We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The other reviews are right: this is an absolutely excellent hotel. We stayed for four nights in August 2012, and everything about the stay was perfect. Booking was easy and we had really good email advice from the hotel staff about the choice of rooms in advance of confirming our choice. We opted for a river facing junior suite, on the upper floor. This was exactly the right choice for us, as we used the balcony to sit and watch the world go by. The room was well designed and functional, with all the facilities needed for a very comfortable stay. The bed was, as everyone says, great. Breakfast was provided in a magical location, right on the banks of the Mekong River. The choice of food was really good, with hot choices cooked to order. But what sets this hotel apart from anywhere we have stayed was the quality of the staff and their willingness to be as helpful as possible in every single instance. This clearly comes from the owner, Mr Urban, for whom this hotel is clearly a labour of love. His wine receptions, held every other night, were lovely, honest occasions for travellers to meet and chat. He was always to be seen around the hote, or around town, and we were genuinely impressed with his commitment to running not simply a first class hotel, but also one that provides good employment and remuneration for its staff. His knowledge of the town was incredibly helpful, and his tips on where to eat, or what to visit, or where to shop were all, in our experience, absolutely accurate. Luang Prabang should not be rushed. The staff will willingly take you to dinner reservations or to temples in the hotel golf cart, which makes this hotel the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor, facing the Mekong River. The views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    112
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
107
421
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Great place indeed!! Wonderful location. Had a riverview room in first floor which was really nice, swedish beds, great balcony... Breakfast was really nice and service perfect.
Thanks mr Urban, we shall return

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank poe_soy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

On my first visit (backpacker style) to Luange Prabang 3 years ago, my sister and I identified the Mekong Riverview as the place to bring our parents because it has the elegance of the waterfront and proximity to the sights. They are perfectly situated near the almsgiving, which is best viewed by just planting oneself on the sidewalk around the corner and waiting for the monks to come to you as the staff also pointed out. Their location is just a step away from the congestion of city central, which offers a bit more quiet from the bustle than some of the other riverfront properties. When my mother decided to spend her 60th birthday with me in SouthEast Asia, this was a top destination choice.

What I wasn't expecting (since I never read the reviews) was the expertise and exceptional understanding of the city offered by Urban and his staff. I had my own ideas for our short visit, but the ease with which the staff was able to put together the best quality experiences was delightful. The recommendations were spot on, the annotated map quite helpful, and we were able to add and adjust our plans according to these great ideas such that it was a truly exceptional visit to the city. The staff were able to quickly check on availability of a dance performance on arrival and booked us the best seat in the house right next to the fan. The private boat ride was relaxed. The restaurant recommendations exactly matched our experience and they arranged the best seats in the house.

Since our travels in Laos were rather free-form, we made our booking quite late and arrived at the hotel by tuktuk after a bus ride. The staff came down to greet us by name as we pulled up and the personal attention to detail just flowed from that point forward. The room was all I anticipated and more since we were upgraded, but the real value is for the concierge services, recommendations and arrangements. It is definitely a five star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is by far my favorite hotel in Asia, Roth the amazing beds imported from Sweden, breath taking views, bike and golfs carts you can use any time, staff that will help out at all times and are very honest about differs outings. The breakfast is to die for and the wine hour that they had was a great way of meeting other guests. Transportation to and from the hotel was arranged for us and included. This is a must go to hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenzo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well much has been said about this beautiful Hotel, it's design and build respects the location near the junction of the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. The breakfast restaurant closely overlooking these two rivers is in a ideal postion to discuss your days activities whilst enjoying the local boat operators ready for their days work. The rooms a spacious and well appointed, with a bed that is so soft and comfortable you will want one at home. Our flight from Hanio was delayed three hours but the staff from the Hotel meet us at the airport with a warm and friendly manner.
Upon arrival at the Hotel the owner Mr Urban Paulsson greeted us and welcomed us in. The staff here as many people have said are some of the most genuinely friendly people we have dealt with at hotels around the world. I believe this due to there genuine friendly nature and the way in which Urban has fostered and trained his team.
Well done Urban and staff, we are sorry we could not stay longer,

Chris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Given the glowing reviews and the recent Trip Advisor award there's not much for me to add apart from jumping on the 5 star bandwagon like everyone else!

The customer service is genuinely superb and light-years beyond anything we have experienced before:

- We were allowed to keep the room free-of-charge as we spent one day overnight at the Tiger Trail Elephant Camp.

- We were also upgraded to a suite (albeit having booked in the August low-season) which had a spacious and throughly modern bathroom with shower cubicle and ergonomic bath, plus the amazing adjustable Swedish beds. The room also came with a mini-bar packed with free soft drinks - water, Coke, Sprite etc.

- At any time the staff are happy to spin you around the town in the golf cart. Luang Prabang might be tiny but after a full day of walking around it's quite a luxury to be chauffeured to your evening meal!

- All the staff wore genuine smiles and spoke good enough English to have a proper conversation with

- The private trips (and laundry service) were great options, albeit more expensive. You are paying for the convenience and comfort of a private car / boat though, which is worth considering if you don't want the hassle of dealing with the tuk tuk drivers / boatmen (some of whom are in no rush, so you might find yourself sitting around for a while whilst they wait for more customers)

- Urban has also provides a comprehensive guide to life in Laos / Luang Prabang - complete with labelled maps and lots of important cultural hints & tips. Every other night he throws a free wine evening which is very generous, plus he is there upon arrival to see you are settled in OK. His love for the country and the people is very apparant and it makes your whole stay much more enlightening and fulfilling

The outside terrace for breakfast and afternoon drinks is absolutely stunning, right on the corner of the Kahn and Mekong rivers, and away from the hustle of the main street. The food was also decent enough, although it closes at 5pm which is a bit disappointing

There are no doubt much cheaper places to stay, just as there will be more opulent ones. We felt the balance was perfect though - just enough luxury to keep you relaxed but nothing unneccesarily extravagant (Luang Prabang is not about spas and fine dining, it's about getting back to basics and immersing yourself into a genuinely warm, spiritual and unique culture)

Thank you to Urban and all the staff for an amazing 5 days!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have balconies facing onto the road but it's such a quiet town you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

First of all, we loved Luang Prabang and the Mekong Riverview: really top-notch service, we had never experienced anything like this anywhere in the world... The people working here seem genuinely happy and are always smiling and available to help with whatever request, the owner is really nice, the location and breakfast are great... But... We chose to stay in the "cheap" 90 USD room, and it was quite disappointing, compared to other, much cheaper hotels in Luang Prabang: for less than half the price you could get a much bigger room, with a nicer bathroom, a big bed and a balcony... (at least in the low season!) Of course, you do not get the lovely service and beautiful breakfast terrace, the personnel might not speak English as well as the people at Mekong Riverview, but we still felt that 90 USD is way too much for the room we got, which also had a really small bed and an even smaller windowless bathroom! The more expensive rooms are probably much better (we haven't seen them), so get one of those if you can afford it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldRealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Property: Mekong Riverview Hotel
Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing