We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Belgium in Laos”

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #43 of 208 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome at Restaurant 'The House' in Luang Prabang. Are Lao Chiefs welcome you. Our menu has a lot of traditional Lao dishes and also Western food. See the update menu, see you at "The House" restaurant. We have for you a selection of 21 Belgian beers in the fridge..
Reviewed May 16, 2014

When I took a tuk-tuk from the busstation to the city center, I saw a sticker which mentioned "stoofvlees".
Normally when travelling Asia, I try to avoid the western cuisine, because in general it is more expensive and the quality is below average, but after reading some reviews, I decided to give it a try! Especially for the Belgium beers!

The first thing I noticed was the very polite and well mannered local staff. After having some delicious bruchettas, I decided to order the in Belgium (and some parts of the Netherlands) world-famous french fries with "stoofvlees". It was just delicious, even in the Netherlands, restaurants are not able make it this way. Even some guys from Belgium I met in the guesthouse, told me that this was the "real thing" and that it tasted as it should.

The owner is a very friendly guy, who came to make a chat after we finished our diner, when we were enjoying our Belgium beers.

The price is somewhat high in this restaurant, but I can understand, because the beers have to be imported (and probably some food to). So if you have some money left to spend, or not on a budget, I would definitely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimCEHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Manager at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

it was one of the best restaurnts we had eaten in on our 17 day trip of northern thailand laos and cambodia, last month

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank natureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited the place with my girlfriend. We ordered the beef stew, bruschetta and lasagna. The stew and the lasagna were very good and the bruschetta was ok.
The service was also very good.

1  Thank shushi_ve_guli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After days of eating local Laos food this place had wonderful authentic 'Western' alternatives.
The staff were impeccably dressed and were obviously happy in their job. They were trained well and were so attentive to the customers.
The Owner Manager was also very visible to his guests and happy to chat with people.
The menu had local food but great other choices that tasted just as the sounded which is not always the case.

2  Thank Arandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 6 of us from UK who are travelling around Indochina for a month. 1 week into the trip and we really fancied the option of some lovely home cooked food along with good beer. Already read the tripadvisor reviews and looked at the menu so decided this was best choice. Absolutely not disappointed! This place is a gem! Fantastic food, menu options and choice of drinks. The service was also superb and the Dutch owner spent time chatting to us and explaining the menu choices. The food was outstanding, best I've had in Laos. Wish we could come back tomorrow but sadly move on. Thank you and wish you every success for future.

1  Thank JulesB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Thank You !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing