We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Value”
Review of Villa Laodeum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Laodeum
Ranked #74 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Quiet, comfortable stay, friendly staff, excellent location - on a side street 100 m from Sisavangvong central street and the "Night Market", right across the Royal Residence and 100 m from Mekong river embankment. Monks pass the guesthouse at 5:30 a.m. collecting alms - convenient to see the ceremony. New furniture and floor made of red wood. Simple but sufficient breakfast. Very good value for money. The owner will help you organize your local tours. The only and small drawback is shower with no curtains splashing all over the bathroom floor - not very convenient. Otherwise excellent and recommendable! Thank you Sayvanh for your warm welcome!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polynesian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Villa Laodeum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

the villa was a delightful place to stay. my double room which I shared with my girlfriend was tiny but immaculate. the included bfast is good. most notable is the welcoming and friendly staff- especially Nouy! stay here!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emegily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Very friendly and accommodating staff and owner. The room is a bit small but just nice for 2 person. Clean, cozy and comfortable stay with free wifi connection in the room.
Located near Mekong river, slightly opposite Royal Palace, just a few meters away from the night market and main street. Highly recommended to travelers who are looking for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Choosing where to stay in Luang Prabang was a difficult choice, but the Villa Laodeum lived up to expectations and we’re glad we chose this little guest house for our 1st visit to Luang Prabang.

LOCATION: The location is perfect, you can walk to everything. The Mekong is at one end of the street and the main street is at the other end – this means the night market is at the end of the street.

TYPE OF ROOM: Double room $25USD per night including breakfast.
The room was small but we expected that based on the photos on the website and we didn’t mind as we were hardly ever in the room.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was a good size and nicely decorated, however the shower pressure was quite poor.
The shower and bathroom were all in one so you couldn’t really keep anything in the bathroom or it would get wet.

CLEANLINESS: The room was very clean and tidy.

CLOSET SPACE: There wasn’t any closet space however there was a rack on the wall to hang towels and also a storage shelf under the TV.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with Thai and Laos channels.
The Wi-Fi was ok, a bit slow at times but regardless it was still nice to have Wi-Fi.

SERVICE: The staff are lovely and very attentive. They do their very best to make you feel welcome and ensure you enjoy your stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights in March 2010 on a vacation. We had arranged an airport pickup with the owner, Sayvahn. Our flight was late getting in and he patiently waited for us.

The location is perfect for walking LP-one block from the main road where restaurants and the night market is and one block from the Mekong River which is lined with restaurants. I had mentioned to Sayvahn that this trip was for our wedding anniversary and he had a lovely flower arrangement in our room for us. One day coming back from a Mekong River trip to Pak Ou caves we were invited to join Sayvahn and his friends for beer and food as they were having a party for Int'l Women's Day. They made us feel like old friends.

I second everything the last few reviewers said-great breakfast, small but comfortable room furnished pleasantly, free wifi, clean bathroom with hot water all for $35 a night.

I would absolutely positively stay here again if I'm ever in LP visiting

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

i stayed here for a few days and this guest house is excellent on all levels .
like i said , look no more . this is the hotel to stay in .
the staff were fantastic in helping you with every concern you might have about the city or tours that you might take .
finh and somvang were excellent and the owner should be proud to have them working there . they became my friends for life .
as for the owner himself he was fantastic . loving and kind and goes out of his way to help you and even takes his time out to talk to you in getting to know you .
the guest house is very beautiful and the breakfast is very nice .
there is a menu for you to choose from and there is a big chose : eggs , bread , fruit and coffee and or tea .
as for the rooms they are very clean , modern with a fridge inside . decorated beautifully .
the bathroom was exceptionally clean .
the location of this guest house could not be any better in this beautiful city.
every night the night market goes on and is in front of this guest hotel .
like i said before , look no more because this guest hotel is wonderful, clean and an amazing staff and owner who makes your stay like your in your own home . whatelse could one ask for .
i will miss everyone there and thank you for everything and will be back .

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidejagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

In January of 2010, I was delighted and charmed by my 10 stay at Villa Laodeum. Sayvahn, the owner, was gracious and hospitable. The simple yet elegant design and location of the guesthouse promoted serenity and calm. Breakfast on the terrace was custom prepared and delicious, with just-baked French bread, fruits, eggs, meat (if you want it) and more. Endless hot water in the giant shower, rock solid air conditioning, CNN, HBO, BBC, excellent bed and bedding, really the best place I've stayed in Luang Prabang (and I've visited there a few times). I think that the strident complaints of one reviewer of Villa Laodeum can be summed up by his advice that he needed lots of patience to deal with the Laotians. That's crazy. These are the sweetest people I've ever sojourned among.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaijinKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#50 of 266 in Luang Prabang
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#31 of 266 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#88 of 266 in Luang Prabang
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinnaly Guesthouse
Kinnaly Guesthouse
#32 of 266 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lao Lu Lodge
Lao Lu Lodge
#5 of 153 in Luang Prabang
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 266 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laodeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laodeum

Address: Ban Choumkhong, Ounheuan Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $18 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Laodeum 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Laodeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing