We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #40 of 227 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dear Guest and Friends, Restaurant The House shall be CLOSE from 15 April 2018, after a 12 year hard work. Time for a new adventure, thanks for the trust and happiness in my live. Regards Robin
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading a handful of great reviews on this place we decided to check it out. Amazing. The beef stew with red wine sauce and duck breast were fantastic! David beckam said this place has the best fries in laos, id say they have the best service.

Aside from the exceptional food and service, they have the nicest bathrooms we've seen in 3 weeks since arriving in SEA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeanOmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear nice person..

Thanks , for your warm and good feeling review !!

Robin, Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

While I may be biased as a Belgian, I really enjoyed dinner at the House. It's very relaxing to sit in the garden and enjoy some beer with some typical Belgian dishes. There are other cuisines available as well, but trust me, the "Stoverij" with (belgian) fries is as good as you'd have it in Belgium.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi , thanks for the nice advice, welcome, Robin Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very few Laotian selections. Bad service- our meals arrived out of sequence and the waiters got their orders mixed up. Lots of mossie bites in the outdoor seating. If you are into bar scenes and European food then this is the place for you. Otherwise take a pass

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yellingdog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

OK, we are from Belgium... First time we went to a Belgian restaurnt outside of Belgium, and we liked it :-)
Stoofvlees (beef stew) ballekens in tomatensaus (meat balls) and french fries and profiterolles , the way grandma lmade them. Delicious!

1  Thank vic1959_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came here with 6 Belgians who, on the bicycle ride from Vangvieng kept talking about their excitement about getting Belgian fries after months on the road. I thought they were nuts. That is until I had them. This restaurant is top-notch in every way and a definite nice break for someone who is longing for western food of a premier quality and service with a huge smile. I had the beef stew the first night largely at the insistence of the Belgians, and it was excellent. The next night it was a burger and salad. The burger is good, but wouldn't quite meet American standards for exceptional as it is two thin patties with an albeit excellent sauce. The point is, if you're American, stlck with the European fare on the menu and you're sure to love it. I too was irked by having to pay for ketchup and mayo, but the mayo was homemade and excellent, and as they say, when in Laos do as the Belgians do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chrid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing