We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real smile”

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #50 of 220 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome at Restaurant 'The House' in Luang Prabang. Are Lao Chiefs welcome you. Our menu has a lot of traditional Lao dishes and also Western food. See the update menu, see you at "The House" restaurant. We have for you a selection of 21 Belgian beers in the fridge..
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After traveling for a while, eating rice all the time, you want some familiar food and a nice beer or glass of wine. You find western food everywhere in Asia, but at The house, they serve it with a REAL smile! The staff is really friendly and they don't give you that all-know "I-just-want-youre-money-smile". The food is really nice and great value and even the owners are a tread. I really felt a little bit at home, sitting at the bar, having a casual chat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dewi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks for your open talk to us, all the best !

Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 287 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The House is an okay bar and restaurant. Staff are not rude but but overly friendly. Food is very ordinary not nearly a patch on some other places around town. We tried both western and asian dishes. Asian dishes were not great, in fact after eating a meal here I was not well the next day, but the western food was passable. I was not as impressed as some who have reviewed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graeme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for this review

We are sorry to hear that we could not please your expectations.

however : your feedback would be more helpful to us if you would tell us right away and be more specific.
how can we make corrections based on vague terms as 'ordinary', 'not rude staff' , 'not great' and 'passable' ?
we always wanna find out if everything is 'oke' and if not so ; we insist on correcting it immediately, with our apologies.

We have a 98% happy clientele and 70% loyalty ( coming back) : tastes differ ?

Welcome back to try again

Best regards
Win & Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've been in Luang Prabang 4 times now and came back to The House almost every day. I've tried many dishes, there where all nice! Next time you will see me again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rikkitik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for this great feedback

We remember you indeed ; one of our customers that come back almost every year.

Working in Laos is not easy
Keeping constant quality takes a lot of management skills : daily and even hourly

it is nice to hear your appreciation over the years. Gives us a lot of energy to continue.

we hope to see you back soon
have a safe flight
all the best

the happy staff &
Win & Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have eaten at The House on three occassions in the past month. I have dined on both Aisan and European cuisine. The Belgian Beef Stew with fries was great (and the dressing on the side salad is delightful), the Beef Lasagna was a twist on modern lasagna with strong herb flavours and the Chicken Curry was full of flavour and yet very light.

Each time the staff are friendly, helpful and truly are 'The Happy Staff' as designated on the back of their shirts.

The owners are very approachable and it is a pleasure to speak with them.

Try the Lao fruit beers, the strawberry beer has be coming back again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDarlingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear "Darling Traveler"

Your review is probably the most eloquent of all and very complimenting.

It shows that you are a connoisseur and a epicurean in life.

It was lovely to meet you and we are waiting for your return

All our best and good luck in your decisions

always welcome !

the happy staff &
Win & Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After eating lots of Asian food, we were hankering for something European. My girlfriend had the steak, and I had the cheese burger with fries. Both were delicious. We would highly recommend this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brendan_roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thanks for your kind review.

Asian Food is great and we have many customers that come here, wanting something 'from home'.

We appreciate your feedback and wish you a safe journey

All the best
Win & robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing