We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great balance of Europe and Asia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western

Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western
Ranked #42 of 200 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, French, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome at Restaurant 'The House' in Luang Prabang. Are Lao Chiefs welcome you. Our menu has a lot of traditional Lao dishes and also Western food. See the update menu, see you at "The House" restaurant. We have for you a selection of 21 Belgian beers in the fridge..
Irvine, California
1 review
“A great balance of Europe and Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have eaten at The House on three occassions in the past month. I have dined on both Aisan and European cuisine. The Belgian Beef Stew with fries was great (and the dressing on the side salad is delightful), the Beef Lasagna was a twist on modern lasagna with strong herb flavours and the Chicken Curry was full of flavour and yet very light.

Each time the staff are friendly, helpful and truly are 'The Happy Staff' as designated on the back of their shirts.

The owners are very approachable and it is a pleasure to speak with them.

Try the Lao fruit beers, the strawberry beer has be coming back again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDarlingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear "Darling Traveler"

Your review is probably the most eloquent of all and very complimenting.

It shows that you are a connoisseur and a epicurean in life.

It was lovely to meet you and we are waiting for your return

All our best and good luck in your decisions

always welcome !

the happy staff &
Win & Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    75
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luang prabang
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

After eating lots of Asian food, we were hankering for something European. My girlfriend had the steak, and I had the cheese burger with fries. Both were delicious. We would highly recommend this place

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brendan_roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for your kind review.

Asian Food is great and we have many customers that come here, wanting something 'from home'.

We appreciate your feedback and wish you a safe journey

All the best
Win & robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Ehh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having lived in Belgium for several years, we always go out of our way to visit Belgian bars in quirky places. The restaurant is on the verge of the back-packer part of town, which was not a favorite spot of ours while in LP, so the ambiance is just so-so. We ordered some lao-lao drinks and some fries. I have to admit, the fries were pretty spot-on (while not made with Bintje potatoes nonetheless!) but charging nearly a dollar for ketchup or mayo? That's a *bit* pricey. The waiter we had was friendly and the service was quick.
What really left the impression with me, however, is that when we approached one of the proprietors for a chat, he couldn't be bothered or have cared less...especially after I said I lived in Wallonia and he hailed from Antwerp. Political divisions in Laos as two foreigners? Really?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your visit and getting back to us.

We are 2 business partners. The night you came on our terrace in the front I had an evening off. I speak fluent French but my partner's knowledge of this beautiful language is a bit less. Please let us not confuse the lack of language skills with making political statements.

We left Belgium behind a long time ago . The people in Belgium get along fine . Let's leave the politics to the politicians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere & lovely staff & setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Exquisite Belgian food, tastes like home! Unbelievable how the House managed to get this perfect taste with all the right ingredients (real mayonnaise included) in Laos!

But not only the food was excellent, we were very happy about the service, personal approach and overall atmosphere of the restaurant!

Don't hesitate to go for a Belgian beer and a nice meal, you will definitely not regret it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarloPeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear mister Carlo,

Woow thank you for this overall great review.

Thank for appreciating the food and the subtleties.

But more than that ; thanks for commenting on the atmosphere since we train our staff to make people feel 'like home" when they come here. Hearing this makes us happy that we succeeded in their training. they all like to work for us because we allow them to talk with customers as if they were friends.

Thanks
The happy staff
and Win & Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nice staff, indeed good fries, but overpriced for the small portions and a few niggles that we were surprised to see from owners who have apparently been in the catering business for yonks:
- Charging almost a dollar for ketchup - not cool
- Strongly suggesting tipping the staff (in writing), and specifying where said tip should go - surely both decisions that can be left to the customer?

If you need beef stew in your life when it's 35degrees in the shade give it a go... As long as you're not super hungry.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winrobin, Owner at Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thanks for this feedback. about our fries and staff.

We compare our portions and prices constantly to competing restaurants where you can sometimes count the number of fries lying on your plate. We offer a choice between 'small' and 'big' portion of fries. So the choice is entirely yours.
Prices for fries are not cheap due to food cost. Frying oil is VERY expensive and we maintain international standard by changing it every 2 days. And it is only used for fries and not fish, meat or any other kind of food that is thrown in in some other restaurants. So ; our fries are not cheap but of excellent quality.

We charge separate prices for dressings of your choice. in the past we used to give them free.
the result however was empty plates returning to the dish washer smeared with dressings, looking like an oil painting.

We would have been delighted to offer you more for free if you just would have asked.

Tipping staff is indeed the customers decision. However our customers come from all over the world. We merely mention that 'tip' or 'service charge" is not included in our prices.
Again ; the decision is entirely yours.

The climate is indeed hot. That is why we also have salads on our menu. Again ; the customers decision.

thank you and enjoy your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Restaurant The House, LAO FOOD and Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing