We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trek- Not too difficult- Lots to see!”
Review of Tiger Trail Travel

Tiger Trail Travel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Established in 2000, Tiger Trail Travel is a leading destination management company in Laos. We provide unique short trips and extended journeys through the country. With our extensive experience and network in the region, we guarantee quality services and a memorable adventure.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I did the one day trek to 2 villages, the top of the waterfalls and the "Save the bears" project. Bouapham was our guide. He was very informative and helpful. whilst we were trekking he would stop to point out particular plants that the Laos people eat, ways they catch jungle animals etc. Being from a Hmong village himself he was able to explain about their culture and lifestyle as we wandered through. It is great the Fair Trek give some of the money you pay t the villages. We could take photos and the villagers were happy to oblige, you could take more natural photos where the people didn't feel like they had to "pose" for the camera! The trek through the jungle was for about 3 - 4 hours but it was comfortable. Anyone with a moderate level on fitness could do this walk. We walked to the top of the waterfall which was a different perspective from those who just took a tuk tuk to the bottom- We had plenty of time to walk through the water at the top of the falls and take photos. The Kuang Si waterfalls were beautiful and Bouapham was happy for us to dawdle and take photos at our leisure. We decided not to swim but we could have if we wanted. We then continued our walk to the Save the Bears area and spent a little time looking at the program. All in all, a fun day. Our group was small just my husband and I and another traveller plus Bouapham- highly recommend- Transport to and from start and finish of trek was in high quality vehicle and our lunchtime snack was made with our vegetarian preference. Thanks Bouapham for providing us with a great day :)

1  Thank Rh0nda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Director of Sales at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Rh0nda58,
Thanks for your review of the Kuang Si Waterfall Trek.

You are right that most people who visit do not enter from the top of the falls which is the way to do it! We try to design our treks to make them more interesting than the “run of the mill” tours. Bouaphan is one of our senior guides and he will be rewarded for his efforts.

Thanks also for acknowledging the Fair Trek Program. It is vital in maintaining the integrity and dignity of the ethnic minorities. Regarding lunch, we are happy to provide vegetarian meals upon request and is a standard checkmark on our sales vouchers.

Please come back and see us again,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 420 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband & I signed up for the 6-7 hour trekking around 3 villages near Luang Prabang. It was a good 15 mile hike with lots of uphill steps. Our guide 'Putt - direct translation as Wednesday' was awesome. He was very patience with all of us & told us a lot of the history, local plants, & villagers culture along the way. It was SUPER tiring at the end of the day, but very rewarding. The only suggestion we would give to Tiger Trail is to provide a light refreshment on the tuk tuk back to town since we were all exhausted & starving for some fruit or chocolate bar before we get back to town.

If we come back, we will definitely come back & join another tour!

Thank daydreamingada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Director of Sales at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear daydreamingada,
Thanks for your review of the “Longkut Trek”.
It is rated as medium to difficult so I understand that you might be tired at the end of the day! But it is also so rewarding with amazing scenery!

Putt is a wonderful guide and always so helpful and informative. We will reward him for a job well done!

Some fruit at the end is a good suggestion. I will recommend to operations.

Please come back and see us again,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We book the tour with the expectation of providing good services of its high cost. It was a 1 day trekking 4-5hours tour. We were told that attracting lunch was provided. The trip generally is considered satisfactory. However, there are some part both me and my boyfriend was not comfortable with that. It's a group of 6 people in the tour,which the dynamic of the group varies. We were walking far behind the group as I was not feeling well on that day. I understand we can't expect others to wait for us,but we were hoping that guide might actually asked or turn his head around to show some concern.

Here comes the lunch part. The attracting lunch is fried rice that had been packed in the morning which had been put inside our guide's bag since then. Let alone it had become cold, they had missed out the vegetarian food which 2 of our group members had ordered. Yet, the response he gave was, anything unsatisfaction can complaint to the counter/management.I was so lucky I am not having any restriction of food at that time. But this kind of service revealed the poor organisation.

If I were to come back to Luang Prabang, I would not take this tour again.

3  Thank albeelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Director of Sales at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear albeelow,

Thanks for your review of the 1 day Tinpha Trail Trek.

I am a bit confused when you say the tour was “generally satisfactory” but only give it 2 stars.

You mentioned that you were not feeling well that day. It’s difficult to enjoy anything while sick and often the most minor things can seem irritating. I would have gladly let you go another day and you might have had a better experience.

Regarding the fried rice for lunch, I have never had a complaint about it being cold before. We sometimes pack sandwiches but many people do not like to eat glutton and western food while on a Trek in Laos. We did not receive any complaints from guests (more then 3000 a year), who do not receive a vegetarian meal but thanks for speaking up for them.

Regarding the dynamics of the group, it was a join in tour and most people enjoy meeting others on tour. As mentioned earlier, if you had been sick, it might have been a whole other experience. Perhaps a private tour would have also suited you better, but again, this will make a change on the tour cost.

I hope the rest of your stay in Luang Prabang was enjoyable.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We took the one day Fair Trek hike with our 11 and 14 year old and loved it. It is remarkable how different life is so close to the city. The hiking was a good 6 hours and just about ok for our kids. The villagers were very accommodating and our guide Thong was willing to share lots of insights about Cambodian life. It is probably worth taking some books from Big Brother Mouse or somewhere to give to the village chiefs for the kids as many get no schooling. The booking was easy and all the arrangements worked perfectly. Highly recommend this for people who want some good exercise and to see behind the luxury of Luang Prabang

Thank WeDoStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Director of Sales at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear WeDoStuff,

Thanks for your review of the 1 day trek. Your children are so fortunate that you took them on this exciting adventure and I am sure they will remember this experience forever! Thong is a very enthusiastic guide and will be rewarded for his fine work. Thanks also for bring books to the children in the village. They certainly will benefit from your kindness.

Please come back and see us again,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have taken 3 trek tours with tiger trails in Luang Prabang
The manager, Michael was beyond helpful . He made sure all our arrangements were perfect and enjoyable to us. Guide duene, was fantastic on our 100 waterfall trek. As we are in our 60's, he made sure we we were safe on the challenging part of our trek.
Without a doubt, the best trek tour guides in this part of the world.

1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerTrailLaos, Owner at Tiger Trail Travel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Andrew K

Thank you for the excellent review and kind words about Michael and Duan. You obviously enjoyed our tours having done 3 of them!

Tiger Trail prides itself on having the best guides and we are happy that you have been able to experience their expertise first hand.

Michael mentioned that you and your wife had a special relationship with the people and country of Laos. We hope that you will come back and visit us next year. Please come for the Hmong New Year. We will inform you of the dates.

Markus N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Trail Travel also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tiger Trail Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing