We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$99
View deal
Expedia.com
$110
View deal
Agoda.com
$78
View deal
Hotels.com$110
Priceline$97
Travelocity$110
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveler rating
894
164
26
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
894
164
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river free bikes tuk tuk confluence peninsula balcony town laos wat xieng banks se
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
645 - 650 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It has been twelve months since I was here last and my expectations were high would it live up to my last stay? Let me tell you it certainly did. The staff at Mekong are of very high standard, very charming and you are always welcomed with a smiling face curious to know what you have done during the day or where you have been for dinner.

The location of this accommodation is great - very quiet at night and interesting to while away your afternoon sitting at the cafe with a nice cold drink or returning to your room and it being spotlessly cleaned. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the main part of town but if you have had enough walking one of the reception staff will run you up in the golf cart to wherever you would like to go. There are lots of restuarants close by and the Riverview now does meals during the day and the cafe has a wonderful view of the Mekong with something happening all day.

Life is very slow in Luang Prabang so don't expect to be out raging every night. The charm of Luang Prabang is the way the day just goes along without any stress or hassle.

Room tip: Book a room at the front of the building downstairs with a little garden or upstairs with a balcony other rooms are good but these are better for outside relaxing.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights as part of a longer trip within Asia. We chose the hotel primarily based on the TripAdvisor reviews. Needless to say, the hotel lived up to the good reviews and #1 ranking on TripAdvisor.

The location of the hotel is excellent - right on the Mekong and with excellent views of the surrounding area. It's not right in town, but about a 10-15 minute walk, or a 5 minute bike ride (on quiet streets with little traffic). It was great using the free bikes, as they made the entire town easily accessible. The hotel restaurant is just across the street and has excellent views of the river. The breakfast was amazing - easily the best of the trip - and we looked forward to it each morning. Service was excellent at the hotel - from the airport pickup, to the airport drop-off, including the happy hour on the first night where we could meet the other guests and chat with the owner.

The room was very nice too, with great A/C, comfortable beds, good wifi service ... perfect for a relaxing stay!

Would happily stay here again when in Luang Prabang. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed in Luangprabang a few times, and the Mekong Riverview is by far the best hotel experience I have had there. To begin with, its location is where the Mekong River meets the Kok River and offers some magnificent views. The hotel is stylish and the rooms luxurious. Service is impeccable. We arrived by boat and were met by the owner and some of the staff. The owner then gave us an orientation and made us feel very welcome. The Lao receptionists and waiters/waitresses are friendly and professional. Our group of eleven wanted to participate in the monk’s morning offertory procession, and the hotel staff organized it for us. They ordered the food, took us to a local place (far from where most of the tourists gather) and even accompanied us there.
Across the road from the hotel is there restaurant is the restaurant. It offers a great breakfast and is also open for other meals. Just below is a small vegetable patch which is often tended by the young monks: it is quite spectacular watching saffron robe-clad monks tending their crops.
Everything about the Mekong Riverview is first rate and I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great find. The hotel is run professionally and the staff are wonderful. Dining is excellent as well. Breakfast is included as are soft drinks, tea and coffee. Needless to say the location overlooking the river is perfect. Book the upstairs room if available and enjoy the old world charm.

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 14th Jan - 19th Jan (5 nights). We were picked up from the airport, free gratis and our welcome was friendly and sincere. First night was the owners wine reception with free flowing wine for all guests. As previous reports have mentioned there is also occasional use of golf cart transport into the village, which is handy after a day exploring this best kept secret in Asia. The hotel is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean. There are complimentary drinks in the fridge (soft drinks only) and these are replenished every day. Upper rooms are better as they afford better views of the river And as the
hotel is in such a prime location, you do get a lot of passing tourists photographing the property, probably for return visits to Luang Prabang. Breakfasts are good, and you sit looking over the Mekong and have a great view of the passing boats and all other river life. The hotel is located 5 mins walk from the biggest temple and it's very easy to see the monks early In the morning. The laundry service at this hotel is very good too. Fresh flowers were also put into the bedrooms daily!

Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank IanGowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews