a password for free WiFi. These are nice touches – and a departure from the “nickel and diming” that goes on at most hotels these days.

My only suggested area for improvement: Since so much attention to detail has been included in this hotel, right down to the cabinets with internal lights that switch on and off with your room lights and Swedish beds that can elevate and recline, I was a bit surprised there was not an in-room coffeemaker. Yes, coffee is served in the main lobby starting at around 5:30am but, because key activities in town start at 6am (or before), it would be nice to wake up to some coffee. The hotel brochure says you can request a coffee maker for your room (which I did not) but it just seems it would be a standard item. Not a big deal but worth mentioning if this is important to you.

Take time to read the hotel’s information booklet which is in all of the rooms. It is one of the most well-written and informative guides about the local community, traditions and customs that I have ever seen in any hotel anywhere.

A few other notes:
Bring some light long sleeve shirts for the evening hours to help protect against mosquito bites; the hotel lobby has some mosquito repellant upon request but you should consider bringing your own.

The hotel will help you make dinner reservations around town and will also, at no charge, order a tuk-tuk to take you one-way to your destination. A nice bonus!

Try to request a second floor room; a few of the first floor rooms are right along the roadway. As this hotel is at the end of the peninsula, and it is a one-way road, the road is pretty quiet at night but just to be sure better to be upstairs if possible.

The Visa Upon Arrival process at the airport was simple but, if you are the last in line, you might wait for a while. The cost for US Citizens was US$36 and requires one passport photo.

I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank SFTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at this amazing hotel and it was just as great as the previous two visits. I had my favourite room which was on the ground floor with a veranda overlooking the Mekong River. From the moment you are collected from the Airport by a friendly familiar face who doesn't hold up a sign because he remembers you to being welcomed at the door of the hotel by all the staff, you realise you are "back home". Again the room was perfect with lots of room, a big bathroom and double open doors to the veranda that bring the outside in. The cafe across the road is even better because now they open virtually all day into the night, so you can have lunch and dinner or just watch the view over cocktails. I did miss the free golf cart (which was waiting for parts to fix a small problem), but whenever you need to go anywhere, the hotel supplied a free tuk tuk for all their guests. The staff are still so amazing and nothing is a problem for any of them. Urban has over 50 local staff and they all compliment the great service and friendly atmosphere that is so evident in this hotel. One should not single out any particular staff member, as they all are excellent, but I would be amiss if I didn’t especially thank two of the supervisory staff – Noi who is in Reception is very professional and friendly and was very helpful by organising trips and local excursions for me and Aoth who is in the River View Café whose smile and infectious personality just makes you feel good whenever he is around. Urban’s warm welcome and “meet the guests wine nights” are very special and adds to the atmosphere of this boutique hotel. You see Urban every day and he is genuinely keen to ensure your stay is enjoyable. I certainly hope to return to the Mekong River View and I would like to thank Urban and all the staff for welcoming me back and making me feel right at home. Great hotel, amazing staff and the perfect location.

Room Tip: It is an added bonus if you get get a room that looks over the Mekong River where you can sit and take in the atmosphere.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It's all been said before - the Mekong Riverview is truly a wonderful place to stay in Luang Prabang and we hope to be able to return some day. Unsurpassed hospitality by Mr. Urban and his staff, delicious breakfasts on the terrace above the river, great views - what more could one wish for?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The owner personally greeted us and gave a detailed briefing on what to do and where to dine in Luang Prabang. A perfect visit! Every detail, right down to the plush 3-ply toilet paper, was top notch. Tasty breakfasts by the river were great too. Well done Mekong Riverview -- a traveler cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGlobal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews