We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel sits one end of Luang Prabang, where the 2 rivers meet. They have a lovely restaurant where breakfast is served overlooking the confluence of the rivers which is truly unique. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, the bathroom large with an invigoranting shower. The owner is always on hand to help and he also invited us to a nice wine aperitif get together with the other hotel guests. Truly recommended.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on the first floor, it has more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 872 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent 5 great days in this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff is professional and knowledgeable of the area and in getting around town. The breakfast is served outside along the Mekong and what better way to wake up in the morning with a view with your coffee.
I loved this hotel.
And the owner is very friendly too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threeqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our abiding memory is of the absolute charm of all the young staff who always greeted us with a smile and did everything they could to ensure we had a good stay, which we did. The owner is very hands on, equally helpful and full of ideas to fill your days. Breakfasting on the terrace overlooking the river is a great way to start the day, and at the end of the day a very comfortable bed awaits. We stayed for four nights in a first floor room overlooking the Mekong, and were very sad to leave.

Room Tip: It's good to have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kent57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is well decked out, with great local staff, but I would not recommend it for a solo, female traveler. I am lucky enough to be based in Singapore and travel all around Asia. This is a very expensive hotel in Asian standards. I booked it because I had had a very stressful few weeks at work and needed a break. I was happy to pay more for a room that I would utilise, rather than just sleep in at night. When I checked in, there was a mention of a local house warming party, with people doing traditional dancing etc and that would happen the day after I arrived. It was suggested that I just 'go with the flow, have a drink with the party if they offered it etc'. What transpired as a 'local party' was more like a local concert. They had set up concert quality speakers that started at 10.30 in the morning with the debut song being 'Gangham Style', which didn't sound too local to me! This party went on until 5.30 pm, during which time, when I was in my room, it literally shook. Essentially, I really could not use my room for that whole day. I realise that the hotel can't control this, but they should have known the potential noise pollution and not used the 'go with the flow, you'll experience the locals' explanation.The manager did take $100 USD off my room for that day, but at $260 per night, on reflection I do not think that was sufficient. The wifi was also terrible. It was intermittent at the best of times. When you consider that you go to a local cafe and get great internet for free, I just don't see the value for money at this price. I think for the solo traveler you can get better value for your money elsewhere in Luang Prabang. That said, the local staff did their best to accommodate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoContour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second stay and was even more wonderful than last year! The manager, Urban, and all of the staff make this hotel surely the finest in Laos. Other reviewers have touched on the details and I concur with all of the praise.... Hotel location, room, view, breakfast, service, warmness are all the best. The addition of the small restaurant since my 2011 visit added another highlight. This is the breakfast "room" and their menu at lunch is excellent -- I ended up eating all of my mid-day meals because of the incomparable view right at the juncture of the Mekong and Nam Khan combined with excellent food and service. I am slightly disabled so I particularly enjoyed and benefited from the free golf cart service, always provided with a smile and they even picked me up at restaurants if there was no other demand. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garuda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

No words can do justice to the incredible service Mr Urban and team provide at this magical place called the Mekong Riverview Hotel.

Located at the tip of the peninsula, right where the Nam Khan river joins the Mekong, the hotel is slightly off the town centre but only a 5-10 minute walk away. The hotel provides free bicycles and we love the early morning or late evening rides into town. Free golf cart rides (one way) are also available on request.

Our room was clean and cosy with a porch overlooking the Mekong. The Swedish bed is interesting though it takes a while to get used to. Free wifi is available in the room. The mini bar is stocked with complimentary bottled water and soft drinks that are replenished daily.

Breakfast is served at a terrace perched along the banks of the Mekong. Do try the local beef noodle soup. Afternoon tea and cakes served daily in the lobby was a huge hit with us. It was a pity that we had to turn down the invitation for an evening glass of wine by the Mekong as we were on a tight schedule.

There are plenty of swanky hotels in Luang Prabang. This place is special because of their service with a personal touch. I had left my handphone after dining at a restaurant in town. The staff went out of their way to help me retrieve it.

Thank you all at the Mekong Riverview Hotel for having us! Truly, a home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faybernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is jewel in Luang Prabang. Certainly one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.
The service is top notch. Staff is young and speak good english.
When arriving at the hotel (with the pick up service provided by them), you are welcomed by the owner Mr Urban. He gives a brief explanation about the city and what are the best restaurants and interesting places to visit.
The room are amazing, really spacious. The bed is beyond this world. I didnt want to wake up in the morning because the bad was so comfy.
Breakfast is served at the Cafe just a few steps from the hotel with a river view. Both western and Asian meals are offered.

I reccomend this hotel. It's a bit expensive but it's worth to expend the extra money for a good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brazilsolotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#9 of 71 in Luang Prabang
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road | Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $122 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing