We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A fantastic way to spend a Sunday afternoon

I can't recommend Tiger Trail enough! We did the half day kayaking down the Nam Kham river. It... read more

Reviewed October 26, 2020
Nikki220512
,
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Ultra great company!

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Takes you to special unforgettable places. Would definitely... read more

Reviewed May 19, 2020
Elorts
,
Santa Monica, California
Read all 644 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Luang Prabang
from $127.18
More Info
from $43.08
More Info
from $18.00
More Info
from $69.75
More Info
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
430
109
41
30
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
430
109
41
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trek fair trek bike tour mountain biking hmong village great guide kuang si waterfall rice fields spoke very good english tad sae waterfall home stay village life flora and fauna pad thai private guide tad se starting point
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 644 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The company was good, responsible and very trustable, like it. We took the tour for biking and then kayaking. I have to admit, it was boring. Biking was ok, but kayaking was for 4 hours and the "river" was very quiet. may be in wet season is different, but I would not recommend the tour.

1  Thank regular-traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Professionally organized; adventurous tours; broad choice of activities that suit your interests and wishes; well equiped, knowlegded, interested and cheerful guides; involvement of village people and fair return to the community. Unforgettable experience that should be part of your visit to Lao!

3  Thank discoverer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We booked a day hike with Tiger based on recommendations from our guidebook and our hotel and we could not have done better. It turned out that no one else had booked the hike so it was just us and our guide, who was extremely knowledgeable of the flora and fauna as well as speaking various local dialects. We were able to proceed at our own pace and were never rushed and our guide was patient and gave us honest answers to our queries. It really made for a wonderful experience that we would happily repeat only perhaps next time kayaking or on a multi-day hike.

1  Thank 0529_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Mine was one of 5 bags broken into on the 4/11/09 while being held at the Tiger Trails office in Luang Prabang. The bags had small amounts of cash and mobile phones stolen. The company refuses to talk to us about it and claim that we are lying. The police also will not write reports because Tiger Trails are denying that the bags were tampered with. Without police reports it will be difficult for us to claim these items back on insurance. This company is the most expensive in Luang Prabang and have a good reputation of helping the local villages...however they will not look after their clients. We have spent most of the last 48hrs being called liars by the police and the company...not a very nice experience...and what they cannot understand is that we would not bother lying over small amounts of cash and a mobile phone...we would lie BIG.

12  Thank jeska81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, General Manager at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Customers,

This unfortunate event happened before my time here at Tiger Trail. It's difficult to understand how this could have happened and why our team didn't help you report this issue. I wish our team could go back in time to better understand the details of this event and help report the missing items. I am very sorry and I know that this may mean nothing to you now 3 years latter, but I would like to apologize on behalf of Tiger Trail.

Lao is an amazing place and people are incredibly kind, but minor theft has increased over the years. It's important to take necessary precautions. Tiger Trial has not had any cases of theft sense this report. We have secured our storage area and invested in security cameras to prevent this kind of situation from occurring again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our family of 5 just returned from a trip to Laos in March....(loads of burn off so that all the hills were gray, not green) Had a good day of elephant and then afternoon kayaking but found that the kayaking guides seemed more intent on getting done with the tour, rather than taking their time, allowing us to swim, rest on the rivers' edge, drink some water etc. We have 11, 13 and 14 yr old children and they were somewhat drained by having to complete the journey in 3 1/2 hrs....for a significant part of this, I was actually dragging a 2nd kayak behind me as my son was quite exhausted....Time to sit back and enjoy your surroundings guides 'cause that's what we all want to do...

1  Thank bonons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews