We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better and better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Getting better and better!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and it surpassed the previous time, which is really saying something.

The rooms are extremely well-eqipped, spotlessly clean and most have a wonderful view of the river and the passing street life.

The staff and the manager are excedingly helpfull and go out of their way to roganise any aspect of your time around the town.

The new breakfast/dining area on the tip of the peninsula is a great place to both start and finish the day.

Bicycles are available for free and are a perfect way to see the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ByronO33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    115
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
429
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed in Luangprabang a few times, and the Mekong Riverview is by far the best hotel experience I have had there. To begin with, its location is where the Mekong River meets the Kok River and offers some magnificent views. The hotel is stylish and the rooms luxurious. Service is impeccable. We arrived by boat and were met by the owner and some of the staff. The owner then gave us an orientation and made us feel very welcome. The Lao receptionists and waiters/waitresses are friendly and professional. Our group of eleven wanted to participate in the monk’s morning offertory procession, and the hotel staff organized it for us. They ordered the food, took us to a local place (far from where most of the tourists gather) and even accompanied us there.
Across the road from the hotel is there restaurant is the restaurant. It offers a great breakfast and is also open for other meals. Just below is a small vegetable patch which is often tended by the young monks: it is quite spectacular watching saffron robe-clad monks tending their crops.
Everything about the Mekong Riverview is first rate and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Great find. The hotel is run professionally and the staff are wonderful. Dining is excellent as well. Breakfast is included as are soft drinks, tea and coffee. Needless to say the location overlooking the river is perfect. Book the upstairs room if available and enjoy the old world charm.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from 14th Jan - 19th Jan (5 nights). We were picked up from the airport, free gratis and our welcome was friendly and sincere. First night was the owners wine reception with free flowing wine for all guests. As previous reports have mentioned there is also occasional use of golf cart transport into the village, which is handy after a day exploring this best kept secret in Asia. The hotel is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean. There are complimentary drinks in the fridge (soft drinks only) and these are replenished every day. Upper rooms are better as they afford better views of the river And as the
hotel is in such a prime location, you do get a lot of passing tourists photographing the property, probably for return visits to Luang Prabang. Breakfasts are good, and you sit looking over the Mekong and have a great view of the passing boats and all other river life. The hotel is located 5 mins walk from the biggest temple and it's very easy to see the monks early In the morning. The laundry service at this hotel is very good too. Fresh flowers were also put into the bedrooms daily!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IanGowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything here is wonderful. Exactly as promised and more. The owner is there and speaks to you daily. Everything is done to make you feel at home. If you come to this town stay here you will not regret it.. Location is close to all the sites you want to see. Restos and cafes abound in this little town. Shops and market is upbeat and very nice. The balcony of your room overlooks the river and is a little oasis to relax. A golf cart is always ready to take you where ever you want to go if you choose not to walk. I have no negative comments..

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our arrival to the Mekong Riverview Hotel the owner and host, Mr. Urban met us at the door. While our bags were delivered to our room he showed us a map of Luang Prabang, marked with where to go, what to do and good places to eat.

This hotel is in a quiet spot in the old town part Luang Prabang. Right on the river you have great views from your room and the wonderful restaurant. The room is large (we did not have a suite) with great woodwork and all the amenities one could want.

I highly recommend this hotel. For some reason it is not listed in any of the guide books I read. Which may be better - you are more likely to get a reservation! The staff is excellent and will help with any needs you may have.

Luang Prabang is a wonderful little city, especially old town. I recommend the Blue Lagoon restaurant and the Elephant Village. We enjoyed both!

Room Tip: As recommended by another traveler, upstairs with a view of the river. We had #25 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since all the accolades have already been said I will just talk about which room to have. The second floor river view rooms are wonderful. Get confirmation from the hotel for these rooms. You do not want to be on the first floor as then you have no view and no privacy.

Room Tip: Second floor river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
700 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing